We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms are a dump!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Freeport Inn and Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed June 30, 2011

They re-furbished the lobby, and the outside, but our room looked like a welfare motel!! The room was musty smelling, old, and worn out. The TV was old. There were no toiletries in the room, we had to go to the lobby to request them, and when we asked for more towels, we were directed (by someone who did not speak english) to where we could get them ourselves in a storage room. We paid $178 for our room, I would not have paid $50. The website is very misleading in that the implication is that the rooms will look as good as the lobby and restaurant. Also, no pool, which for that price, I would expect more of those type of amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EvenMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 169 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2010

The room itself was alright until we woke up to ants! Yes Ants covering the nightstand and everything on it. There had to be at least 50 of them. I was totally grossed out by the thought my head was resting only inches from the nightstand. Not to mention they were crawling all over my eyeglasses, laptop and cell phone. I asked for a refund and the manager offered me $25 off my stay....unacceptable! Would no recommend staying there!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trad1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeportmarina, Front Office Manager at The Freeport Inn and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

There were a few sugar ants next to a can of soda that was left beside the bed that had spilled. We cleaned the ants and removed the soda for the guest. They were not happy with any partial refund and felt they were entitled to a free night. They could not be satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We found the Freeport Inn to be nice and had no complaints. The front desk staff was very friendly, maid service came every day with no problems. Best proximity of any hotel to concerts at Jones Beach. It's not the fanciest place, but worked for the purpose of a central place to stay for visiting Jones Beach, NYC and the Hamptons.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trav1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Had a reservation to stay at this Inn and Boatel July 31, 2010. Arrived late, exhausted but happy to be in a "deluxe" room - imagine my surprise when I found the paint peeling in the main room and the bathroom, two soap bars that crumbled when I opened the packages, flies (multiple) in the room and bathroom, toilet paper that would scrape paint off a car and the best of all - large black stains on the comforter! It was a nightmare!! Too bad because it is situated nicely on water with a lovely view.....but, please everyone - do yourself a favor......don't go by the pictures online...they are very decieving! Needless to say, we called around and ended up staying at a LOVELY Hilton - for almost 30.00 less then the Freeport Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunshineNYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

The room was just a basic motel room. Although we were at the side of the motel, we had a nice view of the marina. The room was pretty clean, but the blanket and bed spread were dirty and full of hairs (YUCK!). The place can get pretty noisy at night even in the off-season - I had to sleep with ear plugs. The price of the room is reasonable when compared to other rooms in the area. It includes a very basic continental breakfast - Drakes cakes, bagels with butter (no cream cheese), coffee or tea (nothing decaf).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

My Wife & I travelled to long island to watch the US open golf, and whan arrived at the motel we found very helpful staff and and great locasion. The rooms were basic but very clean and beds made every day, the Deli on Atlantic Way was also fantasic place for breakfast and great value. could not fault this place or it's staff all very cherrful and helpful.
the owner even went out of his way to ensure that we got to New York city on our 2nd week he gave us a lift, a call well beyond duty A+++++++++++++

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

nice enough hotel massive room
but if you stay at the back of the boatel
there is a boat yard which has a massive
fork lift truck that moves the boats around
it can be quite noisy in the mornings
but apart from that nice place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bracketsthepolicefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeportmarina, Front Office Manager at The Freeport Inn and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

This was a problem for many years. In late 2010 the marina next door (south side of the building) moved their repair facility to another location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
1.8 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 1 in Merrick
110 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Rockville Centre
Ramada Rockville Centre
#4 of 4 in Rockville Centre
662 reviews
5.8 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Long Beach
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Mill River Manor
Best Western Mill River Manor
#2 of 4 in Rockville Centre
635 reviews
6.3 mi away
Allegria Hotel
Allegria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Long Beach
1,128 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Rockville Centre
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton R...
#1 of 4 in Rockville Centre
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Freeport Inn and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Freeport Inn and Marina

Address: 445 S Main St, Freeport, NY 11520-5116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range: $118 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Freeport Inn and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 50 room Hotel and 85 Boat Slip Marina located in Freeport, Long Island. All Guestrooms are tastefully appointed to today's modern travelers needs providing all the basic necessities you have come to expect. The closest Hotel to Jones Beach and Theater. Margarita's Cafe is our seasonal on-site restaurant/ Bar Lounge with a 3000 square foot outdoor patio that sits alongside our 85 boat slip marina. They offer daily specials and scheduled live entertainment. Freeport lies on the South Shore of Long Island, in the southwestern part of Nassau County, within the town of Hempstead. Freeport is New York State's second-biggest village and has a station on the Long Island Rail Road. The south part of the village is penetrated by several canals that allow access to the Atlantic Ocean by means of passage through salt marshes. The oldest canal is the late 19th-century Woodcleft Canal. Freeport has extensive small-boat facilities and a resident fishing fleet, as well as charter and open water fishing boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Freeport Inn and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Freeport Inn And Marina Hotel Freeport
Freeport Hotel Boatel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing