We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place we stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Minnewaska Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Minnewaska Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The only place we stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We've been to the Minnewaska Lodge several times and love it more and more every time we go!! The staff is so pleasant and its just the perfect place to stay.
We've had every view and every view is simply specatular.
My only advise is if you book online and it says no vacancy make sure you call you might be surprise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaggsLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    74
    30
    14
    14
See reviews for
66
139
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our trip this year took us back to Minnewaska Lodge and it was beyond all our expectations. The staff was excellent and the room was beyond all our expectations. From all the great views to the gracious staff, we will always stay again and again. Book early. Special thanks to Karen and Patrick as they went beyond and still went further in excellent customer service. 5 star plus!!!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dix hills, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Such a great place to stay! The view was amazing! We could have sat out back all day and night. The fire pits were great! Room was fine, nothing amazing about it, but it was clean and very the bed was very comfortable. The coffee and home baked cookies all day were a nice touch.
The breakfast was not hot, but hardy and good enough to get you started. We also ate at Cafe Mio in Gardiner and that was amazing! YOU MUST GO THERE. And went into New Paltz to Sushi and The bistro - both great. We hiked at Minnewaska and swam at split rock.

HIGHLY recommend this lodge. It was less money than the B&Bs and the location was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solotrip3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Minnewaska Lodge. In fact, after booking and staying one night, the next morning at breakfast we decided to stay another night, which I was told happened often there. I'm not surprised.

The property is very nice, especially the back, with its views of the face of a mountain, rocking chairs, and gas fire pits surrounded by adirondack chairs in a field big enough for children to safely run and play in. We took advantage of the fire pit one night to curl up with a bottle of wine under the stars - not something you get in Manhattan.

The basic king room was new and clean (although fairly minimal) and the bed was very comfortable. Free wifi was a nice touch. We didn't use the fitness room but it looked very clean and adequate for a workout if you're not looking to hike. The front desk was courteous and helpful.

The continental breakfast (included with the room) was excellent - with many different baked goods, breads, cereals, granola, yogurt, juices, etc. We especially enjoyed the 'help yourself' coffee and teas that were out all day and night, along with the jar of every-replenished cookies!

We stayed primarily as a place to sleep after spending the day/lunch at the Mohonk Mountain House. This worked out perfectly and still adds up to considerably less than a night at Mohonk, even with a great dinner out in New Patlz (we went to the Rock and Rye Tavern, which i HIGHLY recommend for creative cocktails and farm to table style fare).

I would recommend Minnewaska for all types of travelers. It's for those who want the "lodge" experience, don't want to pay Mohonk prices or deal with Mohonk crowds, and don't want to stay in a B&B. It's the perfect sweet sport. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parrothead42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We wanted to get out of the city for a few nights to celebrate an anniversary. Just an hour and a half drive to the Minnewaska lodge! We took some friends advice to not stay at the overpriced Mohonk Mountain house and we were very happy to have taken it. The king bed was super comfy and the room perfectly nice, we splurged for a balcony, definitely worth it. This was a great location and a very cozy hotel. I do want to point out this is not a bed and breakfast which bandb.com lead me to believe. The breakfast is adequate but certainly not fancy, and there were a lot of families/children (including a crying baby next door who woke us up one morning!) which I did not expect. But still, we enjoyed our time thoroughly.

There's a good deli just up the road and a very tasty Italian restaurant ~2 miles away, Lombardi's. We spent one day at the Minnewaska state park and another as day guests at Mohonk on their trails, very nice to come home to the Minnewaska Lodge!

Room Tip: The "cliff view" rooms are on the backside of the property, facing mountains, whether you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our 4th stay at Minnewawka Lodge over the years and once again we left happy. The rooms are neat and up-to-date, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the setting is divine. It was a full house at the lodge but it didn't feel like it. The time we spent on site was serene and peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juniper19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We really liked this lodge. Our room was adequately sized, reasonably furnished and most importantly the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The view out the window to the cliff was lovely to wake up to. The price for a room is a bit steep, costing about $230 when all is said and done, but it included a nice breakfast and a great back patio/lawn where you could sit out and eat breakfast while looking out to the scenery. This is called a lodge, but really it is more like a B&B as there is really nothing to do other than sleep and eat, but if that is what you want, it offers a clean, comfortable situation. We had lunch at Mohonk mountain house which is about a half hour away, as is the town of New Paltz. We also went to see Minnewaska state park, but as so often has happened in the past, too many bugs!

Room Tip: Get rooms that look at the cliff so you don't have to deal with a view of the parking lot and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champ5321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
10.8 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
13.1 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnewaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnewaska Lodge

Property: Minnewaska Lodge
Address: 3116 Route 44 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525-5031
Location: United States > New York > Gardiner
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnewaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon 17 acres at the base of the rugged Shawangunk Mountains lies the Minnewaska Lodge, a uniquely designed 26-room property in the quaint town of Gardiner, New York. Surrounded by 25,000 acres of State park preserve, with breathtaking views of the Gunk’s Ridge 1,200 feet above the lodge, this Hudson Valley hotel offers a tranquil boutique experience. Minnewaska Lodge is centrally located just 75 miles North of New York City in the historic Hudson Valley, making it an unparalleled destination among New Paltz hotels for romantic getaways, weddings, reunions, corporate retreats, meetings, parties or small events. Accommodations at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable, providing the amenities and services of a fine hotel, with the ambiance of a cozy bed and breakfast. Oak Mission-style furniture and arts and crafts decor create a charming mountain retreat-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minnewaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnewaska Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing