We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Good Value in Dining near Seneca Lake”
Review of Halsey's

Halsey's
Ranked #5 of 89 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another Good Value in Dining near Seneca Lake”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and another couple had the pleasure of dining at Halsey's after a private wine tasting at a new winery on Seneca Lake. The vintner recommended the restaurant. A short ride from the Vineyard brought us to this classy little gem in Geneva NY.
Very tastefully appointed with an ambiance that one would expect at a more expensive establishment. Service was friendly attentive and enhanced by the wait staff's knowledge and description of the wonderful food and wines to compliment the various offerings.
A superb Ceasar Salad, Wood fired Vegetable Lasagna, Spicy Pollo wood fired pizza with a perfect crispy thin crust, a Keuka Lake Riesling. Everything was fresh, well prepared and delicious!
The bill, surprisingly easy on our wallet for the quality we experienced.
We will return as our waitress requested so politely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larrydebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    86
    24
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fancy pizza oven but not so fancy pizza.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It has been a couple of years since our first visit to Halsey's. Unfortunately this will likely be our last. The pizza was underwhelming to say the least. The cheese made it on one side and the topics fell of when you picked up a slice. The dough was dried out and burned in many spots. The tomatoes where charred almost beyond recognition. For a place that appears to specialize in pizza the have sure missed the mark. Our waitress who was quite pleasant managed to remove the cost of the pizza from our check. My appetizer of squash flowers was fair but was served about 10 minutes prior to the rest of the table's pizza order. We do not plan to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nolantho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice during our 3 night stay in Geneva.
The staff were amazingly friendly and offered good menu advice. I have special dietary needs which were catered for perfectly which meant that I could relax and enjoy my meal without worries. The quality of the food was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Recommend this place”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We could have paid more elsewhere. Glad we didn't. Our meals were excellent and right in line with quality vs. price, at least in the region this is located.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“below average service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The decor was lovely but the service very average! One person in our group asked for a bloody mary and guess what......they ran out. We later asked for some additional bread......no more bread.....however it was only 8:30 and the night was still young.
After our dinner was finished and we were ready to pay they asked if we wanted some additional bread......too late.
As I mentioned great decor but poor service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halsey's also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Halsey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing