We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Garden City
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence
Southport CT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Only stayed one evening while we were in the area for a family event. The rooms are very spacious with a comfortable seating area, desk to work on, and small refrigerator as an added bonus. Large TV that is visible in both the seating area and bedroom. Free wireless works seamlessly. The bathroom was immaculate with a large shower, however there is no tub which could be a problem with small children. Check-in took less than 5 minutes. Added bonus, in addition to a free breakfast, they offer sandwiches and salads and wine (in addition to other beverages) from the Bakery Cafe. The hotel is in a very commercial area though with many other restaurants available and shopping galore - lots of great stores to choose from. There is a pool and fitness room also, although we did not use them. All in all a great choice and will stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    141
    48
    17
    17
See reviews for
220
74
27
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked a block of rooms at the Hyatt for our wedding on August 17 and couldn't be happier!! The staff, specifically Jackie, were unbelievable. Jackie made sure we could accommodate all of our guests and continuously kept me updated on our block of reservations. The rooms were clean and the service was great. The staff made sure our welcome bags were handed out and even let us have a gathering after our wedding with our family and friends in the hotel bar after it closed. The continental breakfast was extensive with enough choices to make everyone happy. I HIGHLY ecommend they Hyatt!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricaC817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I really like this place. I usually travel for business which means I often arrive very late. I have arrived at this hotel as late as 1 AM in the morning, and there is always someone with a pleasant smile that greets me at the desk. My room is always ready and in perfect condition.

You can get a decent meal like a burger and a good glass of wine without having to leave the hotel. They also have snacks, Isoft drinks and pastries similar to what you would find in a Starbucks for purchase.

The free breakfast is great. Lots of variety. Quick check in an easy check out. I have never had a problem with my bill.

There is even a nice area to sit and socialize with other business travelers as well as a bar. Once you arrive at this hotel there is no need to leave unless you want to get out and see the sights.

The rooms are clean and attractive. The sofa is a bit odd, but I have never used it, since the television turns toward bed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were very comfortable in this hotel. It is quiet, and our room had a comfortable lounge area. The breakfast was delicious. We brought children, and they were happy.

You might have trouble finding North Avenue if you have not been there before.

Room Tip: We were very comfortable in this hotel. It is quiet, and our room had a comfortable lounge area. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R1234L_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Nice spacious hotel, but definitely not kid friendly. If you'r traveling with young kids, stay away!!!! First and foremost the bathroom locks are not kid safe. They are accually bolt locks verus locks in the handle. If a young child decided to lock themselves in, they may not be able to open the door easily since its not in the handle.. You may need maintenance to open the door while the parent will be flipping out.
Second, they charge for every Nickelodeon show. $3.99 for a 24 minute show for a child to watch become pretty expensive.
A ripoff with kids, great without them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Perhaps I am too familiar hotels too well and therefore tend to expect a little more. I booked my wedding at a nearby venue. The venue referred me to this hotel. I then booked a group for my wedding guests. My entire block was filled by my group, a total of 20 rooms nights. My first impression was its ok...it is centrally located to shopping malls and the like but the scenary right around the hotel is industrial. You either look at the Pepsi factory or Hampton Inn. The rooms were ok...yes spacious but its Long Island so they should be spacious. My arrival was average. We actually had a wedding guest that wanted to book another room for the next night. I asked the front desk agent for a rate, she provided the rate said there were 5 rooms left, but said if I went to their business center i could book a suite for $10 less. I thought ok I am about to be married in 24 hours do I really want to be running around the hotel to save $10. I asked her if she could just book the reservation for me with the discount considering I had 20 rooms booked already, you know kind of a customer loyalty kind of thing. What do you think her answer was- well it was "sorry we arent permitted to do that?". So then I asked if the groom who was also staying at the hotel could possibly get a later check out of 3pm the next day as the limos were coming for us at that time. She told me to check in the morning with managment. Ugh do they not empower their staff to do anything at this place? I then asked if they still had those 5 rooms for my extra guest and asked for the rate, she gave me the same line as the lady from the night before. I told that extra guest not to bother and to book the Hampton Inn next door. The next morning I went down for their much bragged about breakfast on their site and found it was extremely crowded. It was kind of like fend for yourself. People were standing and eating their breakfast, plates in hand. There were tables that had no chairs to sit. It was chaotic, and a mess. I decided to go to the diner up the block (there goes that perk). When I got back I checked with "management" on that late check out for my groom. I was told latest they could do is 230p because they were sold out. So i checked online and saw that they were selling rooms. So I brought this to management's attention and was told that they were nearly full and that they could extend 3p for a charge. I thought so you will charge the groom of a wedding block of 20 rooms so he can have an extra 30 minutes? Management said they will have their boss call me. So she did and the General Manager herself calls my room gives me generic blah toned congratulations on your wedding day but sorry we cant extend the late check out without a charge. At this point it was 2 hours before we were to leave for our wedding and this was the last bit of stress I needed...so I relunctantly agreed because what else would I have the groom do hang out in his tux in their breakfast area? Oh it gets even worse. I left my room and the housekeeper on the floor saw me leaving at 330p in my wedding dress with photographers, and I asked her if they could refresh my room. She said yes...when I returned to my room at 1am after the wedding event my room was left exactly as I had left it at 330p, TV left on and all. To add insult to injury the housekeeper did in fact enter my room after I left, and her idea of refreshing the room was adding clean towels in the bathroom. I guess it was the end of her shift so too bad for me. To add insult to injury there wasn't even a congratulations card or anything from the hotel for the wedding. I have stayed at other hotels for lesser occassions and at least received a small token of appreciation from management. From arrival to check out it was an awful experience. Now where I had my wedding (Westbury Manor) their service was extraordinary. I sent Westbury a very nice letter regarding their service and staff. I then told them my horror story about this hotel and of course had to strongly advise them to avoid associating themselves with this hotel. With only 4 hotels in the area I guess Hyatt Place really doesnt need to apply customer service, but my experience with this one Hyatt would prevent me from booking any other Hyatt. Might as well book a 1 star hotel and save my money if I expect to be treated like I am staying a 1 star hotel.

Room Tip: Book the Hampton Inn...anything has to be better than this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caribella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpgc, General Manager at Hyatt Place Garden City, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
We want to first thank you for your 12 rooms that booked with us. When booking a block of rooms with us we provide your guests with a special rate that is released a month before your big day. I’ am unsure as to who would tell you to book a room at our business center because we do not have suites at this location. When we spoke about the late check out; you stated you needed a 5pm check out that we were unable to accommodate your request on a sold out night. Being familiar with the hotel business you can understand. When you did however check out at 4:15pm we did take off the half a day rate off your bill as a courtesy. I apologize the Room Attendant misunderstood your request. She was under the impression you wanted new towels.
Again I want to apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertson, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My sister in law and brother in law stayed here for 2 nights for their wedding events--I was in and out of the hotel for the 2 days as well with my sister in law. The hotel is centrally located in the Westbury/Garden City area close to tons of shopping, restaurants, and several catering establishments. There is plenty of parking, it is immaculately clean, there is a somewhat decent complementary breakfast, and the room was great with a king sized bed, walk in shower, large sink/vanity outside the bathroom, a sitting area with couch and large flat screen tv. There was a fridge as well. Lots of storage too. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#3 of 4 in Garden City
610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
2.1 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
576 reviews
3.5 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Carle Place Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Garden City

Property: Hyatt Place Garden City
Address: 5 North Ave, Garden City, NY 11530-2125
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Garden City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Garden City is walking distance to over 60 restaurants and two large malls. It’s ideally situated near top Long Island colleges. The Long Island Rail Road is within walking distance. Hotel features spacious guestrooms with Hyatt Grand Bed™ and 42" flat panel HDTV. Additional amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, complimentary breakfast buffet, indoor pool, fitness center, 24/7 Guest Kitchen serves snacks/entrees, Intimate Bakery Café, business center, and complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Garden City Hotel Garden City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing