We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Lake Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Lake Joseph
Ranked #1 of 2 Forestburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Loved our stay here. We were in the Tack Room, which is a lower floor room in the carriage house. The room has a two-person bathtub, a king bed with very comfortable sheets, a 2 person shower, an air conditioner and a gas fireplace, as well as sitting chairs, a table and chairs, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We loved that everything was included. It was so nice to walk to the lake to take a kayak out. We went swimming in the pool, hiked the little trail, sat around the bonfire one evening, we sat out and looked at the stars every night. They have bikes and helmets but we didn't go riding. They also have these wonderful hanging canvas chairs all over the place, like a 1 person hammock seat. I think I sat in all of them over the course of our stay.

The food is good. The breakfasts are made to order and while you're at breakfast, housekeeping cleans your room. They had eggs any way you'd like, pancakes one day, french toast another, homemade granola, yogurt, fruit, breads, etc. The snack fridge is stocked with yogurt, cold cuts, cheese, microwavable snacks, salads such as tuna, chicken or macaroni. There's all kinds of bread, a toaster, a fridge with cold water, iced tea and iced coffee, and an ice machine. There were baked treats like banana bread and the most delicious brownies. We loved that we didn't have to leave until dinner. If our deck had had a grill, we would have cooked there and never left! It's pricey but worth it to have no worries about anything. We hope to be able to return next year, and we'll get a room with a grill this time!

Room Tip: Carriage house is quiet. We knew other people were staying there but couldn't hear them at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luindriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    46
    10
    16
    19
See reviews for
36
267
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our third time back to the Inn. We have always found the folk's here to be friendly and helpful. Their morning breakfast is second to none and what they provide you for lunch can keep you filled beyond supper.

If you like outdoor activity, this is your place. They have their own private lake that you can swim, kayak, row boat and fish(catch and release). Close to the Inn is the Delaware River, with all sorts of water sports, Bashakill winery, Catskill Distillery, Bethel Woods, home of Woodstock 1969, and just all sorts of stuff to see and do.

Hats off to Michelle, Matt, Ivan, Rue, and the whole staff for making our stay, once again, pleasurable and memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Inn itself this time around. Our room, Kingfisher, was delightful and had its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sciguywms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Some years have passed since our first visit to the inn-and this time we brought our dog. The inn remains one of my favorite weekend getaways and if you are visiting the lower Catskills it is in a class by itself. Love the fact that you can bring your dog and hike on the inn's trails off leash.

The rooms in the carriage house are roomy and gracious with both a gas fireplace and an outdoor grill. We used both and enjoyed sitting on our patio just listening to the birds and enjoying the quiet.

Off course there is a swimming pool, a lake with canoes etc-very private. Great breakfasts, attentive staff-all of which make the Inn a special place.

Recommended highly (again)

Room Tip: Love the rooms in the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tituspaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Inn at Lake Joseph is wonderful! We stayed in the carriage/cottage house and our room was spacious, very comfortable and immaculate. The staff is all just perfect. Ivan, Matt and Michelle could not have been nicer or more accommodating. It was our first visit to the area so we had a lot of questions and everyone was so helpful. Thank you for a wonderful time! We will be back soon! We would not hesitate to recommend the Inn to anyone. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely historic property (formerly a Cardinal's retreat) in an idyllic setting that has been nicely restored and upgraded without eliminating the original character and charm. The resident owners are a New York couple who cater to their guests with enthusiasm and attention to detail. This is not a place to cheap out but the value is there with complimentary meals, snacks and resort amenities including bicycles, billiards and water craft on the abutting lake. Ask for the cottage rooms. They are oversized with decks, private BBQs, kitchens and fireplaces. This is our third visit. What a great place!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAshler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We spent a long weekend at the inn and it was absolute perfection. The room was cozy and very clean. The only thing that would have made it better would have been curtains we could have closed over the blinds since they didn't keep much light out come morning. The inn itself was welcoming and comfortable. Everyone was super nice. The grounds were beautiful and we loved how easy it was to go from one activity to the next. The lake is peaceful and getting out on a rowboat or kayak was as easy as just walking over to the lake. Breakfasts were easy and delicious. We couldn't have been more relaxed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessfNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I needed a getaway but wanted someplace close to home as we didn't want to travel far; we live in Ulster County so Sullivan County was the perfect choice. We made a great decision to book our stay at Inn at Lake Joseph. The hospitality from start to finish was wonderful. We were greeted by Michelle and later on met Matt and the owners Ivan and Rue. All staff members were lovely and we felt right at home. Our room, the Kingfisher was great - - fireplace, hot tub, large bathroom, king size bed and private sundeck.... We had comfortable and sound night's sleep!

Breakfast each day was delicious ... and filling! There is such an array to choose from, from hot to cold! Also, the self-serve lunch was perfect; an assortment of lunch meats and salads -- a light lunch to help hold you over 'til dinner.

We enjoyed the outdoor heated pool and relaxed pool-side often! We also took a walk to the lake (about a 3-minute walk) and enjoyed some time on the lake on a rowboat.

It was a wonderful get-away and we're looking forward to going back next Spring!

Room Tip: We stayed at Kingfisher (has a private sundeck)!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflowre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestburgh
6.8 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
17.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monticello
BEST WESTERN Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
12.2 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
18.1 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lake Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lake Joseph

Property: Inn at Lake Joseph
Address: 162 St Josephs Rd, Forestburgh, NY 12777-6230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Forestburgh
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forestburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Lake Joseph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, with working fireplaces, whirlpool baths and private sundecks, is located in Upstate New York on a 250-acre private lake. Like resort lodging, Inn at Lake Joseph provides a variety of summer and winter recreational facilities, including access to a health and fitness spa. But unlike larger hotels, with just 18 guestrooms, a luxurious, yet informal, casual country retreat that assures guests a relaxing, private, rustic mountain lake environment awaits. Very much like the Berkshires, White Mountains, Adirondacks and Poconos, the Catskills surrounding the Inn offer spectacular scenes of lakes and rivers, as well as hiking trails with views of majestic peaks and isolated waterfalls. However, unlike these other regions, The Inn is no more than 2 hours from New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Lake Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lake Joseph Hotel Forestburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing