We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind and friendly, even when they weren't open”
Review of Oliva Vineyards - CLOSED

Oliva Vineyards
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kind and friendly, even when they weren't open”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stopped by Oliva on our way home to New Jersey from Lake George/Adirondack Park. We had gotten tips about the winery from people in the region. My wife had checked the tasting room hours on a Google Search, but we should have called or directly checked the website. Unfortunately the winery wasn't open for business, but we met Tony who was sincerely apologetic about not being able to give us a tasting. Once he heard that we were from Jersey, and not local he was even more apologetic. He said they were preparing for a special event and the tasting room wasn't available. I think he was more disappointed than we were. As we said goodbye, Tony raced inside and then back out to our car with a chilled bottle of white wine. He said it was a gift and we should enjoy it after our ride home. We were completely shocked and will return to Oliva to "payback" the gracious gesture. We had the wine with Chinese take-out and it was a perfect way to end our vacation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Falls, New York, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great wine”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stopped in for the Friday night "Wine Down" and we will return. This is one of several vineyards/wine farms on the newly emerging Upper Hudson Wine and Grape Association's proposed wine trail. Owners were present and engaging and most welcoming . All staff was knowledgeable and helpful. The tasting room includes closed-circuit TV to watch activities in the stable where the owners' other love - thoroughbred horses - can be viewed. We were made welcome from the start and tasted several lovely wines, sampled appetizers and conversed with other patrons. We were never rushed or pushed to buy...we felt we were in someone's home for a vist. A comfortable lounge area is adjacent to the tasting room where there were comfy chairs, sofas, table space and more appetizers chosen to pair with the wines. A screened-in porch overlooking the main road and the Hudson River is also very comfortable. We finished a glass of wine, listened to some live music provided by a great guitarist/vocalist who was thankfully appropriately amplified so you could still converse. What a lovely way to spend the end of the week. You owe yourself a visit to Tony and Debreen Oliva's Friday night "Wine Down".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 405Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This is such a boon for our area!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I did not have high expectations for a Fort Edward Winery, but we had an awesome visit!
The tasting room is small. We were made welcome immediately. We had a wine and cheese pairing which was very well presented. I am sorry I did not get our "pourer's" name, but she was wonderful. She knew the wine, the property. She was friendly and outgoing. The owner was there and told us his vision for offering old movies projected on the barn...lots of ideas to make
us want to return. Oh, and the wine was pretty good. We came home with 2 bottles and
anticipating our return visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank juri62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of a Groupon deal for a wine and cheese tasting. Oliva Vineyards is set in the lovely rural countryside. We were warmly greeted upon arrival. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Wines and cheeses were delicious. Our hostess was warm, engaging, and very informative. Would highly recommend. We ended up purchasing a couple bottles of wine but there is absolutely no hard sell or sales pitch. They all seemed genuinely appreciative that we were there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliva Vineyards also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing