We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“poor management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Montgomery
Chester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“poor management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Poor management Choose this hotel because it was close to West Point. After a hot long day at West Point went back to hotel to find the room just as we left it the beds not made and no clean towels we went down to the front desk. Nothing they could do but we did get some clean towels. The management never said anything to us or apologized.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PuzzlesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear PuzzlesG,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the poor service you have received from our staff. We have noted these points and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
35
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for 1 night at this hotel. Hotel was very nicely decorated with modern furnishing. Extremely clean and super comfy bed. Staff was very nice and the pool looked great although I didn't try. My only gripe is the cost. At $170 for a king room in this area was a bit steep. The complimentary hot breakfast was nice however they should really rethink the layout of the serving area. Everything is layed out in a rather tight corner which results in traffic jam of people trying to get food. I gave up after a few minutes but managed to snag some coffee for the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wram01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

$174 for one night in a HIE! Way overpriced. The recently updated hotel was clean, nice decor, and is in a great location. Breakfast, was the usual bland HIE fare and for the cost they really need to add some items to the menu and improve the quality. Staff was pleasant. We chose this hotel because it had been recently updated and a clean hotel means everything to me. We were not disappointed, but felt that the price was out of line.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynborn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

For once, everything in the description of the hotel was on target. The indoor heated pool was great. The breakfast was well stocked. The rooms were comfortable and clean. An added bonus was the early check-in (upon request). The staff was kind enough to let us check in much earlier than 3pm which was great since we had driven all night. The hotel is minutes from Bear Mountain State Park and West Point and Highland Falls. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Basically the McDonald's of the hotel world, not flashy, not luxury, but basic amenities, satisfying stay at an affordable price. I needed extra towels and had to go get them myself, and they could use another toaster for the breakfast area to move things along. That being said, the breakfast was way better than other area hotels I've stayed at with hot selections with decent variety.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGfromSCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is about a mile and a half from Bear Mountain State Park. My husband and I stayed 2 nights in mid May. We were told prior to arrival that the hotel had been rennovated recently. We were not disappointed, and we would absolutely recommend this hotel. The rooms are beautiful. Rooms are outfitted with granite on several pieces of furniture in the rooms as well as the bathrooms. The rooms are spotless. The furniture has been updated and there are two different colors of wall paint on separate walls, which gives the room a modern feel. The furniture is tastefully done, more of a retro feel to it. Our room had a separate living room area that was connected to the sleeping area. There are two flat-screen TVs, one in the living room area and the other in the bedroom. The AC/heating vent is in the living room area which we like because many hotels have the vent right next to the bed, which blows the air directly on you when you are sleeping, which we don't like. Not a problem here. The beds were extremely comfortable. There is a mini kitchen in the living room area. There is a sink, mini-fridge, cabinets, and small counter-top space. There is a small hallway leading from the living room area to the door, and this gives the room a larger feel to it. The bathroom is beautifully decorated and very spacious. The shower is huge, has a built-in seat/place to put toiletries, the floor is made of stone tiles with varied colors. The shower has a rain forest shower as well as a removeable shower head feature, which I absolutely loved. In fact I loved it so much that I am going to have one installed in my bathroom when I get home. The removeable shower head is perfect for when you don't want to get your hair wet. You can maneuver the shower head to exactly where you need it and your hair doesn't get wet. Perfect for when you are not washing your hair. I got out of the shower and my hair just needed a little touching up but basically I looked like I had just washed and blow-dried my hair. Love... There is no bathtub but that was fine with us. The hotel has a standard hotel breakfast in the morning, but the eggs were freshly scrambled and not pre-cooked frozen/thawed like some chains, making this hotel a little above average in the breakfast dept. There were several kind of juices, various coffees, bagels, breads, english muffins, toaster. and mini-muffins as well as cinnamon buns. The cinnamon buns were above average. There was no waffle/pancake maker. Milk and yogurt were also available as well as several kinds of cererals. The hotel has a pool and small exercise room. There is a business center with one computer. The front desk staff were very helpful with anything we needed. There is free wi-fi in each room. We were extremely pleased with this hotel. We were in this area to attend a weddding at Bear Mtn. State Park, which is about 1 1/2 miles from the hotel. Bear Mountain has beautiful mountain views with lush greenery and mountain rocks all around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mindhealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here before going to another hotel. We used reward points for the stay.
This may explain why I didn't get "thank you for beig a plantinum member, and a welcome goodie, or room upgrade" Also it seemed odd when I asked if a relative checked in I had to spell the last name, being the last name was the same as the town name. The stff was responsive but didn't seem overly friendly. The beds were great as usual, but the breakfast area was a tad small.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danderism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Montgomery
2.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
7.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Central Valley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Address: 1106 Route 9 West, Fort Montgomery, NY 10922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fort Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point-Fort Montgomery is located on the scenic Hudson River less than 5 minutes from West Point - the premier USMA, the Historic Ft. Montgomery Battlefield Site, Bear Mountain State Park & Constitution Island. Holiday Inn Express welcomes you to Fort Montgomery. Visit West Point, NY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following West Point events: West Point Graduation, Reception Day, Acceptance Day, Army Football Games. Your comfort is important to us. This Holiday Inn Express hotel is 'Your Home Away From Home' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites West Point
Holiday Inn Fort Montgomery
Fort Montgomery Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing