We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of Landmark Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landmark Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Edward
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Save a bundle of money if you are visiting Lake George or Saratoga, NY. AAA rated great value. This is not a luxury property but it's a money saver. Located between the Village and the track in Saratoga and the rates are much lower than hotels closer to those locations. Indoor and outdoor pools.

Room Tip: Ask for the route 4 side because it's quieter
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Landmark Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I and our friend Tom stayed at the Landmark while attending the Americade Motorcycle Rally in Lake George. The Inn is about 10 miles south of Lake George and close to I-87. Reasonably priced, clean with several amenities. It was obvious that the facilities and grounds were well maintained. Actually, I would say meticulously maintained. Friendly staff. You can't go wrong staying here while in the Lake George/Sarasota area. There is Fitzgeralds Dango's Steakhouse Irish Pub/Sports Bar across the road from the Landmark. The food was good, the service so-so, but, buyer beware. We were there on a Monday night, wing night. We didn't have wings but unbeknownst to us because we were not told by the waitress nor was it listed on the menu, there are no free soda refills. Soda was $3.50 a glass and the waitress was only too happy to keep bringing us sodas. Of course we were shocked when we got the bill and when asked about it, the hostess just shrugged it off because it was "wing night". Better off you go just a short ride up the highway to Ron & Cathy's for plain good food at reasonable prices or the Iron Pig BBQ. We tried both and recommend either of those places.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have to start off by saying that when I read Sherri M's post, I thought it was my own words and it explained everything that I felt about the motor inn. We stayed here based on a recommendation from a friend while we were in town for a concert. We were not dissappointed at all. As we pulled up, the motor inn had very nice curb appeal. As we checked in (front desk staff were super friendly and professional) I happened to ask if there was a way that they could put us and our friends next to each other. They stated that rooms had already been assigned and they they would see what they could do. Well low and behold, our friends from another state were in the room next to us and they didn't need to rearrange anything, yah!!! We walked into the room and were pleasantly surprised, room & bathroom were super clean. Loved the fact that it had a small frig in it. Didn't use the tv, closet, iron or hairdryer so I can't comment on them. The small toiletries were very nice and sufficient as well. The bed was very comfy and I normally don't sleep well in hotels. We made very good use of ice machine, no complaints. Our room faced the gazebo side and the noise volume from passing traffic was very minimal. We will defintiely be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

From the outside, there is really nothing that distinguishes this motel from any other park-in-front-of-your-room motel left over from the 60s, the type of motel that I have always strived to avoid in the past (and there seem to be at least a half-dozen of them on the same road). Although pulling into parking lot I began to have second thoughts, I trusted the reviews from my Tripadvisor colleagues and bravely marched into lobby.

One step through the door and I knew the reviewers on Tripadvisor had steered me well again. Inside the lobby, I could immediately tell that this was no ordinary drive-up motel; the owners and managers clearly take great pride in their establishment and have put great effort into making sure the facility is well-appointed, clean, and comfortable. The lobby area includes a a wonderfully done parlor-ish seating area with huge fireplace and a pool table; it looked like a great place to just hang out (free tea, coffee, and hot cocoa too). It's worth noting that the desk is staffed 24 hours a day.

After checking in (the attendant was very friendly and yet very professional), I was very optimistic about how the room would be, and I was not disappointed. My thought walking through the door was, "This is nice. (Happy sigh.)" The room was every bit as nice as the type of rooms we normally stay in (upper midrange national chains), with all the things I would have expected from that type of room (including hair dryer, ironing board and iron, nice toiletries, and even a small refrigerator) The room and the bathroom were spotless and very well-maintained. Everything about the room was clean and comfortable. I would have happily stayed there a week (but we only needed a place to stay after a concert at the Glens Falls Civic Center before doing the three-hour drive home).

If we're ever in the area again, we'll definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: The motel is shaped like a T with rooms on both sides of each segment. We were in one of the sides...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I won't say anything really negative about Landmark Motor Inn, but I can't say anything terrific about it, either. It's a place to stay. It was relatively clean, though my room had a faint smell of something off (sneakers?), and when I arrived and stripped off the bedspread--something I do immediately in any hotel /motel--I found a number of long, dark hairs caught up in the blanket underneath. Staff were very good about giving me a new blanket, yet didn't seem upset about the hairy one. Staff, in general, were very friendly and responsive to questions / needs.

It's a basic place, apparently mostly occupied by contractors, based on the number of contractors' trucks and vans in the parking lot. Nothing wrong with that--in my hotel experience, that signifies cheap prices more than anything else. The room was good-sized, the bathroom a little cramped. But there was plenty of hot water, and nothing wrong with the standard wood-grained furniture. Would I come back again? Not with my wife, who I know wouldn't stay here. By myself? Sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gathering_No_Moss_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

After staying at the Hilton Garden in Newburgh, the Landmark seemed quite dated from the outside. It certainly had a motel feel to it and perhaps even an old fashioned motor court. But the people were nice, the rooms were comfortable and it cost half as much as the Hilton Garden. I wouldn't have picked it out but my company made the arrangements and I am glad they did. I would choose it over a brand name because it was clean and comfortable and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilliesFan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Landmark is a clean, comfortable, cost-effective motel, conveniently located between Saratoga and Lake George. Great indoor pool, attentive staff and well kept grounds. We will return in the Fall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asohmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Edward
4.4 mi away
Queensbury Hotel
Queensbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Glens Falls
103 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ramada Queensbury/Lake George
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#5 of 11 in Queensbury
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
6.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#4 of 11 in Queensbury
319 reviews
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Motor Inn

Address: 1418 Route 9, Fort Edward, NY 12828-2459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fort Edward
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Edward
Price Range: $87 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Landmark Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread over acres of spacious lawns accented by tall pines and offering deluxe accommodations at affordable prices, Landmark is the ultimate in vacation destinations.Landmark is in a desirable location for quick access to major sports facilities, attractions, shopping malls, restaurants and night spots. A short drive takes vacationers to Saratoga Race Track and Racino, Saratoga Performing Arts Center, Lake George boat cruises, fun parks and historic forts. For winter sports nearby West Mt. and Gore Mt. are major downhill ski areas. Skiers traveling to Killington, Vermont, less than 50 minutes away, will find the Landmark a welcome stopover point. Cross country skiers will love the lighted Glens Falls trails and snowmobilers will appreciate the hundreds of miles of groomed trails in the Warren County System. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Landmark Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Motor Hotel South Glens Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing