We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
311
49
13
17
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
311
49
13
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house fire pit cold cuts other guests get away carriage house beautiful lake row boat pool table hot breakfast heated pool light lunch hiking trail catch and release bethel woods ping pong sullivan county
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 411 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2017

My husband and I loved our stay at Lake Joseph. Every staff member was so accommodating and pleasant. The food is plentiful and good. There are trails to hike and a lovely lake to kayak. We got to feed a deer in the rear yard of the Inn. It was magical.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Thanks so much for your review--we love it when our guests have a magical experience at this great place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017

The room was great, the staff friendly,and the location, the trails, the lake. the boats, the pool, pool table, games so much to do, did not get to do it all in 3 days. It was just the relaxed weekend I needed. Thanks to everyone at the inn, great time. Ivan and his family have thought of everything.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your weekend here at the Inn. Stays here can be resting or active (or a combination of both)--you chose 'active,' and we're happy that you tried it all! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Looking for a quite, charming getaway in the Catskills?
Here ya go.....The Inn at Lake Joseph.
Matt is the main host and he is attentive to all.
We just went up for 2 nights for a little leaf-peeping and R&R and we got it!!!
Secluded, calm and beautifully laid out property.
THE BEST breakfast!! Old World Rustic! Enjoy!

Room tip: Some have fireplaces which we like. check website.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinnerand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thanks for the thumbs-up! We love it when our guests have just the perfect experience that they were looking for. That's what we try for, every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from The Inn at Lake Joseph in the Catskills Mountains. Just wonderful. Rustic, and beautiful. Delicious breakfast daily (made to order), gorgeous property, from bike lane safe, hiking trail, hammocks, fire pit, beautiful lake for lounging, canoeing, boating. So quiet, relaxing and totally ideal for letting go. Went to visit old stomping grounds from sixty years ago...unfortunately, not there anymore.
Did visit Woodstock Museum in Bethel, which is a must. So wonderful to step back in time. All in all, wonderful getaway.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ESTHER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Thanks so much for your review of the Inn. We really enjoy having people here who were regulars in the Catskills Borscht Belt--a memorable place and time. As sad as it may be that the old resorts in the area are gone forever, we're happy that your experience here was a special one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

We were in the US for 2 weeks at the end of May/beginning of June this summer.

Although we had amazing stays in NYC and Miami, this inn was probably the most memorable part of the trip.

The location gives you easy access to hiking trails, and a beautiful lake where we went kayaking (the inn has row boats and kayaks that you're free to borrow). Out on the lake we saw turtles, which we thought was very cool. Several times we saw deer just outside the inn.

Other things we enjoyed were the jacuzzi in the room, the nice breakfast, and the super friendly staff. At breakfast we had nice conversations with the staff and the other guests. In the little kitchen area, there was always access to ice tea and coffee as well as bread, cheese, ham etc so that you could make sandwiches for lunch when needed.

The inn had also just opened up their pool which was a nice touch on the warm days.

Coming over from the UK, we enjoyed seeing this part of America. I recommend going into the nearby town of Monticello where we went to a cute diner on the main street with really nice American comfort food. On one of the days we also drove out to Bethel Woods to visit the Woodstock museum. If you've got time, I'd definitely go there.

Thanks to the innkeepers and the staff who made our stay really memorable. Matt was especially helpful and so nice!

If you're coming in from JFK, this inn is about a 2-2,5 hour drive away and my partner thought it was an easy and pleasant drive (I was in the passenger seat...)

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malmo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Thanks for this kind review--we love hosting guests from 'across the pond.' We're glad you were able to experience a lot of what we have to offer--from wildlife to local attractions. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews