We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They should just tear the building down.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Fredonia/Dunkirk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fredonia
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They should just tear the building down.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

They should just tear down the building and build a new one. It is disgusting. Rugs in the hallways stink and the rooms were not clean at all. We entered the room through a back door and it was never locked, even when we came back at midnight. Our room key didn't work half the time to our room. From the hole in the bedspread to the dead bug I found behind the bathroom door the room was disgusting. We didn't even bother eating breakfast there because after finding a dead bug in the room it made me question what was in the kitchen where the food was kept. I will say this, we saw another couple go down towards the breakfast area. We headed to McDonalds, while eating at McDonalds they walked in so I am guessing they decided not to eat the hotel breakfast either. Will never stay here again. I would recommend spending a little more for a nicer cleaner place to stay then here. The only good thing about this place was the nice people at the front desk. We had our mother in law with us who walks with a cane and he made sure to give us a room near a door so she wouldn't have to walk far.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nygrl4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn05551, Manager at Days Inn Fredonia/Dunkirk, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize your recent stay with us was less then satisfying. I have addressed you complaint with our staff. Our hotel has a contract with a pest elimination company who inspects and treats all areas of our hotel. I am unsure of the dead bugs behind the bathroom door but will have the pest elimination company look into the matter as well. We are also in the planning stages for major updates to our hotel to begin shortly. Again I apologize for the inconveniences and hope you will give us another chance to serve you.

Thank you,
Byron Lawton
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    109
    111
    123
See reviews for
191
78
39
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

All the other hotels in the area were full so I booked this hotel after reading the reviews. I knew what to expect and the reviews are true. Let's start with the good. The front desk staff were friendly and willing to provide clean sheets and a new shower curtain. I booked a non smoking room with double queen beds. They switched me to a room with a single king sized bed. The room was large 11'-11" x 23-'6" (280sqft). The Internet is free and there are no annoying login screens. The breakfast room is large with lots of tables. This is a motel with doors facing the parking lot and doors that open to an interior hallway. The room also had a connecting door to the adjacent room. I'm not sure if it's allowed but I observed a guest bring a dog into their room. There were no holes in the walls larger than the diameter of a pencil. The shower room has one of those bright lamps on a timer. This was nice because the timer was broken and just acted as a switch. The plumbing worked. There was a refrigerator in the room and it was quiet. It even had a mini-freezer. There was a microwave in the room. The TV (tube style 27") had front composite video connections. All the lights worked. There were enough outlets around the room for charging various devices. The room was quiet and the outdoors was quiet. The motel is tucked back away from traffic. The room had a decent desk and chair. The air conditioning worked.

If you choose to stay here, and want to sleep on a clean set of sheets, I suggest you get a clean set of sheets from the front desk and put them on the bed yourself. They even gave me an extra sheet to cover the comforter and blanket. If your shower curtain has black mold on it (mine did), you can also get a new one from the front desk. They are very easy to install. If you want fresh air, get a room on the first floor so you can open the outside door. The windows don't open. A box fan would come in handy to air out the room. If you want to read or write, the best light is on the throne or the separate mirror over the sink. A power strip would come in handy if you want to put all your devices in one place. If you want to put a laptop on the desk, you'll want a cord at least 10' long as there were no available outlets by the desk.

The bathtub had a ring of grime but the bottom of the tub was cleaner so I felt okay about putting my bare feet on it. The tub had been resurfaced and the "new" surface was chipped and coming apart. Water pressure was adequate, temperature was solid. The shower head was low flow.

The room was non-smoking but smelled of old smoke. I was able to air it out some by propping both the front and back doors open. The smell is embedded in the worn and filthy carpet though so it will suffuse back into the room when you close it up.

The room overall was dirty. The handrests of the stuffed chair were black with grime. Housekeeping re-made the bed with the same sheets even though I requested clean ones.

Overall the room could be much worse. The bathroom is a definite upgrade from a public port-a-pot. I didn't see any bugs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have doors to the outside so you can air out the stale smoke smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EngineerDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn05551, Manager at Days Inn Fredonia/Dunkirk, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize your stay with us was less then satisfying. I want to thank you for pointing out the good and the bad. Your feedback helps us improve. I have addressed the issues you had with our staff so we may focus on our weak areas. We are currently planning major updates to our hotel to begin shortly what will greatly improve our guests experience. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you.

Thank You,
Byron Lawton
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is tucked on a back street and poorly lit. Had we not arrived late and were only passing through the area on our way to Massachusetts, we would have demanded a refund and left. Our room was filthy - the carpet looked like it hadn't been vacuumed for several days and the celing had gaps in the tiles. There were glass rings on the table and honestly, the hotel smelled. The bathroom floor was not clean and the tub had a variety of hairs, none of which came from us. THe comforter also had cigarette burns in it. The morning desk staff were very nice and they served a nice continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn05551, Manager at Days Inn Fredonia/Dunkirk, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize your stay with us was less then satisfying. I have addressed the issues with our housekeeping staff as well as our maintenance staff. Feedback like yours helps us improve. We are currently planning for major updates to our hotel to begin shortly that will address many of the issues you had experienced. Again I apologize for the inconveniences and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,
Byron Lawton
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fredonia
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Dunkirk
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
#3 of 4 in Dunkirk
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#2 of 2 in Westfield
14 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
23.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jamestown - Falconer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Fredonia/Dunkirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Fredonia/Dunkirk

Property: Days Inn Fredonia/Dunkirk
Address: 10455 Bennett Rd, Route 60, Fredonia, NY 14063-1402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Fredonia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fredonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Fredonia/Dunkirk 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Western New York. The Days Inn Fredonia/Dunkirk provides you with an affordable, quiet, relaxing atmosphere in the heart of the concord grape belt in rural Chautauqua County, New York. We are minutes from SUNY Fredonia with Niagara Falls, Buffalo, and Erie PA within 1 hour drive. Free High Speed Wireless Internet throughout our hotel. Complementary Business Center in our lobby, and Daybreak Deluxe Breakfast w/Waffle Station served daily from 5:30am to 9:30am. We can accommodate your small business meetings in one of our meeting rooms. All rooms include Hair Dryers, AM/FM Clock Radios and Coffee Makers. All Business Place rooms also include Microwave and Refrigerator, Iron and Board, and Complimentary Snack Pack and Bottled Water. Pets Allowed but with a pet cleaning fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Fredonia/Dunkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Dunkirk - Fredonia Hotel Fredonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing