We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Akbar Restaurant

Akbar Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Akbar Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 130 Restaurants in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Been here countless times. Good Indian food on Long Island. Pretty standard fare...the only reason I'm giving them three stars is because their buffet is just "ok"...and my favorite part of going Indian is for a great buffet. Check it out.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Namaste!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Excellent Indian food. Try the chicken tikka marsala with some basmate rice and dal! Have aserving of naan bread on the side. Yummy!

Helpful?
3 Thank BRAINBEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, ambience”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Visited this restaurant twice now for dinner and really liked the food. Its a good place when you want to take family, friends along for any special occasion. Food was pretty good and good service as well.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Viper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistent quality for over 25 years”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Great food and all the favorites items of major Indian cuisine are available. Highly recommend the lamb chops as appetizers or entree.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gidoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, but go early for lunch.”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My family has had a few catered events at Akbar, but this was my first time eating in the main restaurant. We arrived a little before 3pm, and were asked to order quickly beacuse the kitchen would be closing for lunch soon. Good thing we knew what we wanted going in. The food came out quickly and was absolutely delicious. If you plan on going there for lunch, I would suggest checking their lunch hours so you don't feel rushed. The wait staff is friendly and attentive. If I had to complain about anything, I guess it would be that the papad they first serve you is roasted instead of fried. I'm all for being healthy, but some things just taste better fried.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tejas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar Restaurant also viewed

Garden City, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
Garden City, Long Island
 

Been to Akbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing