We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fine, but not all that great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Montgomery
NYC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fine, but not all that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

They seemed to be understaffed and there was an odd lack of attention to detail. The front desk didn't have cash register key, the door to pool was locked and the ice maker didn't work. But we had a comfortable bed and plenty of towels.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
35
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Nothing out of the ordinary but this was a nice place to stay near West Point. They have a decent breakfast in the morning, eggs, sausage, cereal, muffins, etc. I arrived late in the evening but the desk clerk was very efficient and polite. Price is very reasonable. Room was quiet and very comfortable.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here while visiting West Point military post. We will be moving to the area and wanted to learn more. We are family of four...two adults and two tween/teen kids. Every one of us enjoyed our stay at this hotel (and we can be picky). The staff was so very friendly and inviting. They talked to us all the time and answered the abundance of questions we had about the area, how to get around, where to eat, etc. The breakfast was yummy...sausage patties, bacon, scrambled eggs and warm cinnamon rolls:-) There was also the usual bagels, toast, yogurt, cereal and fruit. All was fresh and easily consumed by all of us. The rooms were plenty big enough, beds comfy with a soft or firm pillow to choose from, a nice warm pool and sauna. We didn't use the fitness room. The internet was a bit slow but no huge complaints. I believe the hotel was recently remodeled. It felt new and was kept very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel! It probably isn't technically a "5 star" hotel but considering the rural setting, a remodeled establishment, and high quality of our stay I have no problems giving it a 5 star rating. Thanks so much to the staff for our fantastic experience!

Room Tip: I always prefer a top floor (3rd in this case) and away from the stairs & ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrb415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel one night recently, and quite enjoyed it. The location off 9W is very scenic and quiet, and less than 10 minutes to West Point, and maybe 17 to Peekskill.

The room was quiet, ample sized and comfortable. The thermostat was wall unit which made it very easy to control temps.

The pool was nice (indoor) and the fitness center seemed to be well used.

Breakfast was absolutely standard HIE fare, but with little kids, that's exactly what you want.

the location is off a minor highway (9W) and really easy to get to. We drove back and forth to Peekskill a couple times over some scenic and winding roads. If you fancy a hike, there are a couple great pull-overs where you can park and hike up to see great views of the Hudson and the little bridge that you cross. We went up to West Point to see the visitor center and museum and the hotel is perfectly situated for that, being less than 10 minutes away.

The staff at the hotel were quite pleasant.

All in all, a quality HIE (recognizing where in the Hotel food-chain this brand falls) with a beautiful location. I'd return if I was in the area. We paid with Priority points, and it did seem pricey for point redemption. I would not want to pay a lot of cash for this one like one reviewer did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank relambjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Poor management Choose this hotel because it was close to West Point. After a hot long day at West Point went back to hotel to find the room just as we left it the beds not made and no clean towels we went down to the front desk. Nothing they could do but we did get some clean towels. The management never said anything to us or apologized.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PuzzlesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear PuzzlesG,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the poor service you have received from our staff. We have noted these points and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for 1 night at this hotel. Hotel was very nicely decorated with modern furnishing. Extremely clean and super comfy bed. Staff was very nice and the pool looked great although I didn't try. My only gripe is the cost. At $170 for a king room in this area was a bit steep. The complimentary hot breakfast was nice however they should really rethink the layout of the serving area. Everything is layed out in a rather tight corner which results in traffic jam of people trying to get food. I gave up after a few minutes but managed to snag some coffee for the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wram01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

$174 for one night in a HIE! Way overpriced. The recently updated hotel was clean, nice decor, and is in a great location. Breakfast, was the usual bland HIE fare and for the cost they really need to add some items to the menu and improve the quality. Staff was pleasant. We chose this hotel because it had been recently updated and a clean hotel means everything to me. We were not disappointed, but felt that the price was out of line.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynborn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Montgomery
2.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
7.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Central Valley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Address: 1106 Route 9w, Fort Montgomery, NY 10922-7710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fort Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point-Fort Montgomery is located on the scenic Hudson River less than 5 minutes from West Point - the premier USMA, the Historic Ft. Montgomery Battlefield Site, Bear Mountain State Park & Constitution Island. Holiday Inn Express welcomes you to Fort Montgomery. Visit West Point, NY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following West Point events: West Point Graduation, Reception Day, Acceptance Day, Army Football Games. Your comfort is important to us. This Holiday Inn Express hotel is 'Your Home Away From Home' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites West Point
Holiday Inn Fort Montgomery
Fort Montgomery Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing