We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Garden City
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence
Newburgh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Everything we needed”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Back to Garden City for another swim meet. The Hotel was great. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Free breakfast was better than most we have experienced at this type of property. Clean and generally comfortable, however our bed was quite mushy and we were on the first floor-kind of noisy from the overhead traffic. We would go back. Great location.

Room Tip: Pick an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BooandYoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. We're glad you returned to our hotel with another swim meet. I'm also delighted we met all your expectations and hope that next time you stay we can earn a 5 out of 5. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    188
    74
    27
    16
See reviews for
250
99
42
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Paul, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was our 4th stay at this hotel because it is near a local university. Extremely helpful and professional staff. They have helped us out with directions and train schedules, medical needs and receipt of a package. When the guests were too noisy next door we got a new room and did not have to pay for the sleepless night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for continuing to stay with us. We are constantly reminding the staff to make sure we 'guarantee' our guests enjoy their stay or they don't pay. I'm delighted to see that our training has paid off and our staff turned what could have been a bad experience into a good one.
Thanks again for the great review and looking to serve you for a 5th time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was my first time at this hotel and I was very pleased with the service I received and the cleanliness of the hotel. I held a meeting there and the conference accommodations were very nice as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted that you were treated well by our staff. I'm glad you enjoyed your accommodations as well. I will certainly pass on to the team that everything went well with your meeting space and accommodations as well.
Thank you again for your time and I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

great location, walking distance to trader joes, shopping center, restaurants, etc. the hotel staff was friendly and extremely helpful. the remote wasnt working and they immediately brought a replacement, the room was clean and comfortable

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted that you were treated well by our staff. It's nice to see that good customer service does not go unnoticed. We are also proud of our location as well. The new Galleria Mall down the block has been a great addition to our area.
Thank you again for your time and I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having moved away from Long Island just a few years ago it is still strange to stay in a hotel while visiting. We've tried a couple different places during previous visits and I must say this has definitely been our best choice yet. Our daughter is in a wheelchair and travels with her service dog, the staff was all very friendly and helpful. The cleaning crew was amazing and figured out our abnormal schedule and were able to sneak in and clean our room without any issues. We initially ignored the breakfast thinking it was just your typical coffee and a muffin that we have seen so many times until somebody walked by with a plate of waffles and bacon. We didn't miss breakfast after that, it was all delicious and even kept our picky kids happy. Location is great near lots of shopping and our family (in case you want to visit them too). Pool was nice, hotel wasn't busy while we were there so it was just us swimming. One important note as I am reminded by the ratings below, there isn't an actual restaurant at the hotel, just breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatsofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I'm delighted that you were treated well by our staff. It's nice to see that good customer service does not go unnoticed. I'm so glad the staff treated your daughter and service dog well. All our staff is put through extensive service animal and ADA communication training. I'm also delighted you were able to experience all the areas of our fine property.
Thank you again for your time and I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This was my second or third visit to this particular Hampton Inn. The were really accommodating in working with my company at reservation time, which encourages me to bring my business back in the future. The hotel is nice and clean with everything you'd expect from a Hampton. Staff were nice, the room was clean and well-appointed, the bed comfy and breakfast decent. You can't go wrong here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank andtherest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. Thank you for the great comments about our hotel. I'm delighted that all aspects from the staff to the cleanliness of your room was exactly what you would expect for a great stay.
Thank you again for your time and I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Handicap bathroom did not have hand rail by toilet. This hotel, like some other Hamptons, does not serve cookies to weekend guest. I prefer the Hampton Inns that treat weekend guests like they do business guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 790harriets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. I see you also completed our Hilton survey as well. It seems the cookies that are given out by our hotel are done throughout all Hamptons Monday-Friday as we do. Please accept my apologies as well for the handrail in the bathroom area. I will certainly have this checked out.
Thank you again for your time and I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#3 of 4 in Garden City
546 reviews
2.0 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Garden City
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Carle Place Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden City

Property: Hampton Inn Garden City
Address: 1 North Ave, Garden City, NY 11530-2125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Garden City is the perfect location for travelers looking to experience the best of Long Island and Manhattan. Guests can enjoy a range of local attractions from shopping at Roosevelt Field Mall to a round of golf at Eisenhower Park or a romantic dinner in downtown Garden City. Travelers looking for a weekend escape can enjoy a day on the ocean at Captree State Park or relax on the shores of Jones Beach. Check out a concert at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum or swimming meet at the Nassau County Aquatic Center.Guests looking to head into the city are walking distance to the Long Island Rail Road which allows easy access to the city via Penn Station. Our hotel is close to Hofstra, Adelphi and other local colleges and universities making us the perfect hotel for graduation weekends or big games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden City Hotel Garden City
Garden City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing