We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B - We would definitely stay there again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The William Smith Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Geneva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rexford, NY
1 review
“Charming B&B - We would definitely stay there again!”
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Beautifully renovated and the bed was very comfortable. Innkeeper Theresa was very casual, welcoming, and provided excellent dining recommendations. My only suggestion to future visitors is to bring some warm clothing because the upstairs room we stayed in was quite cold at night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
75
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burt_Reynolds69
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This was hands down the best Bed & Breakfast that I have ever stayed at. I strongly recommend that you make this your place to stay in Geneva. The hosts, Teresa and David, graciously welcomed us into their home. The inn is quite charming and the food is delicious. Everything is fresh and clean as the property was recently renovated. Travelling with a two year old was no problem as the hosts went out of their way to make our child feel comfortable, providing toys, food, laundry, etc.... Fortunately for the other guests, the sturdy 19th century construction ensured that a quiet's night sleep was had by all! A great launching point for visitors of the finger lakes and the proximity to the college is convenient.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burt_Reynolds69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed for two nights at the William Smith with significant other and another couple for a wine tasting weekend October 16-17. From the first interchange with Theresa when booking the Inn, she was delightful and friendly. One of our group was new to the B&B experience and was a little nervous, but as his wife said, "I'm kind of picky and I can’t find one thing to criticize!" The Inn is elegantly appointed with a warm cozy living room and fireplace (great for a wine and cheese happy hour), beautiful dining room with hand painted mural where Theresa uses mostly local ingredients to serve delectable breakfasts (pumpkin pecan pancakes…yummmm), the linens were top quality (600 thread count) and mattresses extremely comfortable and best of all, the rooms and baths were immaculately clean. The stately home boasts a lovely wrap-around porch and is set in a quiet residential neighborhood, great for a brisk morning stroll. Theresa and I emailed about restaurant suggestions, she called to discuss options with me before we arrived and she set up some reservations for us as well. Geneva is a great central location for a leaf peeping and wine tasting weekend and our two night stay at the Wm. Smith made ours all the more special.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gimikgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, NY
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Conveniently located in Geneva New York near the wineries there is a "new" inn that is very well appointed. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and each is unique in its design. The owner, Theresa, makes you feel at home immediately There is a comfortable living room and outside porch area for sitting with friends or guests after a day of sightseeing or touring. The dining room is charming. Theresa prepared delicious breakfasts over the weekend. I hope she continues this as it was/is a good way for the guests to meet each other and start their day.

I would recommend this lovely inn. It may not have a water view but the inn itself and surrounding gardens and convenience to the college and surrounding tourists destinations make it a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Stayed here September 2009. 7,000 Square foot home, gorgeous hardwood floors throughout, freshly painted, new furnishings and A1 clean. Inn keepers are intimately attached to the area and more than graciously made us feel welcome. The William Smith Suite was beautiful, with two queen beds it easily accommodated 4 of us. It was a first B&B experience for the young adults travelling with us and I think Theresa has managed to inspire them to try others. – KB Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katesmiles_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2009

The place was beautiful and each room had character. The host, Theresa and Dave, were gracious and friendly. The bed was so comfortable and we felt like we were home. Breakfast was wonderful as Theresa puts such love and personality in each dish that she would bring out. She also shared her tips on where to get great groceries. It was like visiting good friends on the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynarobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Kingdom VT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We have been going to Geneva for 7+years (HWS students). We drove through a bad rain storm for 8+ hrs. Called and asked if it would be to late and the gracious hostess said no to come on in when we got to town. We have NEVER had a good nite sleep at any of our Geneva NY experiences, and we have tried many over the past 7+yrs. This B&B has recently opened, so we decided to give it a try. Location is great for HWS parents. The history is also. We walked into the room and could not believe how beautiful,warm,CLEAN and inviting it was, from what I could see the ceilings must be at least 12 feet high. When we got into bed we knew we would be back. Theresa and Richard did not cut corners in any way when revitalizing this beautiful old structure.
We were so happy with a great nite sleep, and then a first rate breakfast. All local products as much as she can find and beautiful presentation. Our first breakfast was in the warm elegant dining room and the next morning on the porch that rounds the left front and side of the house. Glad I had the foresight to book "parents week-end". We are so looking forward to another stay. They truely up the scale of places to stay in Geneva. Thank You Theresa and Richard.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tricot52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
542 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
2.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William Smith Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Smith Inn

Property: The William Smith Inn
Address: 600 Castle St, Geneva, NY 14456-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Smith Inn opened its doors in June 2009. William Smith was a philanthropist, astronomer, spiritualist and nurseryman. Your hosts, David & Theresa Gage, have restored this home to its former glory for your comfort and pleasure. This Italianate home, built in 1873, features quarter-cut white oak floors with black walnut inlay, monstrous chestnut doors, floor-to-ceiling windows and incredibly detailed molding. The home is situated on 3.2 acres in the heart of the Finger Lakes region of New York. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing