We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I could not recommend The Inn at Lake Joseph more highly.”
Review of Inn at Lake Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Lake Joseph
Ranked #1 of 2 Forestburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I could not recommend The Inn at Lake Joseph more highly.”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

A most pleasant stay with a great staff, hosts and activities, grounds and rooms.
I could not recommend it more highly. Our first stay was Memorial Day Weekend this year and we hope to return to enjoy the fall foliage in a few more months.

The outdoor activities on the grounds include light hiking, biking, a nice swimming pool, boating, kayaking and fishing. Lawn furniture and hammocks under shade trees are always tempting and supplied us with idyllic afternoons.

The Breakfast was hearty, comfortable and well prepared while the kitchen was always well stocked with salads, cold cuts, fruit, sweets and drinks for afternoon or evening cravings.

Room Tip: I enjoyed two stays in Cupola but have not tried any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisEbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    46
    11
    16
    20
See reviews for
36
269
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We needed to get away and reconnect. This was the first time we've been away alone since our son was born...15 years ago. The Inn at Lake Joseph far exceeded our expectations. The staff was super nice and very helpful. The rooms were beautiful and well kept. The amenities in the room, in the main house and on the property were amazing. We wished we had planned to stay longer. We can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: use their web site to pick the room you like best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahz109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We decided to stay here on the advice of friends... it amazing. It's a gorgeous location in Sullivan County. The "Chestnut" room was spacious and beyond comfortable. I had the best nights of sleep I've had in YEARS.

We rowed around Lake Joseph and explored the shoreline -- it's one of the most serene places I've ever been. We actually took a bit of a snooze in the boat. It was "just what the Dr. ordered", so to speak...

Ivan and Rue were super nice and had some pretty interesting stories about the history of the Inn and the property around the lake. Oh, and they make a helluva breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We loved every minute at this fabulous inn. We took advantage of all the included amenities: biking, kayaking, the fire pit, the pool, hammocks, hiking. All were in great condition in a spectacular environment. The pictures on the website don't do this place justice - it is pristine, warm and relaxing.
We stayed in the Sandpiper room. The linens were divine and the room was more than adequate for us. If you are going in the winter or during rainy weather, though, you may want to spring for a bigger and more luxe room. It was good for the summertime when we spent most of our time in the beautiful outdoor spaces.
The food was excellent as well - an expansive breakfast and MORE than enough for your "help yourself" lunch. Really good dinner options are lacking in the area, but that is no fault of the inn.
We will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooner28NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This place is amazing...every room is different and has a very welcoming feeling. I sat on the porch and listened to the birds and the complete silence at times. This for me was a good escape from the loud city noices and busy lifestyle. Even though I was working, I found the place a perfect environment to think and focus on my writing. The weather was not warm enough to swim so I plan on returning. The pool was clean and sparkling. Breakfast was a wonderful experience as Ivan chatted with me about the history of the Inn. I had a hard time selecting from the menu, since it was filled with so many delicious items. Sitting by the lake, I realized this place could be in my future for a very long time. Thanks Ru and Ivan --you have now made me realize I need to take more breaks from the city.

Room Tip: fireplace --and outstanding heat
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SJP4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We took the 3 hour trip up from philadelphia for a relaxing weekend and had a great time. We stayed in the chestnut room in the cottage house which was very nice and as advertised on the website. Working gas fireplace, very comfortable bed, and a relaxing Jacuzzi bath. Breakfast was great and served every am in the manor house, which was also a great place to hang out, play pool, get snacks, etc. The best part of the whole trip is that we were able to bring our dogs, and take them on long walks in the woods and around the lake without any cars in sight. Not much to do outside of the inn, but if you're looking for a place to relax, especially if you want to bring your dogs, this is it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeAaron21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My husband and I needed a weekend getaway out of the city -- and so did our Cavalier King Charles Spaniel :-) We searched for dog friendly hotels, found Inn on Lake Joseph and checked the ratings on Trip Advisor - which were great for the most part. We looked at their website and felt that our dog would be welcomed as much as we were. There were many different room options - we chose the Tack Room. As soon as we arrived and checked into the big, beautiful Inn, we knew we had chosen wisely. We were given a map of the property, restaurant options, area information and cut cover for the bedspread (with dogs all over it) so our dog could sleep on the bed.
The room was very cozy and a nice size. We loved the fireplace and used it as much as possible. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. I understand they tried to make you as comfortable as possible with the Sleep Number bed, but we did not find them comfortable. We adjusted to all different numbers - it just wasn't for us. There was a small refrigerator and coffee maker. Really, everything to make you comfortable.
We enjoyed the property,though we had to pay a rental fee (similar to a resort fee) which said it was for rentals and tips. There was nothing to rent at this time of year - no snow, so no snow shoes and too cold for bikes or kayaks, etc. We felt the rooms were pretty expensive, but were happy with the overall experience and therefore, felt it was mostly worth it. The lake was a short walk through the woods. Our dog loved it!
The breakfast was delicious and the staff very friendly. They always had snacks available - red velvet cupcakes, cookies, brownies, etc. Yummy!
There were no keys to get in the doors, but you entered a code - kind of like a locker. It worked well most of the time and you didn't have to worry about losing your key. We thought the doors/locks were kind of flimsy, but that might just be because we live in the city.
When we checked out, we were given home made muffins for our dog. We would go back to the Inn on Lake Joseph and highly recommend it for people who want to get out of the city expecially if you have a dog.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandJ1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestburgh
6.8 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
17.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
12.2 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
18.1 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lake Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lake Joseph

Property: Inn at Lake Joseph
Address: 162 St Josephs Rd, Forestburgh, NY 12777-6230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Forestburgh
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forestburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Lake Joseph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, with working fireplaces, whirlpool baths and private sundecks, is located in Upstate New York on a 250-acre private lake. Like resort lodging, Inn at Lake Joseph provides a variety of summer and winter recreational facilities, including access to a health and fitness spa. But unlike larger hotels, with just 18 guestrooms, a luxurious, yet informal, casual country retreat that assures guests a relaxing, private, rustic mountain lake environment awaits. Very much like the Berkshires, White Mountains, Adirondacks and Poconos, the Catskills surrounding the Inn offer spectacular scenes of lakes and rivers, as well as hiking trails with views of majestic peaks and isolated waterfalls. However, unlike these other regions, The Inn is no more than 2 hours from New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Lake Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lake Joseph Hotel Forestburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing