We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Halsey's

Halsey's
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Once you step in you realize you're in a special place and anything less than great will be a disappointment. Great atmosphere, great service, great food, close to the best we've had overall throughout the Finger Lakes. Entrees aside, and the hanger steak was perfect, what got us was the fresh salmon and corn chowder in a creamy base. After that, almost anything would have been acceptable. A perfect combination of fresh corn and fresh salmon, so good, I tried but did not get the recipe. The place is not yo be missed and it does have a good wine list. We got there about 6 pm w/o reservation but it quickly filled up mid-week, so be careful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drdblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    86
    24
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the Best in the Fingerlakes”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

First of all, this is a destination restaurant, not a "drop by". Make sure you have reservations. Also, please leave your kids and tee-shirts at home. This place has class and a sophisticated clientele. The top shelf liquor selection is the best around as is the service and food. The owners will visit your table as will the head chief. Enjoy the dining experience here for that special occasion. You will not be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SecretSanta14424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJoenophile
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tries to be fancy - stay basic”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a decent place and a good option for Geneva dining, but i would recommend sticking to the basics to to be safe. Atmosphere and service were fine. Food choices should be made carefully. Wedge salad was really good. Alligator shanks (yeah you read that right) were interesting and kind of tasty but I would not order again. I did not have pizza but folks at my table did and it did not look that great. Salads, burgers, maybe a steak should be fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't remember the last time I had such a disappointing meal”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the first review i have ever taken the time to write - it was that bad - complete waste of $72.00. Went here on the rec of staff at a local winery and we were so sadly disappointed. Was hoping for a wonderful meal after a beautiful sunny day, instead the meal was terrible and wayyyyy overpriced. I had the chicken saltimboca, ridiculously dry - the cheese was a crisp on top of the chicken - and the "risotto" was non flavored rice. My husband had the special flatiron steak - chewy not tender - with fries that were drenched in salt. The only good thing I can say about this place is that our waitress was very friendly. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT go here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Njpabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We asked people where we were staying for a place to eat the told us to go here and we loved it had one of the best hanger steaks ever will go back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blah317884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halsey's also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Halsey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing