We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true lodge in a great peaceful area of NY state.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnewaska Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minnewaska Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A true lodge in a great peaceful area of NY state.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We loved to stay here, the atmosphere is relaxed yet very nice. I enjoy the room quality, the staff are super helpful and the outdoors are so peaceful. So many close by locations to discover. Farms, restaurants, parks and much more to see. I reccomend to anyone who like a relaxed spot like this.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PGP_p1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    67
    26
    14
    13
See reviews for
61
131
3
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Staff was very friendly. The room was comfortable,clean and had a modern lodge feel. The back drop of the Shawangunk Ridge literally a couple of hundred yards from the back door is breathtaking. We highly recommend visiting the lodge and area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quiet "last get-a-way" before his deployment this april. With the guidance of my sister in law, she told us about Minnewaska Lodge. When we walked in Patrick greeted us and Becky the manager came out to greet us as well. They both made us feel at home and we both really enjoyed talking to them. Patrick helped us by going above and beyond (i'm in hospitality as well) by calling a few a places for us to get information on tours etc before we could even blink an eye. The room had a beautiful view of the cliff in the back of the property and our first night there it snowed enough to get some very beautiful pictures of the property. We sat around the first two nights with wine in hand at there fire pits. The breakfasts were homemade, hot, and delicious. I will be coming back for some R&R while my husband is away. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison Manor, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location is beautiful, the room was nice, the staff was helpful, and the food was good. We really enjoyed our stay there. It is great in winter (you can rent cross country skis at EMS right next store) and I am sure will be great in summer as well.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my 2nd visit to the lodge. It won't be the last. I'll tell you why. 1st of all...there are not many places to stay in this outdoor paradise. The Lodge is the only one that offers a rustic, yet totally comfortable, accommodating, and picturesque setting. 2nd - it feels right. When you choose to spend time in the New Paltz area, your values are reinforced by this lodge. All traditional options are available, yet they are done with integrity - environmental awareness is evident throughout. Breakfast is healthy, tasty (fresh baked breads, fresh fruits, hard boiled eggs, yogurt,granola) and aesthetically displayed, and responsible recycling behavior is encouraged. The gathering room for breakfast is very appealing - lots of seating, tables, chairs, fireplace and a great view of the ridge. Lots of outlets to plug in phones and other electronic devices, too..There is an outside area to eat, chill, and an awesome view of the ridge. 3rd - the staff was VERY accommodating, upgrading our room, just because they could. Don't miss the delish chocolate chip cookies, coffee and tea available 24/7. Just one warning - two story building with no elevator - so if stairs are on issue, ask for a room on the first floor. I will return often to this gem.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mindela10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertson, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are looking for some R&R,
If you looking for a romantic getaway,
If you want to explore the the best state park in New York,
If you are just passing through.
Minnewaska Lodge is the perfect place and will meet all of your needs, desires and wants. You will find the accommodations to be just great and the staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

Don't pass it up!

Room Tip: You definitely want a cliffside room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincipalTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Minnewaska Lodge was a decent place to stay. It was average hotel-like accomodations - no restaurant. The room was average and left some to be desired - the window screen was lying on the roof below and the room was infested with ladybugs! The breakfast was below average and consisted of juice, cereals and bread - not what you would expect for the price paid.
The thing that stood out was the fact the we could not get the AAA discount because we asked for it "too late". Well, we asked for it BEFORE checking in. This is kind of ridiculous and means one of 2 things. The hotel does not give the discount despit the fact that they say they do, OR they are too lazy to reverse the charge they made for the initial reservation. Either way there is no excuse and they really make the guest feel slighted - not the way you want to feel when on a trip. Mohonk Mountain House is a far better choice if you can afford it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBNSNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
10.8 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.4 mi away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#1 of 6 in New Paltz
4.0 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnewaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnewaska Lodge

Property: Minnewaska Lodge
Address: 3116 Route 44 / 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Gardiner
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnewaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon 17 acres at the base of the rugged Shawangunk Mountains lies the Minnewaska Lodge, a uniquely designed 26-room property in the quaint town of Gardiner, New York. Surrounded by 25,000 acres of State park preserve, with breathtaking views of the Gunk’s Ridge 1,200 feet above the lodge, this Hudson Valley hotel offers a tranquil boutique experience. Minnewaska Lodge is centrally located just 75 miles North of New York City in the historic Hudson Valley, making it an unparalleled destination among New Paltz hotels for romantic getaways, weddings, reunions, corporate retreats, meetings, parties or small events. Accommodations at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable, providing the amenities and services of a fine hotel, with the ambiance of a cozy bed and breakfast. Oak Mission-style furniture and arts and crafts decor create a charming mountain retreat-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Minnewaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnewaska Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing