We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's not to like about aviation museums!”

Cradle of Aviation Museum
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
369 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“What's not to like about aviation museums!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Love the aviation museums and this is a great one. If you're a Long Islander, you need to support this one!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SalMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    88
    16
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great local history”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

long island NY was really a birht place of the early plane builders. This museum focuses on thse factories. Curtis, Chance Vought, Grumman, republic and other are showcased. Small and intimate when compared to the smithsonian. Also has an IMAX

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrSunshine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to educate yourself but..............................”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been going to the cradle of aviation for two years with my son. I give it five stars for education and experience, the older people who volunteer also get five stars.. Now the staff who work there at the front are very snoty. It could a good cleaning in the lunch area also where birds crap on the seats. I do love the childrens room but again some toys are worn and look dirty.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sweet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Truth as we know.

Great place but get a Social Media Manager you could get more people through the doors, give me a shout I will fill it for you.

Love the Panes, the shows, been to quite a few fundraisers but you could do so much more.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TruthRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Educational afternoon”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is beautiful and should be seen by people of all ages. Great venue - nice atmosphere - reasonably priced - give it a try!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cradle of Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cradle of Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing