We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the toilet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Flushing
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware the toilet!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Room was ok, service ok, food ok. Used toilet at midnight, worst experience ever! It overflowed and whole bathroom floor was covered in 2 inches of water. Had maintenance cleaning and fixing, not a good time, especially when told it happened the other day! Staff who assisted were great though. Close to Main Street train station and quick to Manhattan.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Savvytraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_GM72, General Manager at Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Savvytraveller1978,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had a challenge with the bathroom facilities in your room during your stay. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. I have forwarded this information onto my engineering team who will incorporate it in their review of their preventative maintenance program. I am, however, please to hear that the staff was responsive.

I hope we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.

With Warm Regards,

Ed S.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    132
    64
    23
    12
See reviews for
67
54
43
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel was a nice stay. This was my first time staying outside of the city, but the location was fantastic. It's 1 block to the nearest subway. The staff was very friendly and very attentive to our needs. The rooms were clean and very spacious. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shameka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_GM72, General Manager at Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Shameka M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our property, location and that your interactions with our team were positive. It is great to hear that you would definitely stay here again and we look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.

With Warm regards,

Ed S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
241 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was just weird. I was looking for a LaGuardia airport location and this bills itself as "LaGuardia East" and since it's a Sheraton/Starwood I took it. But it's nothing like what you'd expect. First - it's like 5 miles away from the airport - so that shouldn't be billed as an airport location. Then you get off the shuttle and you are transported to this Asian-land. Literally everything around it is Asian - the restaurants, the shops, the people. I felt like a foreigner. The hotel itself is in the middle of an Asian marketplace - continuing the weird; the room was fine and the Starwood lounge comfortable. But the "weird" overshadows and I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truthbetold_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_GM72, General Manager at Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Truthbetold_10,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. While I am pleased that you found the accommodations fine and the lounge comfortable, it is unfortunate you did not feel the same for our surrounding neighborhood. I can, though, appreciate and respect that not everyone’s preferences are the same.

While it is disappointing to hear that you would not stay here again my hopes are that you would still consider stay at one of our many other properties in the Starwood Brand.

With Warm Regards,

Ed S
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
308 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel property takes you in a sort of a Chinatown. In my opinion this property should not be a starwood. The service is lacking, the hotel is not clean, the location is dubious, spg recognition is non-existent. It is like an Asian bazaar.
It is not too far from the airport (3 miles), but it is not a real airport property. A positive is the shuttle to LaGuardia airport. I will probably never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonicTravelAmeniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_GM72, General Manager at Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear ToniCTravelAmeniti,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. All feedback, both positive and not so positive, is welcomed. We share and review this feedback as part of our ongoing effort to improve our services.

With Warm Regards,

Ed S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,AB
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked the hotel as it seemed close to the Red Hook Cruise Port in Brooklyn. Upon arrival in LaGuardia, we phoned the hotel and they immediately sent their shuttle to pick us up. When we first pulled up to the hotel, we were a little taken aback by the location - right in the heart of Chinatown! But the staff were very welcoming, helped us book a car for the next day's trip to the cruiseport and upgraded our room because of our Loyalty card. The room was large, quiet and I really liked the chaise lounge chair in the room. We did go out and walk around the area as we had been assured it was a very safe and we did feel comfortable. There was a nearby mall (with a Macy's!) and lots of places to eat.
If we were to sail out of Brooklyn again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchtravellers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_GM72, General Manager at Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Frenchtravellers77,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments. It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves during their travels. To hear that you would definitely stay here again is simply the icing on the cake.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Warm Regards,

Ed S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night for a Wedding in the area. Very nice and friendly staff. Location wise is excellent..near many cheap local chinese food locations. Overall would stay again. Only drawback was had to stop by with credit card info before the stay ..maybe because we booked multiple rooms..but still an inconvenience as already previously faxed info and was not too happy about sending sensitive info this way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlushingJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_GM72, General Manager at Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear FlushingJoe,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services and our location. With regards to having to fax in your credit card details I can appreciate your concern. It is not our normal policy to accept that information via fax and I am addressing our team to assure that we do not deviate from protocol which is to only accept credit card payment/details in advance through a secured website link. I appreciate you brining this to my attention.

I look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

With Warm Regards,

Ed S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I like this hotel. It is conveniently located in downtown Flushing - the back door (open until 10 PM) is steps away from the 7 Train Main Street Station. It is a good value if you want to escape the high prices of Manhattan, want to explore a different part of NYC and don't mind the distance to Manhattan.

The staff is efficient. The free shuttle to/from LGA runs efficiently.

The area is diverse - most of the businesses cater to the Chinese (China, Taiwan, Hong Kong) population in the area. Lots of Chinese restaurants and supermarkets around. It is essentially one of NYC's Chinatowns. Hotel has lots of Chinese speaking staff and provides Chinese TV and newspaper.

The room is nice sized and in good shape.

The hotel lets SPG Gold members use the executive lounge. The morning and evening offerings are OK. The lounge is due to renovated in November as I was told to have new furniture and better layout. The lounge side (even numbered rooms) have views of the planes taking off/landing at LaGuardia and the bridges (Triborough, Whitestone and Throgsneck). The staff at the lounge are not very consistent - some are super friendly but others don't see so much.

The hallways were renovaated this year.

My biggest problem with this hotel is the noise from the hallways. It is a small hotel and the elevator is not indented. So, not only you hear the elevator Dings a lot, you also hear other guests talking / laughing in the hallways and the doors slamming well into the night. Amazingly, outside noise - even planes taking off/landing at near-by LaGuardia, is not an issue.

Green Features: Room has recycle bin and partipates in SPG Green Choice!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Want2GoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_GM72, General Manager at Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Want2GoHome,

It is a nice feeling to read a review that starts with “I like this hotel”. I appreciate all of your feedback and that you took the time to post it on TripAdvisor, Thank You. Our team is diligently looking into your comments regarding the doors slamming and I have reached out to our elevator contractor to see if there is any way to reduce the audible “dings” from the elevators.

I am glad that you noticed the improvements we are making to the property and will continue to make as we strive to provide the best of product, service and value.

I look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

With Warm Regards,

Ed S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flushing hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Flushing/LaGuardia Airport
0.2 mi away
The Parc Hotel
The Parc Hotel
#5 of 18 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 18 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Queens Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The One Boutique Hotel
The One Boutique Hotel
#11 of 18 in Flushing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marco LaGuardia Hotel by Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel

Property: Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel
Address: 13520 39th Ave, Flushing, NY 11354-4450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Flushing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Flushing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the beautiful Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel. Located in Chinatown, Queens, our hotel is just 3 miles away from the LaGuardia airport, accessible by our complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Flushing
Flushing Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing