We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing steak --Ask for Jasmine to be your server.”
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 130 Restaurants in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Roosevelt Field Mall - Old Country Road & Ring Road
Albertson, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing steak --Ask for Jasmine to be your server.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The porcini crusted rib eye has the perfect amount of char and marble. Perfect When aired with the unity Cabernet and sautéed spinach .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJFEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    45
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

From the moment you pull up and the free valet service parks your car to the welcome you receive when you walk in the door you know your here for the experience.
The ambiance is that of a high end steak house with an impressive wine cellar located on the first floor within view of the diners. The service was top notch and they make sure to make your dining experience one that will have you coming back. The salads were bountiful and more than sufficient. I had the caesar salad and it was prepared just the way i like it. Everyone in our group ordered the steaks and all enjoyed. I had the filet mignon and it was cooked to perfection. Vegetables and potatoes finished off a delicious meal.
Capital Grill is located on restaurant row in Roosevelt Field and is at the top of the price point of the competition but worth the experience for a special evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but great food and service”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had a business lunch here during the week and we ordered the ribeye steak sandwich and the lobster and crab burger. The sandwiches came with a choice of sides: green beans, chips or fries. Both sandwiches were delicious! The drinks were creative and tasty - grapefruit juice and club soda, and mint lemonade. The bill came to $50. Expect to wait a bit for your table. We had a reservation but still waited 10 minutes as they "got our table ready." The decor is very masculine/hunter theme (animal heads mounted on the walls). I'm still dreaming of that ribeye sandwich and will probably go here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auden2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is definitely not a restaurant you would expect to find in the mall. It's so much better then that. The place is very comfortable, the service is excellent, and the food is fantastic. We have a been there twice and they get better every day. On both visits my wife and I both had the fillet mignon. The meat was like butter and prepared just right. The desert selection was as good as the main course. You will pay more here then some of the chain steak joints but you will get what you pay for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbyfdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dont believe the hype...nothing special but the price”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Dont believe the hype...nothing special but the price. Food is better that average but you basically getting an up scale Olive Garden. Most of the reviews of The Capital Grill are plants. I believe the the corporate owner of The Capital Grill, Darden simply hires a PR company to plant good reviews. The resturant is nothing special. The prices are high and the service is professional but phony. It's all a bit contrived but the restuant does present itself well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank icsamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

Garden City, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing