We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facilities!”

USTA National Tennis Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$599.00*
and up
6-Hour Brooklyn Queens Bronx Tour with Driver-Guide
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Flushing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once known as the U.S. National Championships, the US Open originated as a single men’s tournament held solely for entertainment purposes back in 1881. Not long after, women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles and mixed doubles also became a part of the growing annual tradition.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful facilities!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Much improved from the old tennis center of years ago. Really quite nice! Wonderful for families too...nice way to spend a day.

Helpful?
2 Thank Robbyleerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    87
    16
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A day to remember”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a fantastic day at Flushing Meadow. We were lucky enough to see a pro-am match before the main events. Great facilities, great seats, great tennis. If you enjoy going to Wimbledon give this a try!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So fun!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The employees of this tennis center are very nice and my friends and I shared several conversations with staff interested in where we were from and if we had attended the event in the past. Unfortunately, when there was an emergency, inclement weather (i.e. tornadoes) at the US Open, the communications were all over the map. For as many radios as there are in the center, one might think the staff would be better informed. As my friends and I rushed from door to door in the pouring rain and several employees telling us that we couldn't stay in any particular spot for security reasons, the same staff had no idea that the stadium was being evacuated due to tornadoes. Additionally, each staff member directed us to a different location. It was quite confusing. A structured plan should be put in place for future events such as these and communicated to everyone to keep the attendees safe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“LOVE this place.....even took the kids this time”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Went to the US Open twice this year. First week, had tickets in top section (300s) in Arthur Ashe. Not so good, as they do not control foot traffic up there. and you are forever peering around some guy with a burger and a beer to try to catch some tennis. Second week, got general admission tickets with the kids. Arrived early (10.15ish), got seats two rows from the front in the Grandstand, and just camped out there. Saw great doubles, kids got autographs. All good. This is the way to do it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
272 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Must-do for any tennis fan”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It goes almost without saying that attending one of the 4 tennis "majors" is a dream come true. We have been fortunate to have watched tennis at the Billy Jean King National Tennis Center before and made it back to experience the energetic ambiance of the US Open once again. We have also been privileged to have been to Wimbledon. The contrast between the two venues is quite striking especially in the main stadiums. The British audience is a little more restrained, especially in contrast to the often raucous crowd during the night matches in Arthur Ashe. Day matches at the US Open, however, have their share of audience participation as we experienced during Andy Roddick's match against Italian Fabio Fognini. The crowd really got into it, cheering Roddick on when he'd fall behind and roaring with joy when he won a hard-fought point or nailed a game and set. There are no night matches at Wimbledon although Center Court has a roof and lighting that allows matchplay until 11PM. While Wimbledon evokes the hallowed halls of tennis with the grass courts, brick and ivy, and the sense of decorum and restraint, the US Open is a more frenetic, live-wire experience.

We'd drive in so I cannot comment on taking the #7 train or LIRR to get to the tennis center. The security is fairly strict about the bags you bring in. No backpacks allowed. There were no pat-downs or metal detector screening but bags were inspected. A trailer nearby would take rejected bags that had to be "checked in." Bring sunblock, a hat for shading your face, comfortable shoes for the all the walking you'll end up doing, Dress comfortably; unlike Wimbledon I did not feel that I had to dress for the occasion. Keep an eye on the weather forecast and bring a water resistant or waterproof jacket especially for night matches when the breeze or wind can make for chilly watching. Bring lots of money or your credit card for the fairly expensive food and drinks as well as souvenirs. Bring a camera with a good zoom to get close up shots of the players especially if you're in the upper level seats of the main stadiums.

When to go and what tickets to buy? The cheapest tickets are grounds passes which get you to all courts except Arthur Ashe and Louis Armstrong stadiums. In the first week this may not matter as much because even though the top-tier players may be scheduled on the 2 main courts their opponents in the first rounds tend to be low-ranked and the matches correspondingly less interesting. It may not be worth spending lots of money on these courts. Having Arthur Ashe / Louis Armstrong tickets naturally allows you full access to the grounds so you can leave these stadiums to explore the action on the other courts.

The better matches in the first week, from purely the quality standpoint (as opposed to pure star quality of the pros), are on the other courts between the mid- and upper-tier players. Furthermore these are smaller and more intimate courts so you can be closer to the action (as opposed to the nose-bleed sections in Arthur Ashe) You will also see a lot more pros out on the practice courts in the first week. if you like to take close up photos of your favorite players the first week gives you the best chance to do so. Note that the tournament tends to schedule the top American players on the main 2 courts sometimes in spite of their possibly having a relatively low ranking.

From the first weekend onward I think it is worth investing in the main courts. Realize that if you buy Mens' Finals tickets you should be ready for a delay of the match from the traditional Sunday finals to Monday and make travel and lodging arrangements accordingly. This was the 5th consecutive year that the finals were postponed to Monday due to inclement weather. Inclement is too mild a description; tornadoes hit Queens this year. If the finals actually do take place on Sunday then you have an extra day to enjoy New York which is not a bad thing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ImmerWandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USTA National Tennis Center also viewed

 

Been to USTA National Tennis Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing