We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.”
Review of Cafe Mio

Cafe Mio
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place.”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Delicious food, good value, generous portions, friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank SS1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    23
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of my favorites... and I'm a foodie. An excellent, casual, local standby that has maintained it's consitant quality”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I wish Cafe Mio was open for dinner. The lunch/all day brunch menu is wonderful and I never grow old of my standby favorites on the menu (homemade corned beef and hash with eggs, the mio breakfast, and more) because there are always incredible specials to tempt me out of my auto-comfort zone. I love that they use local ingredients, especially the grass fed beef for burgers. A recent homemade chicken sausage was beyond outstanding. Is it bad to say their fries are awesome? Silly, but I often judge a place by their french fries... Regardless, it's a great casual place to go with a friend or family. They have beer, wine, and limited cocktails (sake,creative champagne-based drinks, etc) which is nice for brunch or just having lunch with a friend. Service has varied greatly, but seems to have come under control as of late. I really appreciate their involvement in the local community- a business that gives back- very commendable. Don't hesitate- go and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the area”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Cafe Mio is a supreme delight for breakfast. You can get awesome french toast combinations but the breakfast wrap, served with fresh mixed greens, is a welcome change to the usual fare. Staff is a blast, sometimes overwhelmed but always friendly. Meals are well priced and the place feels like home. All those that don't think this is a great place, stay home and make more room for me.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sweir2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gem!!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Cafe Mio is an ideal cozy lunch/brunch place. Located in NY State farm country the food is right from the farm and to your table. The service is casual, friendly and very knowledgeable. The dishes are interesting and satisfying! My family and I love this place!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, New York
1 review
“Mediocre fare with mixed identity...”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The previously known 'Red Rooster' restaurant was a great hit but the replacement with Cafe Mio is a lacking match. We sat ourselves, no one cared to notice our arrival, we picked up a menu for ourselves & perused the fare. it was a good 8 or so minutes before a waitress approached us. The menu is a mishmash (which is also reflective in the unusual juxtaposition of the decor) of cuisine, burgers, falafel to seared tuna...it feels like it wants to be a restaurant but markets itself as a cafe. None the less the food was good, I chose the seared tuna (the top price pick at $12.95!), it arrived & looked splendid, I was very happy until I chewed on grizzly cut & it all went downhill. My partner had a burger & seemed happy, the fries were delicious & I couldn't resist to pinch a few from his plate! My personal feeling is it needs to specify its target market & keep it simple, we were disapointed there was little vegetarian options. I would also add a bit of pizazz or greenery to the interior, a single vase with a happy flower would suffice...any more grey in the decor & I would have started to feel it! I am a local, so I will return...I always try things more than once as often you get a welcome surprise!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virginialeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing