We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveler rating
192
81
38
19
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
81
38
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adirondack chairs great room mohonk preserve mountain view yogurt hard boiled eggs common room continental breakfast fitness room each morning comfortable rooms fireplace proximity
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 349 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Minnewaska Lodge was a decent place to stay. It was average hotel-like accomodations - no restaurant. The room was average and left some to be desired - the window screen was lying on the roof below and the room was infested with ladybugs! The breakfast was below average and consisted of juice, cereals and bread - not what you would expect for the price paid.
The thing that stood out was the fact the we could not get the AAA discount because we asked for it "too late". Well, we asked for it BEFORE checking in. This is kind of ridiculous and means one of 2 things. The hotel does not give the discount despit the fact that they say they do, OR they are too lazy to reverse the charge they made for the initial reservation. Either way there is no excuse and they really make the guest feel slighted - not the way you want to feel when on a trip. Mohonk Mountain House is a far better choice if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GBNSNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Great relaxing place, but a bit expensive for what you get. To be fair, the weather was awful, so we couldn't enjoy any of the outside imeneties such as the fire pits, etc.
Rooms were clean, but only stay in a room with garden view. The forest view was in front of the parking lot.
Patrick was über helpful and full of suggestions for activities/restaurants in the area. The area to eat was lovely and cozy, but it an get crowded because there are not many places to sit. We stayed when the lodge wasn't at full capacity, but if you did, you might have a hard time finding a place to eat your breakfast.
Cookies at the entrance add a nice touch.

Would stay again in a month with better weather.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69sealyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Upon arriving at the quaint Minnewaska Lodge, you immediately feel you are entering a boutique sized, family owned property which takes great pride in appearance, service and friendliness.

We checked into the lodge on January 1st for two evenings and I had pre-booked the "suite" for our stay since there were three adults and one child. The room was perfect size for our family and offered a King bedded bedroom to the right side of the entry hall, and off to the left is a living room with a full dining room table, full size couch, side chair and dorm room sized fridge. I would have liked a microwave but perhaps there's a reason they do not offer that in the suite.

The lodge offers a very nice complimentary breakfast which includes various freshly baked breakfast breads, choice of cereals, yogurt and fresh granola mix. After the breakfast the lodge has a hot tea/coffee/hot chocolate station in the great room and it comes in convenient while you are there in the winter.

Behind the lodge is a beautiful view of the Shawangunk Mountains and also offers a great novice snow sled riding hill, which our son thoroughly enjoyed.

The lodge is about 6 miles from the city of New Paltz, NY which offers a plethora of restaurants, as the lodge does not have an on-site full service restaurant, which did not create any issue for my familly.

I want to thank the staff for making our stay so memorable, especially Sarah who assisted us upon check-in and in suggesting various things to do in the area. I would strongly recommend the Minnewaska Lodge to anyone who wants to experience the mini getaway from the mundane and see the beauty that this section of New York has to offer.

If there was a negative about the lodge it is, they have a beautiful great room but do not have a full sized fireplace, for some reason. They do have a "stove" but they missed the boat by not including a full sized fireplace.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiscomeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Everything said before is accurate. It's a great lodge and a perfect location. Just be aware of the extra 10% per night charged for "Guest Room Service Charge". If you think you're paying $179/per night for your room, you'll actually be charged an additionally $17.90/per night over and above NY State and Ulster Cty taxes. I'm not sure why they're charging that since I was always under the impression that your room being serviced was part of the rate and, if you felt a tip was in order, you would choose to leave whatever you wanted. Just a 'heads-up" if you stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 36bay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We returned to Minneswaska Lodge after enjoying ourselves during a previous stay. There was no availability according to their website, but we telephoned and were able to get a room.

The lodge is located very close to the State Park, about 10 minutes from the Town of New Paltz, and directly across the road from a great German Restaurant. We dined at the Mountain Brauhaus again during this stay, and, again, it was awesome.

The rooms at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable. Nothing fancy, but a really nice place to shower and relax after a day of hiking. The guys at the front desk were very friendly, and helpful. No real complaints about anything. Oh yeah, I really enjoyed the quiche at breakfast.

This place is a little pricey, but its worth paying a little extra for a clean and comfortable lodge in a great location. We'll be back.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MilesMereV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews