We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value accommodation, good train links to Times Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flushing YMCA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Flushing YMCA
UK
Level Contributor
201 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great value accommodation, good train links to Times Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Booked in for two nights at this YMCA in Flushing and it was just right. Good private, double room with shared bathroom facilities. Spotlessly clean accommodation provided by very good and friendly housekeeping staff and a great on-site cafe. Good, frequent No 7 train direct into Times Square taking around 30-40 mins. Coming out of the station on Main Street, Flushing - walk down Main Street away from the overhead rail bridge and when you get to Northern Boulevard take Right, past the Quaker Meeting House (Large Notice is on the Right) and the YMCA is lit up directly ahead on that right hand side of the road. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 330 and there was no noise at all. Room has tv, small fridge and a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GappyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    24
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
3
15
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Pro:
- lowest price private room you can get in a relatively safe area.

Con:
- only three shower room, but about 50 rooms a floor.
- not clean. So after the maintenance guy accidentally split food on my sheet I didn't even care.
- tv not working. Asked for help twice before someone came to help.
- the guy brought in another tv, which worked for only 20 min. I decide not to bother again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerjerseyhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

I had to stay there for the new years because I couldn’t find a cheaper one that was closer to the subway. Honestly, It was the worst staying experience I had. I don’t know where to start. First of all, it is not a hotel, it is a hostel. I booked it knowing that it was a hostel. The rooms do not have a bathroom. There are 2 restrooms 1 for gentlemen and 1 for ladies on each floor. In the restrooms there are 2 disgusting toilets and 2 beyond disgusting showers. My wife said that ladies room was at least acceptable comparing to mens. The name of the hostel is flushing but its toilets are not flushing at all. The rooms were filthy and as small as possible. There was a 5 inch tv in the room. The blankets were so smelly that I just hid it in the wardrobe. We slept covering the sheets on us. The second floor is a pool and the third floor is gym and also they are playing basketball in the second floor. The rooms start from the 3rd floor. You cannot imagine the smell of the corridors and the hotel. There was no breakfast and I would not eat anything even they had. The location is called Flushing and it is 15 min walk to the subway. It is the last station of the 7th line.
They have parking and it was written free parking but they wanted to take 5 dollars for a day. I rejected and told them that in the site that I booked the hotel it was written free parking. So they did not charge me for it. And free internet is not in the rooms you need to go down with your notebook to use internet. Luckily 2 days later I booked another hotel and got the hell out of there.
Would I stay in this hotel again? If there were no rooms available in any other hotels in New York and if they don’t let me to sleep in the subway or under Brooklyn Bridge, I might stay there.
Stay away from Flushing YMCA. Don’t flush your money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baknedicem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flushing hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We couldn't find a good and cheap hotel in NY for a while.When entered YMCA official website we finally decided to book a double room in Flushing (price on that site is much lower than on the others). The hostel was located in very interesting and safe area filled with great Korean/Chinese restaurants. It took 30 mins. to get to Manhattan (purple line 7 goes 24/7). Our room was quite big. We had lot's of channels on tv. Staff at reception was very nice:)We could use swimming pool, basketball court, sauna (we just couldn't find time for that).Room service every day. All together-nice place to stay if you are travelling on budget.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadziulaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed at the YMCA in Flushing for two nights Fri-Sun. My room was on the third floor above the basketball court which was somewhat of a downside since you can hear the balls bouncing in the morning, If I stay again I would have to be on the fourth or fifth floor. Room was clean, no bugs, just smelled a little strange but room had an air conditioner which helped. Front desk staff was fantastic and super friendly, they do have storage to place your items after checkout in case you don't want to haul it while you are out. They do have internet but it only works on the 1st floor I did not use it during my stay so I don't know how good service was. They also have a cafe with coffee and snacks on the 1st floor-Cash only. Easy access to Manhattan 40 min or so. Overall perfect for a cheap place to stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

It a pretty cheap hotel situated in ChinaTown-Queens. Rooms have a TV and a refrigerator. The only inconvinient is that there is only onre restroom per each level. You can get very easy there...using the 7th line(purple) of metro. From Grand Central it will take exactly 30 minutes by metro. ChinaTown is very quiet and those chinese are very funny and friendly...but if u want to ask something u might have the surprise to get an answer in chinese :) Enjoy!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dentalban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

I give it a 3-star rating because it is a hostel, so it's not going to be "great." Having said that, for hostel accomodations, we were very happy with it. It's about a 30-40 minute subway ride from Grand Central/Times Square, with a 5 minute walk to the subway station; however, if you plan to spend the entire day in Manhattan and just come back to sleep, then I think it's reasonable. Hotels in Manhattan in December are expensive and book up quickly.

Flushing itself is an interesting, multicultural area. Tons of Asian restaurants and businesses. We felt safe walking in the area, even late in the evening after returning from Manhattan. The subway felt safe too.

The room was basic with a t.v., fridge, closet. We had two twin beds. Bathrooms are shared, but separate mens/womens. You are given a key at reception to access them, though the door to the mens bathroom on our floor didn't close properly. Security at the YMCA felt good too; there was always someone at reception to let you into the building. The cleaners came every morning to clean rooms.

Probably our favourite feature was the free parking. We drove to NYC and were initially concerned about where to leave our car since we were going to use the subway to get around.

  • Liked — Free Parking
  • Disliked — Distance to Manhattan (but worth it for us)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank bbleho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flushing hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#6 of 17 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
The One Boutique Hotel
The One Boutique Hotel
#10 of 17 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Flushing/LaGuardia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Flushing
Howard Johnson Flushing
#8 of 17 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parc Hotel
The Parc Hotel
#5 of 17 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Flushing Queens
Ramada Flushing Queens
#12 of 17 in Flushing
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flushing YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flushing YMCA

Property: The Flushing YMCA
Address: 13846 Northern Blvd, Flushing, NY 11354-3406
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Flushing
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Flushing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Flushing YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Budget Places, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Flushing YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flushing Ymca Hotel Flushing
Ymca Flushing
Ymca New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing