We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brick Room

Brick Room
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Fredonia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique Selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Haven't been there in a while, but had lunch there for birthday. Great menu, different food, not too expensive. Dinner menu a little pricey, but not bad.

Helpful?
Thank NanceO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chautauqua, New York
2 reviews
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I live in Chautauqua NY all year round..... I have eaten at the Brickroom on many many occasions. I bring all my out of towner friends, who all live in big cities, along with outstanding restaurants too, and all are in agreement with me.....this is the best restaurant in Chautauqua - year after year. Great friendly and attentive staff......brilliant seasonal menu and a wonderful environment.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tubells23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Three words: Fantastic - Iron Skillet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Wow. What a find in the middle of nowhere. Great little hole in the wall - open the doors to a cozy romantic great refuge.

The Iron Skillet appetizer was one of the best I have ever had - EVER. Unreal and light blend if cheeses and peppers with olives and artisan bread - WOW.

We had the Veal Picatta and the Crab Cakes and while both were superb, the crab cakes were slightly in the lead for overall greatness.

This little place can hold its own in any city - and it's in Fredonia!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelf50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good but room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My daughter and I ate here in April. Fredonia does not have many non-chain dining options so this was a welcomed eating experience. We started with salads - Steak House and Cesare which were large and well executed. I had the Chicken Cacciatore which was rather odd. It was a chicken breast covered with a cacciatore style tomatoe sauce. As a result the chicken was a little and the pasta was a little undercooked. It was tasty but missed the mark. My daughter had a steak and gave it a thumbs up, although she would have preferred a plain baked potatoe instead of the stuffed option.
My daughter will be starting her freshman year at SUNY Fredonia so we look forward to many good dining experiences here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyPrinceton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
409 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“They need to use fresh red peppers and olives--not jarred or canned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had their "skillet" appetizer. Unfortunately, they used jarred red peppers that had an astringent taste. Fresh roasted red peppers would have been to die for! The chicken cacciatore sauce was too tart due to canned olives, but the chicken breast was good as were the large noodles, but there wasn't enough of them. The elk loin was done well (order medium rare!) as were the mashed sweet potatoes and brussel sprouts. The glass of pinot noir and Labatt beer were good. Dinner was $69.07 plus tip. The restaurant interior was not large, but pleasantly lined with 2 brick walls which were covered in local art.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brick Room also viewed

Fredonia, Chautauqua County
 
Fredonia, Chautauqua County
Fredonia, Chautauqua County
 

Been to Brick Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing