We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northern Italian Food”

Carmela's Pizzeria & Restaurant
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Northern Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you want a cozy, romantic place to have an excellent meal, make sure to get a table in the "cozy" area. Some of the dishes are quite original and won't be found in other restaurants.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FiOS-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good Pizza and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have been going here many times. The food is good as well as the pizza.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zack728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
212 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Long Island Trattoria Worth the Trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Six couples spent an early Valentine's Day celebration at Carmela's (named for the wife and co-owner with husband Barto) this (Saturday) evening. A Seven O'Clock reservation was honored on time. Shortly after our arrival our (pre-ordered) hot antipasti arrived followed by salad. Entrees included Veal Paillard, tender enough to cut with a fork; skirt steak grilled to perfection; sword fish steak, a chicken and shrimp special as well as a variety of tasty pastas. Service is plentiful, cheerful and attentive. An accessible wine list is a must for me; Carmela's accommodates. With wines beginning at twenty one dollars you're bound to find one that suits your palate. For us it was an inexpensive Montepulciano that was a fine compliment to veal and beef. The owner managers are on site at this large, comfortable and tastefully decorated restaurant which shares a common wall with it's own pizza parlor. Music and dancing are an added attraction on Saturday evenings.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pizzaria with seperate restaurant next door”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Been eating slices from here for over 30 years. Very good pizza of all variety with other traditional Neapolitan fare. Ten years ago they converted the space next door to a Fine Dining establishment where I have only eaten once. My veal sorrento was good but for the price I would go elsewhere. The pizzaria has tables and waiter service too and is more gently priced than their restaurant next door.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mushy, bland pasta.... Bummer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We ordered take out. The delivery guy forgot our salad so we had to wait to eat. The pasta was incredibly mushy and bland. I had the pasta with broccoli rabe and my friend had baked ziti. All in all it was just mediocre. I've had the ziti with asparagus and shrimp which was very good and fresh. Maybe last nights dinner was an off night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikki_VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmela's Pizzeria & Restaurant also viewed

Franklin Square, Long Island
Franklin Square, Long Island
 
Franklin Square, Long Island
Franklin Square, Long Island
 
Franklin Square, Long Island
Franklin Square, Long Island
 

Been to Carmela's Pizzeria & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing