We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISE !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Garden City
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

NEVER , EVER Accept room 142 next to the breakfast room and common area. It was noisy ! Terrible ! Kids running around at 11:00 pm , TV blaring . Saw a dad dragging a kid by his leg down the hallway through the peephole. My nattress was so worn it almost sagged to the floor. If you're a business traveler - steer clear.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Please accept my apologies for the noise areound room 142. With this room being so close to the lobby area the noise should have been monitored by our Front Desk personnel. As for parents grabbing their children, unfortunately we have no control over that but we can say something if and when we see something. I certainly plan on sharing your comments with my team as well. We don't usually get complaints from our ground floor rooms and our hotel does run at 90% occupancy.
Thank you for the feedback and I will pass this on to my team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 685 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great new amenities, this hotel is brand new. the rooms are cleaned and have that new smell. and great location. You can go to all the restaurants by car or even walk to the new mall. Close to shopping. The location is the best, you are close to parkway exist. This makes for easy access to all other highways and airports.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you so much for the great comments and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope so much you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Garden City NY area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for over two months courtesty of FEMA and Hurricane Sandy. Our
home was severely damaged and it is still not fully repaired. The people who run this hotel
are compassionate and bent over backwards to accomodate us. We really felt like a part of
their "family". Everyone from housekeeping to the front desk went way out of their way to make
us happy during a very stressful time. Our room was always clean, our many faxes were
always sent out at no cost and the complimentary cookies every evening were most appreciated.
Breakfast every morning was great and the hotel itself is located within two minutes of everything.
In summary, this is a modern hotel in a great location with a staff that really cares. I say STAY THERE.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Wow. Thanks so much for the great comments about our hotel. I know it was tough for everyone right after the storm but it has (and still is) been a pleasure accommodating guests staying here with FEMA. I will certainly post your comments in all areas of our hotel. The Management team consistently praises the staff and it's always nice when we get these comments from guests.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hello Guys! This is the Hotel that we lodged on and IT WAS SURELY DIFFICULT TO FIND...It is hidden and please do not use that address 1 North Ave if you have a GPS, Call the Hotel or go online to obtain the compatible registered address. The breakfast was Great! It was a nice healthy breakfast with a variety of yogurts, teas, etc....VEry well kept hotel, BUT DAM IT WAS HARD GETTING THERE DUE TO THOSE HIDDEN SIGNS!

I would NOT STAY again at this Hotel.

Room Tip: Very hidden Hotel due to the tiny Street Signs....MAnagement should invest several dollars on this,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Please accept my aplogies for having trouble finding our hotel. Unfortunately it a challenge that our hotel has no control over but to provide as much information to our guests as possible. There are 2 North Avenues in the Garden City area so many times the GPS will take you to a residential area. We do communicate to our guests in our website and computerized confirmations that if using a GPS they should use 700 North Ave. We also explain our location (1/4 mile East of the Meadowbrook Pkwy) hoping that will help since the residential direction is on the other side of town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Located centrally with some good shopping malls, restaurants and popular stores near by. The staff is very helpful and nice. The rooms are nice and clean and overall the amenties are good. The pool could have been better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meetsudesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to complete a survey with Trip Advisor. I'm delighted that our staff was accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay. You mentioned that our pool could have been better. We are always looking to improve and would liek to hear of ways we can improve this area. Overall our guest scores are good as far as 'pool experience' goes. Our pool area is a large room so the chlorine smell is not as strong as in most hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This property is well kept and clean. Check-in was a bit long with only one person working, but no big deal. I was given an option as to where I wanted my room, which rarely happens. Free coffee and fruit throughout the day was a nice touch. I would have appreciated a better chair/couch/something in the room. The bed was extremely comfortable, the TV selection fine, and the shower warm, all of the most important attributes in my mind. Breakfast in the morning had a variety of options, including decent coffee. All in all, I've paid less for other hotels in Garden City with similar amenities. If the price is commensurate I'll probably pick this one, but I wouldn't pay significantly more than the other hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzZzalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are planning on replacing the guest room furniture this year and apologize for the condidtion of the furniture in your room. Our hotel does stay competitive with other hotels. Our rates are slightly higher than last year as the demand in the area has increased and we still are accommodating displaced families from Hurricane Sandy.
Again, thank you for staying with us and I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was visiting friends in Garden City and this was such a centrally located hotel it was perfect. Lots of shoping for the wife great restaraunts nearby. The roooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The place was very busy so the hallways weren't as clean as I expected. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. My wife did not like the shower only bathroom. She really wanted to take a bath and couldn't. Overall it was a nice place and I would stay again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRosanio, General Manager at Hampton Inn Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you so much for the great comments. I'm sorry our room did not have a bath tub in it. All our rooms with king beds have showers and our rooms with 2 queen beds have tubs. Again, I'm delighted the staff treated you well and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#2 of 4 in Garden City
596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Carle Place Garden City
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City
2 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Garden City
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Garden City

Address: 1 North Ave, Garden City, NY 11530-2125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range: $155 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Garden City is the perfect location for travelers looking to experience the best of Long Island and Manhattan. Guests can enjoy a range of local attractions from shopping at Roosevelt Field Mall to a round of golf at Eisenhower Park or a romantic dinner in downtown Garden City. Travelers looking for a weekend escape can enjoy a day on the ocean at Captree State Park or relax on the shores of Jones Beach. Check out a concert at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum or swimming meet at the Nassau County Aquatic Center.Guests looking to head into the city are walking distance to the Long Island Rail Road which allows easy access to the city via Penn Station. Our hotel is close to Hofstra, Adelphi and other local colleges and universities making us the perfect hotel for graduation weekends or big games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelPower, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Garden City Hotel Garden City
Garden City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing