We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT FIT TO CARRY NAME OF HYATT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Garden City
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“NOT FIT TO CARRY NAME OF HYATT”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is well-located within walking distance of shopping mall. There are many options for getting meals, both formal and informal.

The hotel itself is not what HYATT has come to be known for...it is adequate but lacking in quality of design and functionality. The staff is okay.

If you are accustomed to the higher end HYATT, this is not for you. I moved to the HYATT in Commack NY which is far superior and, of course, pricier but well worth the extra bucks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinamom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpgc, General Manager at Hyatt Place Garden City, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is a limited service hotel that offers complimentary Wi-Fi & parking, complimentary hot breakfast, 24/7 made to order guest kitchen, we serve beer, wine and cocktails, we also have a 24 hours fitness center and indoor pool. I apologize that our hotel did not meet your standards of what you are looking for. Maybe in the future we can meet your needs. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    135
    43
    16
    17
See reviews for
213
70
26
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Left the Garden City hotel due to terrible staff and room with broken toilet and checked in here. Very nice and clean hotel. Great stores right near hotel. Hotel is not flashy but has everything you could ask for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpgc, General Manager at Hyatt Place Garden City, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much in staying with us. We try our best to make everyone stay enjoyable. It is nice to have all those stores in such a short distance from the hotel. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Easy in and out. Very spacious rooms and friendly hotel staff make Hyatt Place an enjoyable hotel to stay at if your in Garden City area. Clean rooms and a decent work out room with an indoor pool. The staff here make the place. Always available to help out and answer questions.

Room Tip: Any floor is good. Ask to be on a business floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapnKirk209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We attended a wedding on Long Island this past weekend and booked the hotel because of it's central location. We found the staff to be quite friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and well equipped, beds were comfortable and the breakfast was definitely a step up from Hampton Inns. Will try to stay at Hyatt Places more frequently when travelling on business as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George66052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the long weekend and I just say its in such a great location!! You are minutes away from the 5th largest mall in US and right across from the hotel you will find great outlet shopping for Nordstrom, Bloomingdales, SAKS and DCW shoe warehouse! If you are a food kind of person, there are great restaurants all within a 2 minute drive distance!!! Only thing would be I wish the rooms were a little bit bigger for the double beds

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Woke up to find stink bug crawling on ceiling. My daughter and I had to brush our teeth in the lobby bathroom. The bug kept walking over sink then into closet then into light fixture then back. Every time we had to get something we would check to see where bug was. This guy was about an inch in size. No lightweight. I was told the manager would call. Nothing. I called later in the week but no return call. Even sent them a photo and showed photos to front desk. No help.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpgc, General Manager at Hyatt Place Garden City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time out and filling out your comments on Trip Advisor and survey. I know you spoke with the manager after you posted your comment. I apologize that it was not sooner but we didn’t know until we got your survey. We did have our exterminator check the room and they reassure us that nothing else was in the room. The exterminator stated it must have come in with something because this is the season of insects coming out with everything blooming. We appreciate you staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room was clean, and the layout was comfortable. I really like the L shaped couches, and little kitchen area. Although the sink and vanity are positioned in such a way that you can't use them without disturbing anyone else still sleeping. The rates were set up in such a way that you pay a full price for the privilege of possibly canceling. There really is no room service, you have to go down and get it yourself. Also the instructions on the web site tell you for GPS use a different address. Don't.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpgc, General Manager at Hyatt Place Garden City, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. Your input is deeply valued, and we look forward to serving you in the future. With an updated GPS system our address is more easily accessible. Yet for a more dated system the alternate address listed on our website will be more compatible. Thank you again, hope see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#2 of 4 in Garden City
588 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
2.1 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Garden City
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Carle Place Garden City
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Garden City

Property: Hyatt Place Garden City
Address: 5 North Ave, Garden City, NY 11530-2125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Garden City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Garden City is walking distance to over 60 restaurants and two large malls. It’s ideally situated near top Long Island colleges. The Long Island Rail Road is within walking distance. Hotel features spacious guestrooms with Hyatt Grand Bed™ and 42" flat panel HDTV. Additional amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, complimentary breakfast buffet, indoor pool, fitness center, 24/7 Guest Kitchen serves snacks/entrees, Intimate Bakery Café, business center, and complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Garden City Hotel Garden City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing