We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
311
49
13
17
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
311
49
13
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house fire pit cold cuts other guests get away carriage house beautiful lake row boat pool table hot breakfast heated pool light lunch hiking trail catch and release bethel woods ping pong sullivan county
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 411 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2017

There is no way to describe the tranquility my husband and myself felt here. It was our first night away from our 6 month old baby and it was everything we could have imagined and more. We were greeted by Michelle who was beyond pleasant and helpful and gave us a run down of the property. The Inn at Lake Joseph thinks of everything for a getaway like no other. Our room had so much charm and our hot tub was lovely! I saw some people complaining about the tub not getting hot. You are in the mountains so obviously you need to run the water for a bit. It was most definitely HOT. The stocked fridge was amazing as we got there at lunch time and helped ourselves to sandwiches. There was also fresh baked goods that my husband definitely enjoyed. We rode bikes, made smores at the fire pit, drank wine on the beautiful front lawn and took a row boat out in the lake. Apparently, it was almost at capacity but you wouldn't know it...it felt like our private camp. Additionally, the other guests we did speak with were all so interesting. In not even 24 hours everyone from the Inn managed to introduce themselves to us which was so lovely. I can't say enough good things about the Inn and we most definitely will be back. So relaxing that 24 hours felt like a week. Thank you!

Room tip: We loved the Cupola room
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

We're so glad you were able to relax while you were here--it sounds as if you were able to make use of most of the amenities we offer. Thanks for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

This was our fourth time back to the Inn. We have always found the folk's here to be friendly and helpful. Their morning breakfast is second to none and what they provide you for lunch can keep you filled beyond supper.

If you like outdoor activity, this is your place. They have their own private lake that you can swim, kayak, row boat and fish(catch and release). They also have a heated pool if you don't care to swim in the lake. Close to the Inn is the Delaware River, with all sorts of water sports, Bashakill winery, Catskill Distillery, Bethel Woods, home of Woodstock 1969, and just all sorts of stuff to see and do.

This trip we stayed in the Inn's Cardinal Room which was very comfortable and pleasant. We sat out on our deck and were treated to a wide variety of wildlife that made its way across the Inn's property.

As we kayaked out on the lake we spied two beautiful Eagles. One on a large branch hanging out over the lake and another taking flight from the wooded shoreline to across the lake. Magnificent!

Hats off, once again, to Michelle, Matt, Ivan, Rue, and the whole staff for making our stay pleasurable and memorable.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sciguywms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thanks for mentioning so many of the wonderful things to do in our area. We love that people use all our amenities here at the Inn, but when you go out around beautiful Sullivan County, that's even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Spent another fabulous stay at this inn, if you want to feel totally at home and comfortable in your surroundings this is the place for you...the rooms are beautiful, clean and well equipped with all you will need. The inn keepers are amazing with a special shout out to Matt who is always willing to give us the best experience possible..a special shout out to Ivan for his stimulating intellectual breakfast conversations...the lake...the pool..the grounds...perfection...can't wait to return for our fourth visit...my home away from home...

Room tip: not saying because my prefer room is amazing...want to keep it a secret
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d0nnany24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thanks! We love sharing this place in the beautiful Catskills with our guests. Come again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Inn was wonderful. Beautiful setting, and very pet friendly. Our yellow Lab Luke loved the place, including the lake and trails. Staff was very attentive. Rooms have all the amenities you need with great internet and satellite TV. Decks have grills for cooking. Breakfast was fantastic. Very idyllic.

Also lots of good restaurants in the area. Piccolo Paese in Liberty is some of the best Northern Italian food you will find. Soy is Monticello is also fun, with excellent food.

Room tip: Eagles' Nest and the Loft are both spacious and nice.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdbartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thanks for letting others know what a great area this is. And we love our furry guests, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

Awful - at a cost of of $300 + per night - the house was dirty and smelly. The room was dark and uninviting with plastic flowers that were full of dust. We could not wait to leave, and did so at the earliest opportunity. There was dust on the blinds and windowsill-which I had to clean. Carpet filthy. No coffee in the morning until after 7:30 am - but we were told we could microwave the coffee from the previous night - unacceptable for a B &B.
There was no point in complaining, as we could tell that the owners obviously think this is okay or do not care.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

We’re sorry these guests didn’t enjoy their stay at the Inn at Lake Joseph. As innkeepers, one of the things we most enjoy about this business is interaction with guests; we live on inquiries, suggestions and constructive comments. In many of the hundreds of reviews that we’ve received, our guests mention that our innkeepers are friendly and very responsive to guests’ needs. If these guests had let us know that they weren’t satisfied, we would have made every effort to correct their situation. Another frequent comment that is made in reviews is that guests find our buildings and rooms attractive, bright and clean. However, we’re in the country, and at this time of the year cobwebs and dust can appear almost instantly after a cleaning. Our housekeepers take pride in their work, and are very careful to try to leave the rooms of the Inn in excellent condition every day; but if there’s anything that doesn’t meet our guests’ expectations, we’re ready to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews