We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your Hostess can make or break your business”
Review of Walk Street

Walk Street
Ranked #45 of 130 Restaurants in Garden City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
garden city, ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Your Hostess can make or break your business”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

A good hostess can enhance the customer experience and help grow the business in the community -- a bad hostess can ruin your business forever. When the curly, dark haired hostess is there, STAY AWAY -- there is definately a reluctance to seat anyone w/out a reservation even though there are empty tables. I am also told that even if you have a reservation, she still doesn't feel the necessity to make the customer happy. Is this some kind of power trip? -- you will sit where I say or forget it? This would never fly in Manhattan.

So, even though the food is good and the restaurant is cute, who needs the attitude especially when you are paying enough for good food and service? I suggest you go somewhere else where they want your patronage. Otherwise eat at the bar where they are at least nice to you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYElle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Local find for good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Business travel takes me to Garden City once a year. Ate here last year and decided to come back again on my recent trip. Even though solo, sat a a small table by the bar since it was full of patrons. Had a beet salad followed by the Sea Bass on a bed of spinach risotto - delicious. Service was a little cool - no chit chat - but expected when I am eating out alone and basically watching the sports on the bar TV. However, follow up by the waiter was good - no problems. Will definately go again next year.

While I would say this is more of an adult restaurant, there were some family with younger kids at some of the tables.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ-KAS252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hills
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“will never return”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

1st visit we stayed DESPITE the unfriendly attitude at the door and reluctance to seat us w/out reservation even though there were empty tables. we loved our meal which included mussel app and lovely fresh salad. so we went back with a reservation. doesn't change attitude one bit. several empty tables(it was 6p) and still they tried to seat us the tiniest cramped table in the place. this time we left. we won't be back. they don't care.
btw, we ended up at west end cafe and we highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loml95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Try This!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

One of our favorite restaurants. Great food. Quick access to train.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ronnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
220 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Worthwhile Visit”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

While visiting my home own of NYC, we stayed on Long Island to visit friends and colleagues.

Upon our return from Manhattan on the LIRR, we decided to try a place we had seen over the years but never visited; Walt Street.

We were pleasantly surprised.

The food was very good and the service was, also.

We shared a Walt Street salad ($9.50) and it was plentiful and delicious. The candied pecans and raspberry vinagrette made the dish.

My wife had an evening special of roast duck ($22) and substituted garlic mashed potatoes for the CousCous. No problem!

I opted for the fish special of grilled Monk fish. Also delicious. But, the accompanying spinach risotto was even better. The fish was done perfectly and came with a delicious sauce. But, did I mention that the spinach risotto was killer?

If you happen to be in the Garden City, Long Island area, make it a point to try Walt Street. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l1106410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walk Street also viewed

Garden City, Long Island
Garden City, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
Garden City, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
 

Been to Walk Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing