We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Around since the NY Worlds Fair”
Review of Queens Zoo

Queens Zoo
Ranked #4 of 32 things to do in Flushing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Animals from North and South America. Eagles, bison, sea lions, pumas, Andean bears, alligators and more. Plus the largest petting area in the tri-state area!
Bronx, New York
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Around since the NY Worlds Fair”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My how the zoo has changed . It was part of the NY Worlds Fair when I was a little kid in 1964-65 and first went there . After the Fair closed down the park got to keep the zoo and a few other permanent structures . For years everything was free including entry to the zoo . Changes did not come until they started charging entry fees . The zoo had been in danger of closing many times over the years and thankfully it did not . We have never had a bad time . They have a petting zoo/farm right across from the entrance you can visit with your paid entrance afterwards .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    81
    20
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and chaos free way to spend an hour or 2 with kids”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming here for years- my favorite thing to do in queens! Great value for the money and admission fees include petting/farm zoo across the path. My kids (4 and 19 months) LOVE the petting zoo most of all. The rest of the zoo is great for parents as it is never crowded and a very nice, simple layout and walk- not strenuous. I usually make 2 leisurely loops around in about a 2 hour time period or less. This gives us time to see all the animals and revisit our favorites. Highlights include the aviary, puma, bear, coyotes and my favorite- the sea lions! Don't forget to bring quarters to buy food to feed the farm animals- always a blast. Combine this with a picnic lunch, walk in the park and a few rides at the carousel- mini amusement park nearby and you have a full day of fun. Or just make a quick stop here with the little ones when you need to get them out of the house for a few hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krbfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lots to do at the Zoo”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Grand-kids especially love the Petting Farm area, where we spend most of our frequent visits. Also, the alligators, birds, and sea lions, especially at Feeding time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo_Queens_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have lived in New York for my entire life and today was my first visit to the Queens Zoo. If you are looking for a huge place with lots of gift shops this is not the place for you. But if you have 1.5 to 2 hours and don't want to spend a lot of money this is the place. It took us a little over an hour to tour the entire zoo and that was walking with a walker. The zoo basically goes around in a circle with a lot of places to view the animals. I guess the down side to this zoo (if there really is one), is that there isn't a gift shop--there is however, a gift vending machine. All, the souvenir penny machine wasn't working when we were their. But other than that--Great Place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rotnkid_1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stiil a nice place to take the family when you've run out of ideas”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The entrance fee hasn't changed much and it's still a nice outing to take the whole family. They have the bird sanctuary which is truly awesome since you get to see many different birds (even rare ones) up close and personal. They have bathrooms along the route as well as benches to take a rest. They also have a little cafeteria style café where you can buy snacks and refreshments. The pumas and coyotes never get old because they are so cool looking and seem to greet the visitors (behind the glass) upon arrival. The large trees seem to cover you and provide shade as your walking the trail. When you're done, you can hang out by the carousel or sit on the grass or benches and have a cold drink or ice cream.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank richmondhillmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Zoo also viewed

 
 

Been to Queens Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing