We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Italy It Ain't”
Review of Puglia's City Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Puglia's City Cafe
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: supper club
long island
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little Italy It Ain't”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Taking off on it's well known sibling, City Cafe misses the mark with so-so food and very little Little Italy ambiance

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank zooyLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    4
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
212 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Should have eaten before we went”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was a nightmare for four of us at Puglia's tonight. We arrived and were seated promptly for a 7:00 reservation. The waitress arrived shortly thereafter and took our drinks and dinner order. Salads and wine arrived at 7:30. Dinner followed at 9:18. We beseeched the waitress, spoke to an indifferent manager, requested to see the owner but was told he was in the kitchen. Desert and coffee were provided on the house. There was no delay in bringing the bill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11558
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pricey, poor service but good food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were there with a large party just over twelve people. Had immediate issue when they absolutely refused to break up bill for us. Took almost an hour from time we sat till food was served. There was a singer but music too was loud. When food finally arrived, it was tasty and portions were OK. When we got the bill we found that they listed items on one side and prices on other side did not match items. As some in our group had much less then others they didn't want to split it evenly. So, we had to search bill to figure out who owed what & even with poor service they added not the customary 15-18% but 20% gratuity. As service was poor, that was outrageous. If the price doesn't bother you and yo are only one or two couples they probably OK but if large group like ours there are better and more amenable places to eat. Our group will not return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MrSunshineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, N.Y.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good food good service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

went on a thursday night. not a busy night but it was actually nice and quiet. perfect for a dinner with just my wife and i The staff were very friendly. The food had a very nice taste ( especially the rice ball special).They have some type of entertainment every night which made for a nice little somethig different than just a place to eat. i will be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArubaTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Suprise”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I tried this restaurant for the first time last night. The food was delicious! The service was really good. It has a very nice atmosphere. A Real nice Date night place. The Valet service was excellent. I was the passenger in the car and the Valet came over to my side of the car and opened the door for me. You don't see that too often. All and all it was a Real nice place

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puglia's City Cafe also viewed

Garden City, Long Island
Garden City, Long Island
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing