We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Houston's - CLOSED

Houston's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food here is amazing! Its good sized portions. They have fabulous service! We eat here a few times a month.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Spedteach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Place To eat, relax and have a cocktail.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Solid choice for a romantic dinner with your loved one. My favorite dish is the ribs they fall right off the bone. Their fries are awesome thinly sliced like shoe string and always very crisp. The atmosphere is dimly lit and comfortable seating. They have an attentive staff and great wine list you really can't go wrong here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
226 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Well managed but boring food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Houston's probably has the best trained staff on Long Island. I wish the menu was a little larger with more choices of more savory food. We have eaten there many times but we have run out of choices and go there less frequently. The" Don't Miss" for artichoke lovers is the grilled artichoke with a savory dip. The house salad is always dependable and the cocktails well prepared and large. This is a reasonably priced restaurant with a nice atmosphere (in a large shopping mall) and good food that does not take long term reservations

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“very crowded..good food...good service”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

we enjoyed the salads & appetizers...French dip was very good. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent filet mignon”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

You can always count on the filet mignon and baked potato. Yum. This was my second lunch at this Houston's location and the second time I ordered the house salad - which I have often in the NJ location. Unfortunately, this time - as well as the first - the house salad seemed like recycled greens. Not so fresh. In NJ the salad is always fresh. Twice it was not so fresh here. The rest of the meal was great. Service was very friendly. I would go again but not order the house salad at this location.

Helpful?
2 Thank KatMom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's also viewed

Garden City, Long Island
Garden City, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
Garden City, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing