We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served It's Purpose But That's It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Freeport Inn and Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freeport
Pelham Manor, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Served It's Purpose But That's It”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel served its purpose but it's nothing special and not some nostalgic motor in. This is simply a room that was not far from the Nautical Mile. The Nautical Mile was nothing special and the surrounding area was not great. We were headed to the Hamptons and decided to get a head start the night before with dinner. The hotel manager at the time was very nice and the room was clean. The rug was stained and worn and the hotel deadbolt was broken. We were only straying for the night but having a bathroom doorknob lock was not that cool. The couch in the room was also worn. That being said the bathroom was clean and nice. The walk in closet with shelves and such was kind of cool and well laid out. I was going to stay in a modern and new chain hotel that was 15 dollars cheaper. However, I decided to go for this bc it seemed a little unique and different. I don't regret my decision bc the room was clean but prob would opt for chain hotel next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    40
    32
    21
    20
See reviews for
30
54
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
192 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Booked 2 rooms for the weekend to attend the Doobie Brothers/Chicago concert with the in-laws. Found this place on the Internet and selected due to the proximity to Jones Beach and the photos. Usually have good luck booking on the Internet but not this time.

The pros: The staff is great; very helpful. The lady at the front desk gave our room away by mistake but upgraded us to a larger room without us asking. Very nice of her.

And....I agree with OldFart49. The photos are misleading. I went into shock when I arrived and saw the place. Typical motel room -- nothing like the photo of the room in blue. The furnishings are worn and the bed was OK. "Drab" is a good description. The upgraded room had a larger walk-in closet but the bathroom (while new) was small (especially the shower.) The "balcony" was the typical walkway to the front door; no chairs, privacy etc. The marina photos are from the restaurant not from the standard rooms.

On the plus side: the restaurant was fabulous. A little pricey -- spent $300 for drinks, appetizers, 2 desserts and 1 entry for four people.

Probably would have liked this place more if I knew it was a standard-type motel. The shock of getting something so different is behind the low rating. Again, it was OK but I expected more from $175/night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vauxhall, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a romantic getaway at the Freeport Inn and Marina it was a little pricey, very clean, great location, people friendly and adult savvy. The hotel staff was exceptional in all that they did. The main attraction was the Nautical Mile where we were located 5 mile away. The only negative thing I can say is the price would have been appropriate if the rooms included a microwave and refrigerator.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATravelerKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

if you shall stay in new york or long island, book here! elegant, clean and the staff was more than excellent , the manager was unbelievable helpful and service minded, and had trained his personal the same way. only 15 minutes from long beach,jones beach:) 30 minutes from JFK. and its own restaurant "the patio" was classy, excellent waiters, and the chef with experience from new orleans did magic with argentinian steaks and seabass! we stayed for one happy week. elin and kjell even from norway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjell Even T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Freeport Inn after checking it out on the internet: they have a very good website -- but it's not indicative of reality. While our room was very clean (even my clean freak wife was impressed), the furnishings are worn out and faintly depressing. The room itself is drab.
Ours was a "standard" room, and I don't know if an upgrade would have improved things.

Another positive is the staff: they are very outgoing and friendly and eager to help. A plus for that. But in general, for the price we would have expected something a little more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldFart49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place was the best! staff was helpful and very accommodating especially the front desk.The room was incredible the shower was breathtaking! everything was new and clean. long beach is only 15 minutes away. Great restaurants only a couple miles away. the patio restaurant looked so nice and classy. the view was of the marina. overall we loved our experience there and will defiantly be going back!

Room Tip: Newly renovated rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevgi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easthampton, MA
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

freeport inn is a great place to stay. I've stayed there three times and I'm always satisfied. They just opened an awesome patio restaurant that has a great menu. One of the best things about it is the location- you can access all the beaches within minutes. Also- The Nautical Mile is right around the corner with tons of restaurants and live music. I would highly reccomend this place- the rooms are done up in a funky sixties style and I plan on returning

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liv d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2.7 mi away
Ramada Rockville Centre
Ramada Rockville Centre
#4 of 4 in Rockville Centre
621 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 1 in Merrick
102 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Mill River Manor
Best Western Mill River Manor
#2 of 4 in Rockville Centre
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Long Beach
133 reviews
5.5 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
577 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Bar Harbour Inn
Best Western Bar Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Massapequa Park
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Freeport Inn and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Freeport Inn and Marina

Property: The Freeport Inn and Marina
Address: 445 S Main St, Freeport, NY 11520-5116
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Freeport Inn and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 45 room inn on Freeport Creek in Freeport, Long Island. The closest inn to Jones Beach and Theater. The Patio Lounge is our on-site restaurant/ Bar Lounge with a 3000 square foot outdoor patio that sits alongside our 85 boat slip marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Freeport Inn and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Freeport Inn And Marina Hotel Freeport
Freeport Hotel Boatel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing