We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a Challenging Stay”
Review of Super Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super Lake Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Flushing
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The good news is: This is about the cheapest advertised price brand name hotel that you can find in the area via web aggregators. It is in a safe neighborhood with lots of cheap good Asian food nearby. It is four short blocks from the end of the number 7 train which goes to Times Square. The desk staff is gracious. This is a new building and the rooms are very clean. As a result, this property is free from the bedbug epidemic in older, more central properties. The neighborhood is quiet and safe and many opportunities for cheap massage are nearby. From my room (704) I had a very nice view of the city.

The bad news: Hotels.com advertised a complementary shuttle from LGA. I see that they already have taken that notice down. It is only a $15 cab ride, but I waited in line for 80 minutes to get that cab. The wireless is free but profoundly unreliable; I had to steal from someone nearby. That view? Well it will cost you, because you have no control over the AC and the afternoon will raise the heat well over 110 degrees. If you take your key out of the in-room slot, the AC goes off. If you leave it in while you are out, housekeeping will take it out for you. It takes a good six hours to cool the room down, and then you cannot turn the AC off. There are no extra blankets.

Also, be aware that Hotels.com will do a bait and switch on the price. I ended up paying $50 per night higher than the advertised fee.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tedgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 66 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2010

At first glance, the room looks modern and clean. But as i walked in and actually looked, it became clear that they dont clean the room properly. The floor wasnt vacuumed, because we found water bottle and toys on the floor from previous owners and crumbs. And also found metrocards in the drawers. It was obvious that they didnt vacuum or dust the tables, otherwise they would easily see the stuff on the floor.
The inside of the microwave and fridge were dirty as well and sticky. they shouldnt include that in the room if they have no intention of cleaning it.
The back wall in the shower had stains, which would have been easy to wipe off, but they obviously didnt. Even during the few days we stayed there, they still didnt clean it.
For a hotel that just open, its already starting to be bad. It wont last long. The rooms could only get worse.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flashzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Go to NYC multiple times a year. Used to stay at Sheranton FLUSHING, but too expensive. Found this one this year and took a chance to give a shot. It turned out a really big surpise. The whole building is very clean and well orgnized. People are very friendly and helpful, very different from a lot of other NYC people. Room we stayed has elegant moden design, vanity, toilet, TV, and funiture. Bamboo hardwood floor looks very moden and elegant. The bedsheet and towels are so clean. It is worth evey penny we spent. We had told a lot of friends about this spot. So take your chance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorecuriousmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed in this hotel in august, hotel is not finished yet, also hotel area is not good. Our hotel room was dirty on arrival, had not been cleaned in fact all area inside hotel was dirty. The air conditioning unit could not be turned off and was too cold. There was no coffee/tea machine in the room, which is advertised on the website. However, the room had a fridge, microwave but these couldn't be used as there was no cooking utensils (cutlery, plates etc...). The TV channels were very basic. The breakfast was very poor, and the eating area was also very dirty. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estepa536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This was our second stop of our 3 city tour.
This Red Roof Inn recently opened in May 2010. We were looking for something economical and close to Citi Field where the Mets play and we found it! The hotel is located in the Chinatown section of Queens. It was 4 about blocks from the subway and the subway was the first and last stop to and from Timesquare! It was perfect - couldn't get lost!

The rooms are somewhat small but very clean - ask for extra towels if you can. We had a balcony and great view of Manhattan as well as the planes flying to and from LaGuardia airport. Parking was $15 dollars per day; a continental breakfast was included - only served cereal, coffee, pastries and juice. People were very helpful and friendly. Not much to eat other than chinese food.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samtraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Located middle of Chinatown, 2 blocks from subway station, plenty of restaurants, atm & banks all the way around, less than 10 minutes from LGA. Room was very clean with modern fittings all around, hardwood floor etc. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmeds11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The rate that we paid was actually less than most other Flushing hotels that I researched before booking. Location of hotel in Flushing is very convenient - easy access to 7 train which takes you to Citi Field, Broadway theaters, Central Park, Times Square, Rockerfeller Center in less than 20 minutes. The room size was adequate. The room was very clean and well organized . Overall, I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewxu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flushing hotels
0.2 mi away
The Parc Hotel
The Parc Hotel
#5 of 18 in Flushing
212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#8 of 18 in Flushing
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
The One Boutique Hotel
The One Boutique Hotel
#7 of 18 in Flushing
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ramada Flushing Queens
Ramada Flushing Queens
#11 of 18 in Flushing
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flushing Central Hotel
Flushing Central Hotel
#10 of 18 in Flushing
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flushing Hotel
Flushing Hotel
#16 of 18 in Flushing
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Lake Hotel

Address: 3631 Prince St, Flushing, NY 11354-4008 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Flushing New York - LaGuardia Airport)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Flushing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Flushing
Price Range: $116 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super Lake Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Flushing is located in the heart of downtown. We are minutes away from USTA National Tennis Center (home of the US Open), Shea Stadium, downtown Manhattan and LaGuardia Airport. Guests may relax at the Botanical Gardens, Flushing Meadows Park, or enjoy a city tour of Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Flushing Hotel Flushing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing