We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way beyond expectations!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Geneva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2008

This is a long overdue review of our stay this summer. My friends and I were looking for a "Girls Getaway" in the Finger Lakes , and I just stumbed upon The Bragdon House on the internet. Looked nice, so we booked it for 2 nights. Well, we were met with so much enthusiasm and energy from Jennifer and Diana that it became contagious. We had lazy, relaxing time on the back porch (with lots of wine!) as well as fun touring of the local wineries with Jennifer as our guide. She not only was well-versed in her knowledge of the wineries, but she was friendly with the staff, thereby making it an even more enjoyable experience for us! The rooms were lovely, the food was delicious, and the setting was delightful. I cannot stress how nice and fun Jennifer and Diana are; they are everything innkeepers should be and then some. They truly treat you like family, in the best way!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJESQ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 408 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2008

We arrived early enough to tour this quaint town and had lunch at a beautiful hotel overlooking the lake. Geneva is known for the college of Hobart and Smith and its wineries. The Geneva Museum a few doors down provided us with an overview of town history and artifacts. Trinity Episcopal Church directly across the street has a 5 30 Wednesday evening service which was a lovely way to start the evening. The college town is quaint, the lake spectacular and the wineries tours as well as tasting, abundant. Having driven a distance, we didn't mind walking to dinner to a local cozy and very delicious restaurant which was recommended.
Our innkeeper Jennifer a born and raised Geneva lady has a beautiful and well appointed home. Each room is distinctly well appointed with tasteful furnishings. Our room overlooked the beautiful lake. Her breakfast was abundant and fresh, down to the homemade strawberry jam.
This is what a B and B should be, warm, friendly, clean, and a innkeeper who was knowledgeable of her area , the history of her home, and could provide suggestions of things to do and places to see.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fitterSaddleRiverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Geneva was to be our stopover on a drive back from Boston; we booked the Bragdon House for two days, based on the reviews we found on this website. Neither one of us was familiar with the Finger Lakes, but we knew we wanted to explore the area.

Despite the dreary and less-than-welcoming late November weather, we found Bragdon House easily, and were surprised to be greeted with a cheerful personalized note in the main hall (Jennifer was out when we arrived). It is a beautiful and warm century home. Our room was the Phoebe on the second floor, with a view of the lake and a very large bathroom and shower. As lovingly decorated as the rest of the home, it also boasted a very comfortable king-sized bed.

Jennifer was funny, warm and filled with boundless energy. Full of tips about the restaurants around town, she also proved to be an invaluable source of information for the wineries in the area. Bubba the pug, and Dexter and Millie the cats were also rather convivial co-hosts.

It was my first experience at a B&B (David had been to a few others in the past). As someone who has always been accustomed to staying in the relative facelessness and anonymity of a big hotel, I thoroughly enjoyed the personalized service that can only come with the pride of ownership and the genuinely caring nature that Jennifer demonstrated. Oh - and she's a darned good breakfast cook, too.

We hope to go back to the Finger Lakes in kinder weather. It is a geographic area that is quite beautiful, even under wet, snowy skies. We can only imagine how wonderful it, and the Bragdon House back porch, must be in the summertime. Thanks, Jennifer.

Brigitte and David
Oakville, Ontario

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrigitteCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Great first impression . Jennifer is a great host. Diane was a great cook. They both were so down to earth they felt like my sisters. We will definatally be back.We recommend Dr Hoskins Study. Let Jennifer take you on the wine tour you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lkuchNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

The number 1 B&B in popularity in Geneva is well deserved. We concur with all of the fine sentiments expressed by other travellers especially regarding the personality of Jennifer who is one of the most personable and erergetic innkeepers on the planet. There is really nothing else to add except perhaps that the central heating system could use some help. On a cold night in late October, the impressive radiators produced a modicum of warmth. This situation was remedied by the presence of an excellent space heater. However, it is advised to check with Jeniffer on which outlets should be used to avoid tripping a circuit breaker.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dianders95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Cheers to Jen and Diane...!

We arrived with two dear friends and left with four...The Bragdon House was truly an incredible experience...Jen was a gracious host and her mom, Diane, a fun source of entertainment. We enjoyed the incredible accommodations and food and appreciated Jen's expertise and sense of humor, as she chauffeured us around the wineries...but even more important...

"WHAT IS BETTER THAN TO SIT AT THE END OF THE DAY AT THE BRAGDON HOUSE AND DRINK WINE WITH FRIENDS...OR AT THE BEGINNING"

We are looking forward to the next time we visit the Finger Lakes and The Bragdon House...

Mark and Clare

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwboud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

The Bragdon House was a wonderful place to stay- charming rooms, beautiful decor, excellent food and a fabulous location. Jennifer (we didn't get to meet her mom) was a fabulous host - energetic, positive, enthusiastic. She gave us excellent suggestions for wineries to see and restaurants to eat at in the area. We followed all her recommendations and they were spot on - thank you Jennifer. We will definitely come back, bring some friends and go on one of Jennifer's wine tours!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaLefler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
15.5 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
17.0 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#6 of 11 in Geneva
275 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Aurora Inn
The Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
301 reviews
14.2 mi away
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 527 S Main St, Geneva, NY 14456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range: $254 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the Finger Lakes Wine Trails. Our beautiful B&B is located on the historical South Main St & is a 5 minute walking distance to downtown pubs, restaurants & more. Our large veranda overlooks Seneca Lake to sit an enjoy a book or see the beautiful sunrise in the morning. All rooms have Private Baths, A/C (weather permitting), WIFI, & much more. Our WINE TOURS can be booked with us even if you do not stay at the B&B. We will pick you up locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bragdon House Hotel Geneva
Bragdon House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing