We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Garrison - Golf, Restaurant, Events & Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Thayer Hotel(West Point)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
West Point Motel(Highland Falls)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
FairBridge Inn & Suites(Highland Falls)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point(Fort Montgomery)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cadet Motel(Cornwall)
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Windsor Motel(New Windsor)
$80
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Countryside Motel(Cold Spring)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
83
3
2
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
3
2
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail hourwedding venuehudson valleydream weddingbridal suitedaughter's weddingpassed horsfarm to tableentire planning processentire weddingreception hallhelped us planfloor to ceiling windowsout of townersminute driveguestswestchester
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 93 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Words cannot express how much we loved The Garrison! From our very 1st meeting there with Annie, we knew that The Garrison was going to be our wedding venue. Granted, The Garrison is pricey compared with a lot of the other wedding venues in the Hudson Valley, but it was well worth every penny spent - from the professionalism of the entire staff, to the outstanding food, breathtaking views, salon/spa on site and working with Annie R., we knew that we made the right choice for our venue. Annie was absolutely fantastic and everything ran so smoothly because of her! She made sure that the entire wedding party was where they needed to be when they needed to be there, she assured that the ceremony and reception ran smoothly, paved the way for us to get in a gorgeous sunset picture and even hunted down a wrench when my Nana's wheelchair broke going into the ceremony! She was a big reason why we chose the Garrison. The staff was really awesome too, very accommodating to all of our guests. The bartenders even went out of their way to make a batch of Sangria when my dad jokingly complained to them that they had none!! Any other venue would just say "sorry, but this is all we have". I highly, highly recommend the garrison - you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misstar487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our wedding day was a dream thanks to the Garrison and our amazing wedding coordinator Annie; she truly worked wonders to make for a perfect day and we cannot thank her enough. From the months of planning to the day of, Annie was wonderful. In addition, her staff, including my bridal attendant Bridgette, were a delight to have around and were always there to be as helpful as possible. Since we are a low key couple, we wanted an intimate setting; the clean and rustic design of the venue's architecture in addition to the landscape of the Hudson Highlands made it the ideal location for our wedding. The food was top notch- because it was quality over quantity. We would not have changed a thing. Our friends and family are still raving about how beautiful the ceremony was and how much fun they had.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llgazit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We traveled here with another couple as part of a road trip in the Hudson Valley and spent 4 nights, after being required to pay in full in advance. When you first arrive you drive through the beautiful golf course which overlooks the Hudson River. The building has a lot of glass giving you great views from all of the public rooms. Our room, 204, was very large with a beautiful bathroom. It had a king bed and was very comfortable with great bedding. The only negative on the room was that the closets were short and the drawer space minimal. The rooms as well at the whole facility were spotlessly clean. The room that our friends stayed in, 201, was much smaller with the same king bed which made the room feel very small. There were 2 weddings while we were there and we never heard noise from them. The golf course made a great place to walk in the morning so long as you watched out for golf carts and flying golf balls.

They have a restaurant and bar with good food, excellent wines and friendly service. We had good conversations with the bartenders on 2 nights.

There were some problems that should be addressed by management. They don't serve breakfast which we knew before booking. We were told that we could eat at the grill at the golf course. Well they don't serve much of a breakfast and did not open early enough to eat before a day of touring. The bartender suggested that everyone ate at the Shell station just down the road so we tried it. It was upscale gas station convenience store food which wasn't bad but not what we were looking for and not much of a place to sit and eat. After asking people at the desk and not getting much help we found a place online that was just 5 minutes away. The Garrison Cafe serves gourmet breakfasts with a french flair, someone should have known about this. Also, we found that on Monday the place was unmanned all day, the outside doors locked, except for one that our key opened, and the bar and restaurant were closed. It was spooky to say the least. Throughout our stay each time we asked about something we were told that "we are a small inn" as the reason that we could not be helped. Perhaps they should only rent rooms to people who are there for a wedding. They do not seem to be setup to serve the general public.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SherandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-at-TheGarrison, General Manager at The Garrison - Golf, Restaurant, Events & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We have enhanced the description of our inn and services on our website to help assure that our guests' expectations are fully met. We hope you will visit The Garrison again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

From our initial meeting with Todd Smith, Even Coordinator, about a year ago, we knew that The Garrison would be the ideal location for our December 1st wedding. Because there is so much to talk (rave) about, I will discuss each piece of The Garrison that makes it the most perfect place for a wedding!

The Space
The venue consists of two separate rooms- one that is ideal for the cocktail hour (The Hudson Room) and the other that is perfect for the reception (The River Room). Both have floor to ceiling windows with magnificent views of the Hudson River and the mountains beyond. No matter the season, the view is spectacular. The dance floor is large enough for the whole crowd and placed perfectly so that you can take in the view. Although we got married in a church, there is a beautiful space outdoors for a ceremony, if that is required. The Bridal Suite is a perfect space upstairs that is large enough for the entire wedding party to leave all of their coats, bags, makeup, suitcases, etc., with there still being plenty of room to relax for a moment between the cocktail hour and reception and touch up makeup. We stayed in Room 202 on our wedding night. It was very spacious, with a king size bed with a cozy duvet, plenty of space to sit down and relax, a fridge, Keurig, toiletries by FACE, and a lovely walk-in shower. It is an ideal place to unwind after the most perfect wedding day.

The Event Coordinator
Our Event Coordinator was Todd Smith. From the moment we met Todd, I was completely confident that our wedding would be absolutely perfect. He is the definition of organized and can put a vision that is floating in your mind, into reality. Todd is totally accessible by email and telephone and will answer any little questions that you may have, however silly or insignificant that you feel it may be. Throughout the course of the year, he kept us on track with reminders of what we should be doing and when. I could literally write about him for hours, but I will simply say that he made the wedding planning process a joyful, fun, exciting, easy, perfect, relaxing experience. He even reminds you to breathe. Perfection in the form of an Event Coordinator.

The Food
Oh. My. God. The food at The Garrison is absolutely divine. It should not come as a shock that the food rating receives a 26 from Zagat. From our initial tasting of the passed hors d'oeuvres, we were in food love. The choices are endless and you simply cannot go wrong. Our food package included 7 passed and 2 stations and people were raving about the deliciousness of it all! The salad course was fantastic and then came out dinner. This is not your typical wedding food. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection and the salmon was to die for. Everyone is served simultaneously at the table so that there is no waiting and no time for food to get cold. And trust me, the chocolate covered strawberries are well worth it. They were phenomenal.

The Bar
There is a bar in the Hudson Room during the Cocktail Hour, followed by a bar in the River Room during the Reception. The packages include top shelf liquor and even include additional upgrades. The bartenders were great...so pleasant and certainly knew how to mix their drinks. The Garrison has a "no shots" policy which I loved.

The Wedding Day
We arrived at 2:45 PM and were ushered in by Todd and his amazing assistant, Bridget. From the moment we got there, everything was perfection. The room looked AMAZING. It was perfectly executed and attention was paid to every detail. Todd and Bridget ensured that everyone was having a great time and there was enough staff available to ensure that everyone's needs were met. The Coat Check and Valets were very attentive and there were no issues. Cocktail Hour went smoothly into the Reception. The courses were served as planned, dances were danced, drinks were drank, and the party was perfection. I may be a little bit partial, but I'm pretty sure that our wedding may have been the best wedding ever, thanks to Todd and the entire Garrison staff.

The evening ended and I was sad to see it go. However, Bridget and Todd escorted us upstairs to our beautiful room, where we were greeted by champagne, cookies, cake, and chocolate covered strawberries. We were able to relax and just enjoy the absolute quiet. The next morning we went to brunch at 11:30. Although check-out time was 11, we were able to leave all of our stuff (and there was a lot of it) in the locked bridal suite. This may not seem like a big deal to the reader, but trust me, it was.

We had a fantastic brunch. We were seated by Nick, who is just as nice as can be. The waitstaff is extremely kind and attentive. The food continued to be delicious (I recommend the crab rolls) and the coffee was perfect. We were able to see Todd the next morning to thank him and hug him and reminisce about the perfection that was our wedding the evening before. As we left, Nick, Olinda at the Front Desk, and several other staff members were there to say goodbye.

I recommend using The Garrison's preferred vendors, as they are absolutely phenomenal and are of the same caliber as the venue.

Big thanks to Todd, Bridget, Nick, and EVERYONE at The Garrison for making our wedding day truly the best day of our lives. It was the perfect start to our life together. Our guests had a fantastic time and have said that it was the best wedding that they have ever been to. It truly was a magical winter wedding and I will never ever forget it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyRich7485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Last evening my agency held their yearly dinner dance benefit at The Garrison for the first time. There is only one word to describe the evening: "AWESOME"!. The venue is just beautiful. We had over 180 people attend the event and we used 2 rooms. One room held our silent auction and the cocktail hour as well as the dinner buffet. The other larger room is where our guests sat and there was a band as well as a bar.
Everything right down to the linens and silverware was perfect! The food was excellent and the staff were just so professional, acommodating, and efficient. Many guests said that The Garrison was the perfect place for our event. I agree! I am hoping that they will have us back next year.
My only regret was that our event is always an evening in November so it's dark out and we missed the "Hudson" view from these rooms which is absolutely spectacular. If you're considering an event and you could schedule it during the daylight, do that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews