We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC atmosphere @ local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Houston's - CLOSED

Houston's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“NYC atmosphere @ local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our favorite appetizer is Houston's grilled artichoke with a dipping sauce. The smokey aroma of the artichoke enhances the flavor & the sauce adds another layer of taste.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Love the Spinach dip! I had the burger. Wife loves the veggie burger. It was good but I don't like shoestring fries. They are very cumbersome to eat. Eliza was a great server!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happycampernyc4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We enjoy Houston's. Burger's are yummy! Nice place to have a quick lunch while shopping. I like the atmosphere and it's been around for a very long time.

We've been here to celebrate birth day's years ago but a little too small to accommodate our growing family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NY_Campbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly wait staff, fast service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

A nice place, a little more upscale than what I was expecting from a restaurant located at a mall. No hats allowed in the dining room.

Food was delicious and the service was fantastic. We got our drinks just as quickly as we ordered them and the food arrived shortly thereafter.

I ordered the Flying Chicken Platter, which was over-priced at $22 for a glorified chicken finger and fries dish. It was delicious, however I wasn't a fan of the fries. They were the shoe-string variety, kind of like how onion strings are made, which made it difficult to dip into the ketchup. I'm old-school when it comes to fries and like to eat them one at a time by hand, dipped in ketchup. Here, you have to use a fork because the fries are so thin.

My business partner ordered the Barbecue Pork Ribs which he said were amazing, and at $28, is what he expected to pay. He had the same opinion about his fries.

Overall, a pleasant dining experience for entertaining clients, date night, or night out with friends. I wouldn't recommend it for families with children.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramirez-Sanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always good food and drinks with top notch service! Go here regularly and it is always a consistent experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's also viewed

Garden City, Long Island
Garden City, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
Garden City, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing