We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Great Expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Geneva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Florida
1 review
“Beyond Great Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

My wife and I returned to Central New York for our son's wedding and decided to have a mini-vacation before the big weekend. Remembering the beauty of the Finger Lakes region and the fun that we have had wine tasting, we decided to look for a Bed and Breakfast to stay in.

The Bragdon House not only met but exceeded ALL of our expectations! The house is situated across from Seneca Lake and within walking distance to the downtown and college. Over 100 Finger Lake wineries are located a short drive away and Jennifer offers a winery tour so that one does not have worry about driving. The house was interestingly furnished with antiques. Sitting on the screened in porch with a glass of wine in at night or having breakfast with a view of the rising sun over Seneca Lake was a wonderful way to relax. The breakfasts were wonderfully prepared each day. Finally, Jennifer and Diana pampered us and made our stay memorable.

Our only regret was that we booked two days. There was no comparison to the Rochester, NY suite that we stayed in throughout the wedding weekend. The next time we return to New York State, we will gather our entire family for another memorable stay at the Bragdon House.

Thank you, Jennifer and Diana.

Tom & Vicki Landers

  • Liked — The care and attention by the owners
  • Disliked — Not booking additional days
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Landers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
306
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing weekend getaway and got just that with the Bragdon House. I was first drawn to the B&B because of the lovely pictures of the suites and property. I can tell you that the pictures are true to life and that the house is lovely and charming. All of the suites seem to be newly renovated, so you have all of the modern comforts while enjoying the beauty of a home built in 1907.
Jennifer and Diana were wonderful hosts and we really appreciated their spot-on recommendations. They both listened to what were looking for, and were great about providing us with different choices for dining, recreation, shopping, and of course wine tasting. And don't forget that you get a gourmet breakfast each morning. We had three great breakfasts, but I thoroughly enjoyed the monkey bread that Diana made. I'll definitely be making that at home.
We stayed in the study on the first floor. The bed was so comfortable and we had such great sleep each night. It must be a combo of the great wine, food, bed, and quiet neighorhood.
Their website was very easy to navigate and I was able to see which suites were available using a great calendar feature. We also were able to reserve online and received an email confirmation very quickly after submitting our reservation.
We will definitely be coming back the next time we go to the Finger Lakes!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HoboNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alden NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

We chose this bed and breakafst because we were attending a wedding at nearby Belhurst Castle and we love bed and breakfasts! We were able to book on line and received a quick confirmation. We had to call to advise them of a later than expected arrival and they were very accomodating. Our room was very cute and clean and COMFY! All the rooms were rented but we did not hear any other guests . We were served a fantastic breakfast every morning and Jen and Diana the owners helped each of us with individual sight seeing plans with suggestions and making sure we knew directions. The house cat Dexter and house dog Bubba were wonderful additions. There are so many wineries and attractions and it was wonderful to come home and sit on the back porch overlooking Seneca Lake. While the owners are very relaxed, our every need was met. We will be going back!

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortland, new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

Jen and Diane-
We'd really like to thank you for the great experience of staying at your house. We came to Bragdon House to relax after all the excitement of our wedding and as a jump-off point for our honeymoon trip. The atmosphere of the whole house is very sedate and calming. Your enthusiasm and friendliness made us feel very much at-home. Relaxing on the back porch was quite restful with the lake view. The breakfast was scrumptious.
We walked around town and took in the amazing views and historic buildings in the area, walked along the Seneca Lake boardwalk. Dinners at a local restaurant-Morgan's- were great. An absolutely beautiful area!
Janet had never been on a wine tour and with your guidance, we had a great time and look forward to our next stay. Mid-week is definitely the time to take your wine tour-The Winestopper- as there are no crowds and we received attention that tour buses never would have.
We have even kicked around the idea of perhaps renewing our vows in five years and bringing the whole family here to do it. If we had known how great our stay would be we could have had the wedding HERE.
I will definitely recommend this experience to friends and family looking for a nearby enjoyable experience.

Tad and Janet Murray
Cortland, New York

  • Liked — our hosts- Jen and Diane- were great, really contributed to the whole experience
  • Disliked — having to leave...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tadandjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

Stop reading now and make a reservation here! This was our first stay here and we felt as if we were at home all the time. All other reviewers have nailed it. Diana and Jennifer are great hostesses and you will leave wanting to come back soon. We opted to stay on the first floor (The Study) and were very pleased with our accommodations. The first evening we slipped into bed and were soon asleep under sheets and bedding that rival Westin Hotel ‘Heavenly Bed’ accessories. Each morning's fare was highly anticipated, as Jennifer WOWED us the first morning and each thereafter with fresh fruit, yogurt, french toast, omelets, fresh muffins, juice and anything we could have 'wished' for. The coffee was from a local roaster and complimented the meal as expected. We were in and out frequently during our 4 night stay and rarely saw the innkeepers except when we needed to. 'Bubba' the pug was a playful companion and 'Dexter' the cat was...well, a cat! Jennifer pointed out that if guests are put off by her animals (kept in the common areas) she would retire them to her upstairs quarters on the third floor, but these two are not 'in your face' kind of pets and were not a bother to us at all. The furniture and furnishings throughout each room are clean and well maintained and are done very well. Diana definitely has an eye for outfitting each room in a warm and inviting manner. Finding a corkscrew and wine glasses was easy when we enjoyed a bottle of Cabernet Franc from Ventosa Vineyards just across Seneca Lake on our last night. Situated just steps away from the college and a brisk walk from downtown, this inn should provide anyone with the true flavor and friendliness of Geneva and the Finger Lakes region. Just a few dollars more than the 'cheap sheet' hotels in town but oh so cozy, made this a no brainer! Definitely 2 thumbs up!

  • Liked — Bedding, cleanliness, the hostesses and the convenient location
  • Disliked — The fact that we had to leave :-(
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank H82BL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, NH
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

My hubby and I stayed at the Bragdon House along with two other couples for a long weekend full of friends, family -- and wine. It was spectacular. Not sure which I liked more -- the house or the hosts. The Phoebe room was a great size with a huge private bath and lake views. Breakfast was yummy and nothing beat relaxing on the veranda with a glass of wine in one hand. It's also a very pleasant, short walk to the restaurants and shops downtown. Diana and Jen make the perfect hosts: always ready with some great recommendations for dinner and super friendly. And of course, Bubba the pug and Dexter the cat were great hosts, too! We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hemling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

We love staying at the Bradgon House. It is a in a perfect location along the historic Main Street in Geneva. It is a short walk to downtown and has beautiful views of Seneca Lake. We can't wait to stay again and try the Wine Tour offered by the owner!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank cnybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#2 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
1.0 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#7 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1907 Bragdon House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 527 S Main St, Geneva, NY 14456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the Finger Lakes Wine Trails. Our beautiful B&B is located on the historical South Main St & is a 5 minute walking distance to downtown pubs, restaurants & more. Our large veranda overlooks Seneca Lake to sit an enjoy a book or see the beautiful sunrise in the morning. All rooms have Private Baths, A/C (weather permitting), WIFI, & much more. Our WINE TOURS can be booked with us even if you do not stay at the B&B. We will pick you up locally. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bragdon House Hotel Geneva
Bragdon House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing