We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was as nice as it looks”
Review of White Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Fredonia B&B and Inns
New York City Area
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish it was as nice as it looks”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I want to love this place, but the AC unit in our renovated room was incredibly loud, both when it went on and -- incredibly, it was even louder when it went off (room 323 if you are interested). Too bad they cheaped out by placing a tiny flat screen TV in our large room and only providing 2 bath towels in a room with 2 queen beds. The bathroom vanity was cheap looking plastic, rather than stone. The pillows were hard. The beds looked pretty with faux brass head and footboards, but they were noisy, too. The porch is beautiful as is the entire front of the building. We had a lovely dinner outside. Sorry, but the owners missed the mark here with some obvious economies that will cost them in the long run.

Room Tip: Don't stay here in the summer if you are not a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnVelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    27
    26
    19
See reviews for
41
47
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The White Inn has been renovated recently,including painting the outside brick structure,with beautiful landscaping leading up to the large porch,which is use for dining,
The interior lobby has also been updated,with the bar area and the dining room.
The entire staff was very kind and helpful and answered all my questions.
The food can be casual or more formal,everything I tried was excellent.
I stayed in the Devillo White rm.264 in the older part of the Inn,the room was spacious with lovely antique bed and dresser,the love seat was worn and the half curtains were awful,they matched
the wallpaper ,some nice drapes or shears would have been more becoming the Victorian feel of the room.
The staff informed me that only 3 rooms have been remodeled so far.

Room Tip: Chose a room that has been remodeled and in the back, view website for pictures of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orderly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The White Inn has been ungoing renovations, and is vastly improved. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff really went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable, and the restaurant and lounge food was excellent. A nice place to get the local flavor.

Room Tip: When staying here you must remember you are staying in a 100+ year old building. If you are expecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you're looking for the ambiance of an old farmhouse, you'll love this. The wooden floors creak when you walk on them, the breeze coming in around the windows actually made the cheap roll-up blinds flutter - it was snowing outside and I had to turn the heat up as high as it would go just to get the room to a comfortable temperature. The woodwork around the doors hasn't been painted in some time and shows the luggage marks from decades of visitors. Bits missing out of the wall paper and a bathroom sink with no place to put your toiletries round out the “bare essentials” atmosphere. Despite promoting an in-house restaurant, it was closed but they neglected to tell me that prior to arrival. The advertised free breakfast was non-existent and there wasn't even the offer of something to substitute. On checking in, I had to find somebody to take care of that since there was nobody around.
On the other hand, if you're used to the service level, décor and conveniences of a modern, well maintained hotel, you won't like this one. There are a few of the economy chain hotels in the area which will be a much better value and where you'll be more comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was a beautiful Inn. The prices were great. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Brittany just couldn't do enough for us. She went way beyond her duties to help us be comfortable. It was definitely a place that I will return to soon. Oh and the burgers are to die for!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We didn't stay at the property, but we did dine for the Easter Brunch. The food selection was great, the carving meats were done to perfection and the service was spectacular. I woul recommend this place for any large gathering. We will go back for a dinner service here in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_da_Bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As many other reviewers have pointed out, this is an old building, but that is part of its charm. Don't stay here if your are expecting the Marriott. We had been there two times previously, and although there has been some redecorating since the last stay, it is still a very cozy place. Our room was spacious and clean with lovely antique furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet, even though the inn was quite full. We had dinner in the dining room, which is quieter than the tavern, and was a little disappointed with the change in decor there and what had been the library room was empty. None the less, the menu is great and the food is excellent and reasonably priced. Desserts are made on site and are not to be missed! The staff was friendly and service was good. I would agree that the continental breakfast was lacking. Another change since we last stayed, when there was full service breakfast served. Overall, it is a charming inn with wonderful food. We plan to visit again.

Room Tip: The website has photos of the rooms, which helps with selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fredonia
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Dunkirk
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
3.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
#3 of 4 in Dunkirk
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
17.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
183 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Inn

Property: White Inn
Address: 52 E Main St, Scenic Route 20, Fredonia, NY 14063-1836
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Fredonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fredonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely boutique historic hotel with 24 rooms all with private baths located in the heart of Fredonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your White Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Fredonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing