We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sophisticated Alternative on the Nautical Mile”

Hudsons on the Mile Freeport NY
Reserve with OpenTable
Hudsons on the Mile Freeport NY is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 96 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: From the people who brought you The Maliblue Oyster Bar in Lido Beach now introduce to you Hudsons on the Mile located on the legendary nautical mile in Freeport, NY. We are proud to bring you the best live music from Manhattan to Montauk while rockin' your sandals with our Rock Lobster Tuesday night every week, all summer long!
Jericho, New York
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A Sophisticated Alternative on the Nautical Mile”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hudson's is an upscale, sophisticated alternative to the South Beach/Key West-vibe producing restaurants/bars on Freeport's basically cleaned up Nautical Mile (after Sandy). Restaurant Week's $26 price fixed special three course dinner (which included coffee and half-price beer) was a real treat. Crab meat appetizer and shrimp cocktails were excellent; my seafood combo and my wife's filet mignon were very good. Service was friendly and prompt...Of course, we arrived at 5:30, so would expect good service. Very pleasant, clean, sparkling interior; good ambiance for a relaxing dinner. One disappointment: an attendant in the restroom, with a tips bucket on the counter! Attendant in a restaurant??? Also, although I noted when I made the reservation that this was my wife's birthday, the place did nothing to acknowledge this...a shortcoming that most restaurants avoid if they know of the occasion in advance. .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

my friends and I went there for dinner and were very happy with the fish dishes. Branzino is the best, next to salmon w/ mango salsa & coconut rice! Simply delicious. The restaurant is all renovated after Sandy and much bigger than before - it used be more of a bar with live music, now it's an elegant restaurant with great service and a bar w/ live music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kasiorki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, CT
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Freeport Long Island Style”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This restaurant is on the Nautilus Mile which has become an great entertainment venue. This restaurant has great food, location, prices, view and parking. My wife and I went for a very comfortable lunch on July 6, 2013. We sat outside even if it was hot but there is always a great breeze coming off the ocean so we were very comfortable. The service was excellent and the server check on us often and the manager also came and checked on us too. I had the cajon flounder, my wife the sword fish and our friend had linguine and clams. All dinners were very good. I also has a drink and it was made to my satisfaction. We WILL go back I hope soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our waiter was great. Drinks were never finished before new ones arrived. The portions were large and reasonably priced for The Mile. The A/C was cold on a hot day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BELLYWOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport NY
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Hudson on the Mile new owners, still great”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Seems Hudson o the Mile as new Owens and partially new name. It was Hudson McCoy.

Good food, lobster specials. We like the upper rooms.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank popsrocks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudsons on the Mile Freeport NY also viewed

 

Been to Hudsons on the Mile Freeport NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing