We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Seed Blooms"”

Queens Botanical Garden
Ranked #7 of 33 things to do in Flushing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Queens Botanical Garden evolved from the 5-acre “Gardens on Parade” exhibit showcased at the 1939–1940 World’s Fair. Officially opening as “The Queens Botanical Garden Society” in 1946 after local residents saved and expanded the original exhibit, the Garden remained at the original World’s Fair site until 1961, when it was moved to its current location on Main Street in Flushing. Among the original plantings taken from the 1939 site are two blue atlas cedars that frame the iconic tree gate sculpture at the Garden’s Main Street entrance today. QBG has become a 39-acre oasis in one of New York City’s most bustling and diverse neighborhoods and is unlike any other botanical garden in the world.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A great trip for classes,families, flower lovers, and anyone who likes to smell the roses. You walk around and see the "Glory of His Creation". It is awesome. Every kind of flower is displayed in this exquisite place. Many weddings photos are taken here. Classes can study horticulture here by observation . Great place to sit and relax. You will love the lovely scent of the flowers. People with allergies take precaution. Excellent place.

Thank adeianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensBotanical, Public Relations Manager at Queens Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent an entire morning there just wandering around the Individual gardens and enjoying the serene atmosphere. It is not a severely manicured garden, but a more natural setting for all of the plantings. From all of the tributes from residents it is evident that it is loved by the people of Flushing.
They have clean restrooms on the premises.
We were told that we go to Corona Park by crossing the bridge between the two but the bridge was closed. We were quite disappointed because it is quite a long walk by the side streets.
It is very easy to get there by bus from the Flushing-Queens station. Well worth the visit.

Thank crafterincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensBotanical, Public Relations Manager at Queens Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience and your terrific photos! So pleased that you enjoyed QBG and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The only problem here is they now charge for what should be free. but it is a nice relaxing place.perfect for reading the want ads in am with a cup of java . Also a short walk to subway.

Thank mook53lhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensBotanical, Public Relations Manager at Queens Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to QBG! Like many other city cultural institutions, we must charge a nominal admission due to funding reductions (and so that we can continue to maintain our gardens). We do offer free hours on Wednesdays (3 to 6pm) and Sundays (4 to 6pm). Also, we do not charge admission from November 1 through March 31. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Spring is the best time to visit this beautiful gem in the middle of Flushing. Parking is easy, and you can see the entire garden in just a couple of hours. It's less glitzy than the Bronx version of NYBG, and seems somehow more authentic.

1  Thank Doxibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensBotanical, Public Relations Manager at Queens Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We're so happy you enjoyed your time at QBG! Visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Loved it, it was unique and had a variety of flowers and all. It made by business trip a little more peaceful, and i enjoyed it alot.

1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensBotanical, Public Relations Manager at Queens Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to QBG! Indeed, the landscape is so peaceful and that's why we call ourselves a 39-acre urban oasis. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Botanical Garden also viewed

 
 

Been to Queens Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing