We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and great design. ( Roof Garden)”

Queens Botanical Garden
Ranked #7 of 32 things to do in Flushing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Queens Botanical Garden is a 39-acre urban oasis where people, plants and cultures meet. Visit our delightful gardens that include a Fragrance Walk, Cherry Circle, Woodland & Wetland Garden, Herb Garden, Floral Border, Perennial Beds, a sustainably-managed Rose Garden, and a stunning Wedding Garden. QBG offers innovative environmental education programs for schoolchildren, plus workshops for children, adults and the whole family where you can learn about composting, tree care, nature photography, bird watching, gardening and even glass painting. Join us for one of our seasonal festivals – Arbor Fest in Spring, Summer Solstice Celebration in June, Harvest Fest in October, and Winter Solstice & Holiday Market in December! QBG is easily accessible via public transportation – the 7 train to Main Street/Flushing as well as the Q44 and Q20 buses. Our innovative Parking Garden is open April through October (parking fee applies).
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing and great design. ( Roof Garden)”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A must for the traveler, if you go here you will find the biggest chinese- corean community in New York City. and the best kept secret garden in the city. Every morning (8-10) taichi qigong sessions open to the public. With 4 dollars regular entrance or 2 dolars seniors/students you will have a different and interesting experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCarriedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    16
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Don't expect much”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I'd read in the AIA Guide that the Queens Botantical Gardens are "just as magical" as those in the Brooklyn and the Bronx. They're not. Instead, they are much smaller, more crowded, and not as well maintained. The main building has a very limited gift shop with some run-of-the-mill seeds, as well as honey, books, and other small items. No café, though there are lots of restaurants just outside the gates of the gardens. I was there with a friend and we wandered into the "wedding garden" with about three dozen other visitors to the gardens. It's the best maintained part of the gardens, but before long a groundskeeper was shouting at all of us to "get out, get out, people pay to be in here!" Clearly there is some additional charge beyond the $3 to use the gardens. All that said, the price is right--just $3 for some nice-enough gardens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohninBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
209 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've seen so many botanical gardens but this one is not worth of visit. Looks like a public park rather than a botanic garden. You won't find here restaurant or bar (vending machines only). And constant noise of the planes (there is the La Guardia airport nearby).
I recommend you to see rather Brooklyn Botanic Garden or New York Botanic Garden.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aragorn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome fun for the family!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Loved the toy train exhibit. Wonderful crafts and very informative glass greenhouse. Love the tram rides and the kids science center for hands-on activities.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensBotanical, Public Relations Manager at Queens Botanical Garden, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review, but we believe you might be referring to our neighbor in the Bronx. Indeed, they have wonderful exhibits -- Queens Botanical Garden is also a great place to visit and we hope you'll come see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We joined as a family, last year and have visited regularly. They always have themed exhibits, especially around the holidays. Be sure to take the tram ride, which has live narration. That way you can get a quick overview of the grounds. The gift shop and the restaurant are quite good, as well!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FiOS-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensBotanical, Public Relations Manager at Queens Botanical Garden, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review, but we believe you might be referring to our neighbor in the Bronx. Indeed, they have wonderful exhibits -- Queens Botanical Garden is also a great place to visit and we hope you'll come see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Botanical Garden also viewed

 
 

Been to Queens Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing