We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't Live Up to Its Potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Garden City
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2010

This hotel felt like it wanted to be an Embassy Suites, but then someone cheaped out on the building materials and forgot to put a restaurant in. It is new, so everything is in reasonably good condition, but the quality is oppressively low, from the heft of the door to the linens to the furniture.

There is an odd little cafe/bar that serves an extremely limited selection (hamburgers, beer, cheap wine...stuff like that) that cannot be delivered to your room. This is not a restaurant and doesn't even seem to have full-time staff. The front desk clerk served as bartender when I was there.

Staff at this hotel are friendly, helpful, and laid back but professional. The hotel felt positively dead when I was there, so it seemed that they were eager to assist SOMEONE.

This hotel could have been nice, but it's not. I predict in a few years when the linens start to fray and the furniture gets scratched, it will feel like a halfway house. Stay at the other hotel on this street, which is cheaper anyway and less depressing.

Likes: the bedroom area is quasi-separate from the living area, the color of the wallpaper in the bathroom, the friendly staff.

Dislikes: very grim atmosphere, minimal amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burlingtonienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Garden City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 555 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Hyatt once before for business as well and everything was good, I got the room on line from hotels.com and could see we had a choice of 159 or 179 for a king. The weird thing was there was no difference in the room. Anyway, the second time we stayed which was this past weekend, we went to turn down our bed and the sheets had fresh stains on them with pubic hair. We called the front desk and at first the man who picked up said "well housekeeping is gone for the day, I am not sure what to do". So my husband who knows nothing about the hotel industry suggested common sense "how about you come up and change them or give us an entirely different room" The person on the phone said he would give us a different room. He said sorry when he brought up the new keys and put us across the hall. When we got there, I pulled down those sheets and there was hair, long, short and fluff all over the sheets, which were wrinkled . This was about midnight. I was tired and had a long day ahead of me so I took the bath towels and laid them down for us and did not pull the covers up. Nothing was said upon check-out. I blame this on the idiot who was suppose to clean the third floor, not the hotel. They need to fire who ever was too lazy to actually do their job. In this economy there are plenty of people out there that would do their job. I would not step foot in this establishment again. DISGUSTING!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katiejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Perhaps Hyatt Place is designed to be a more casual version of the Hyatt line, but this hotel just opened in January 2010, so we expected it to have more than it did. A few observations and problems:
- No vending or ice machines on the floors. Instead, there was a limited selection of sandwiches, salads, and cold drinks at the front desk. It looked like they may be planning to add ice and vending machines near the elevators some day, but they were still not installed 4 months after they opened.
- No shuttle service to anywhere. There is a large mall within walking distance (still a bit of a hike), but you have to cross over a busy highway.
- Rooms were oddly designed. We stayed in a room with one king-sized bed. It was separated from the living-room area by a plastic wall that I have to think won't last long the first time someone bumps into it. The closet is tiny, and the rod is only a partial one, the better portion of which is tucked back behind the sliding door, making it difficult to get to.
- The sink is outside the bathroom. Convenient if you've got two people in the room and one wants to use the sink area while the other is showering or using the "facilities", but not very sanitary since you have to open the door after using the facilities before you can wash your hands.
- Only three small drawers are provided for clothing, one of which holds the hair dryer (the drawers are at the sink). The rest of the furniture is just decorative. TV was very nice (large, flat-screen).
- One nice, usable area is the desk, with plenty of lighting and space and a comfortable work chair.
- The coffeemaker is on a granite counter behind the desk area, which is also where the refrigerator is. It's a little far from the sink, so you might want to move it so that you're close to the water.
- At least one of the two coffee cups each day was dirty, and the coffeemaker produced white bits of scum until I spent about 45 minutes cleaning it out the first day.
- There is a section of rooms on each floor that just faces a hotel wall - not very appealing. We asked to move and they graciously accommodated us.
- The complimentary breakfast that they told us about when we checked in was all cleaned up by 9:30. They didn't tell us that part. However, when we arrived at 9:40, surprised that it was done, a very nice young woman went above and beyond to help us - she even dug up an envelope of oatmeal (my choice, not a consolation prize) and gave us hot coffee, even though that wasn't her job and she had to look around for the supplies that had been put away.
- Most of the front desk staff were helpful and friendly, with a few exceptions.
- There are two computers for guest use, located in the lobby, along with a printer.
- Some taxi services (and, I heard from other guests, GPS services) have difficulty finding the hotel because it is too new.

All in all, I think the hotel has potential, and it's possible that they'll get their act together, but there are other hotels in the area with more amenities. It is clear that they put a lot of thought into decorating the lobby and the rooms, but not a lot of thought into the layout of the rooms themselves. Even with the above problems, though, I might be willing to give it a second chance in six months or so (although there's a Hampton Inn next door which might be more tempting). The Hyatt brand has usually not been a disappointment. I would not recommend it to a friend before trying it again myself.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed at Hyatt Place hotel in Garden City in mid-February 2010. The hotel had opened three weeks previously, the first new hotel to have opened on Long Island for six years.
The hotel room was spacious, with a partial room divider separating the sleeping area from a working area containing a desk and sleep sofa. Because the hotel is new, all room amenities were in new condition and the whole experience was top-notch. The biggest change from a traditional hotel is that the Hyatt has check-in/check-out kiosks, like those at airports, and the limited food service is available on a 7x24 basis.
The hotel featured a free continental breakfast, free Internet access, has a fitness center and a pool. Having previously stayed at some nearly competitor hotels, the experience and value-for-money at this new Hyatt beats the others by a significant margin.
As a disabled traveler, I particularly appreciated the hotel’s incorporation of disabled amenities: some rooms have wheelchair-accessible showers, and wheelchairs were readily available. The staff were very helpful and service-oriented: I hope that this does not wear off with time.
Drawbacks? The room heater/ac unit was hard to control – it had a habit of roaring into action just as soon as we were drifting into sleep. Also don’t expect scenic views out of your windows – this is Garden City after all. The huge Roosevelt Field mall, with lots of stores and restaurants, is only half a mile away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadedInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ute J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Hermann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpgc, Manager at Hyatt Place Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Marco O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpgc, Manager at Hyatt Place Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
2.1 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#1 of 4 in Garden City
648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
1.6 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
608 reviews
3.5 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Garden City

Address: 5 North Ave, Garden City, NY 11530-2125
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range: $173 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Garden City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Garden City is walking distance to over 60 restaurants and two large malls. It’s ideally situated near top Long Island colleges. The Long Island Rail Road is within walking distance. Hotel features spacious guestrooms with Hyatt Grand Bed™ and 42" flat panel HDTV. Additional amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, complimentary breakfast buffet, indoor pool, fitness center, 24/7 Guest Kitchen serves snacks/entrees, Intimate Bakery Café, business center, and complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Garden City Hotel Garden City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing