We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!”

Mountain Brauhaus Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Farmington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Most wonderful food and staff, ever! We joked that if we could have one last meal on earth, this would be it!!!

Appetizers: Meatballs, Reuben and Pretzel (with cheese dip)
Dinner: Jager Schnitzel with Noodle, Pork Special

DELISH.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DTKT2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    72
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful German Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went here tonight (11/10/13) around 5PM. The number of people already waiting for tables was worrying and the place was packed to the rafters We put our name in, and was told 25-35 minutes. It turned out to be only around 15-20 minutes.
Waited on by Lorraine, who was wonderful. Very knowledgeable about the menu and highly personable.

Greeted with amazing pumpernickel bread, which was chewy, warm and delicious.

We shared an appetizer of the "Reuben Strudel" (Corned beef, sauerkraut and cheeses wrapped in a flaky pastry), all quite a treat. Served with horseradish sour cream and russian dressing sauce that was a perfect acidic bite to the rich pastry.

I went for the Beef Rouladen, red cabbage and potato pancakes (there are a number of side choices - Spaetzle, fries, potato dumplings, et.al.). The beef was tender and flavorful stuffed with cornichons, onions and bacon; two pieces served (one was enough). Potato pancakes were crispy with a fluffy interior and served with a side of applesauce. Red cabbage was a nice accompaniment.

My companion had the Chicken Jaeger Schnitzel (they offer veal or chicken) with red cabbage and potato dumplings. The schnitzel was extremely large (seriously enough for 2+ people) and had a lovely crispy taste. The potato dumplings were a letdown; they had almost no flavor at all.

The restaurant offers a number of dining choices and specials as well as plenty of interesting German beers and wines to try. There is also a small bar where most of the waiting patrons visited whilst waiting for their table. The interior looks like what I would imagine a 60's ski lodge would look like - lots of wood work with eclectic pictures and lighting fixtures. Seemed to be a mix of older and younger people alike.

We loved the place and definitely plan on returning. Too bad it's so far out of the way (or maybe that's a good thing, otherwise I'd eat there several times a week).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mloeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My favorite German restaurant in the USA. ALways great food, great service. The wait can be very long, but didn't ruin my mood so far!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zhushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had great experience at this lovely German restaurant. We drove for 2 hours from NJ and it was well worth it! The squash appetizer was very tasty, perfectly paired with pine nuts and cranberry. We loved pretzels, home made apple cider with dark rum, beer. Atmosphere was great, everybody seemed to enjoy themselves and our waitress was very nice and helpful. Entree was absolutely delicious and, tender and not too greasy. We also had squash soup and Plum kuchen which was great too! We took some gulash to go, and it was perfectly cooked. 10 star food and service! Danke schon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex_and_Maya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come hungry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The roasted acorn squash and the lamb shank were fantastic. We ordered that plus one dessert for two people and left FULL. We were surprised to find a wait at 6pm on a Friday because we thought that was early so you may want to expect a wait. Food was fantastic...and most definitely worth the wait. Consider splitting an entree between two people especially if you are from out of town and can't take leftovers home. Food was fantastic!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fernpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Brauhaus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Brauhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing