We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skiing”
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Very hospitable, rooms are a bit dated but very clean, good service. Nice lounge to sit it with lots of activities (videos/books/games/magazines). Definitely recommend the Retro suite in the basement for a family.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterleathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner/Innkeepers at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 10, 2010
It was great fun having you and the kids here. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks so much for the review, and we look forward to your return.
Ben & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    25
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We just returned from two nights at River Run. Upon arriving in the village of Fleischmanns, which is currently pretty deserted and run down, I was worried that we made the wrong choice of locations to stay while skiing, but as soon as we walked in the door of River Run I was awestruck. The home was immaculate... and I'm one to run my finger over shelves to check. Ben and Melissa have filled every room and hallway with family heirlooms and photos. For Valentines day, there were Valentine postcards from 1908 propped on the mantle amongst family photos and burning candles. Ben was a great source of information on the area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast features fresh fruit, baskets of breads and muffins, yogurt, granola, dried fruits, cereals and w wonderful hot dish each morning. The mushroom quiche this morning was perfect! Yesterday afternoon there was a platter of fresh baked cookies in the dining area to nibble on. For things to do (besides ski) I recommend walking around Margaretville or taking a drive to Woodstock. Peekamoose was wonderful for dinner..enjoy a drink in the bar first! Phonecia has a great wood fired pizza place, Biros. Best pizza I've had in a long time. If you plug in the navigator and go exploring in Fleischmanns you can see some wonderful Victorians, country estates, and beautiful views from the mountains. We would definitely stay at River Run again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wherearemykeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Innkeeper at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Thanks so much for the review! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to your return. And fortunately, Fleischmanns is having a bit of a Renaissance: since we just got a new sewer system put in (paid for by NYC), new commercial businesses can once again come to the village. Several buildings on Main Street have recently sold and are under renovation, including a restaurant, as well as an indoor multi retail space. Thanks again!
Ben & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river, nj
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Excellent B&B! Stay here, you will not be disappointed! Thank-you so much Ben! I didn't want to scare you before we got there, but I am the worst traveler due to my cleanliness expectations of the places I stay (and due to my profession, I travel quite a bit). Its actually made me a food and lodging snob! Your B&B had not even 1 inkling of disappointment! I have told numerous friends already about our stay and they can hardly believe that I had not 1 negative thing to say about our stay! All my co-workers know how many times hotels have to change my room due to cleanliness issues! I hope my kids were not too disturbing. I am always hesitant to stay at a B&B with kids, but we felt extremely welcome and comfortable and Cole said it was the best part of his trip! Even better then the flat screen and pool at the last leg of our journey! I cannot wait to come back without the kids! Breakfast is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I saw the french toast recipe how about passing on the mushroom quiche recipe! I LOVED IT!! Chris and I cook quite a bit and mushrooms are my favorite! Also you are extremely informative when it comes to the area (food and ski/snowboarding!) thank-you. Also we left Sam Adams in the Fridge and an ice cream sandwich in the freezer that someone needs to drink and eat! Amazing B&B THANK-YOU SO MUCH! If anyone wants to know anything about our stay they are more than welcome to email us!
Mickalene,Chris, Cole, and Chase

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccalavano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Ben & Melissa, Innkeepers at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Hey guys! You're so complimentary!!! Thank you so much!! It was a true pleasure having you as our guests. The kids were great...even got a little history lesson. So glad they enjoyed it as well. The mushroom breakfast bake is pretty simple: Take a 9 x 13 baking dish, spray the bottom with non-stick oil, and spread the bottom with stuffing (believe it or not, the cheaper the better). Saute up some onions and mushrooms in butter...don't salt them! The stuffing is plenty salty for the dish. After the mushrooms are nice and tender, spread on top of the stuffing. Then spread on a layer of grated cheese on top (whatever - cheddar, swiss, etc). In a bowl beat together 8 eggs, a splash of Worsteshire sauce, a squirt of brown mustard, about a cup of sour cream, dried tarragon, and 2c milk. Pour into the pan and let it soak overnight. Bake in the morning at 350 for about 40 minutes!

Again, GREAT having you here as our guests. We look forward to your return.

Ben & Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Wanting to get away from Christmas-mania, my daughter and I decided to get outta town! Fleischmanns NY was just the right distance from Manhattan and Philadelphia. River Run B&B was a real find. Ben, the innkeeper, went out of his way to welcome us and make our stay comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful and I'm wishing I had the recipe for the delicious baked french toast. The old Victorian was beautifully decorated for Christmas: nothing gaudy or overdone. The front parlor's fireplace drew everyone to the room for reading or games.
The town of Fleischmanns is apparently a shadow of its former self. It's only a few blocks long and not really a destination in itself. The proximity to Bellayre Mountain and its skiing (about 5 minutes away) is the real advantage of the location. I picture hiking trails nearby as well. There are several fine-dining restaurants nearby and Peekamoose (Ben's recommendation) gets top marks.
Our room was clean and comfortable and even had a small tv. (Electrical outlets were scarce--as in all these old pre-electronic houses.) There was a pantry in the hall with wine glasses and a refrigerator for the use of the guests.
I would recommend this B&B for its comfort, ambience and wonderful staff and would return in the summer for the hiking.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Innkeepers at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Thanks so much! It was a pleasure having you and your daughter here over the holidays. The French toast is uber east: Take a stick of butter and melt it down on the stove with a cup of brown sugar. Stir till smooth. Pour in the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan. Slice French bread and place on top. Beat together 8 eggs, 2c milk, 1T vanilla, 2T cinnamon and pour over bread. Let soak overnight. Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes. Enjoy!
Ben & Melissa
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Our family (two couples, grandparents, and three rambunctious boys who were 6, 4, and 2 years old) travelled to Fleischmanns for a 3-day Bellayre ski trip between Christmas and New Year's Day. Ben was very professional and cordial. The service in terms of breakfast (delicious quiche, breads, and coffee) and information (great suggestion to dine at the Peekamoose Restaurant with its kid-friendly play room) was outstanding. It's rare to find a B&B that will allow kids and pets. We rented 3 rooms on the 2nd floor, which allowed us to close off that section of the floor. Everybody seems to like the ground floor suite (with kitchen), so you should see if it's available when you book a reservation. The Victorian house had a lot of charm, but if you're looking for a freshly painted, ultra-luxurious experience, you should look elsewhere! If you have kids, this is a must-stop place. Our family stayed in the Esopus room, which was cheerful. There was a small problem with a minor water leak in the bathroom, which was promptly fixed. Also, we noticed the ladybugs in the bathroom (which was the source of complaints on prior postings), but it added to the charm of being in the Catskills. I would have liked more information about the history of Fleischmanns (the role of the railroad, historical link to margarine, and the vibrant Jewish community in the late 1800s/early 1900s), but this might have been available elsewhere if we had stayed longer. The free Wi-Fi service was great with a strong signal. Great for surfing the Internet in the dining area when the kids were (finally) asleep.

Pros: (1) superb attention to detail by innkeepers, (2) kid-friendly common room and TV to watch DVDs, (3) cozy Victorian house full of history - Ben's father was a physician to FDR - his medical degree appears on the second floor, (4) delicious breakfast with coffee, (5) walking distance to La Cabana - a delicious Mexican restaurant, and (6) very reasonable rates for a B&B stay.

Cons: (1) outside of house could use a fresh coat of paint, (2) difficult to find electrical outlets for recharging cell-phones - had to use the bathroom), and (3) if you want very luxurious accomodations - look elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilber20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Innkeepers at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Thanks so much for your review! It was a pleasure having your family here over the holidays. So glad you enjoyed your stay. I did have a booklet about the history of Fleischmanns in the library (pretty much grew up as a tourist town in the post-railroad days. Most homes built in the early 1900s. This was a true destination...think Hamptons). Again, thanks so much for the review and we look forward to your return.
Ben & Melissa
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We spent 4 nights with Ben & Melissa at the end of December and had a terrific time. They are hard working and very helpful hosts who provide a super breakfast with fresh fruit and delicious bakes. The afternoon treats were delightful (homemade cookies and cakes).
The Retro suite was prefect for us, enough space for everyone. The fully equipped kitchen was a bonus, enabling us to stay in for food when the weather turned really cold

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ga5head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Innkeepers at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Thanks! Glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your return!
Ben & Melissa
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We were fortunate enough to get a last minute room on a busy Christmas weekend. The innkeepers went out of their way to make us feel so welcome! They made up a special hot chocolate for my daughter and delivered it to our room! She was thrilled!
For breakfast, we had the most wonderful cranberry walnut muffins, still warm from the oven. Ben, our innkeeper, gave us directions to the best activities in the area. He was such a wealth of information.
His wife even packed up some muffins for us to take home with us for the car ride home. I will be back time and time again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinisRYummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Innkeepers at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Thanks so much for the review. Glad you had such a great time, and we look forward to your return!
Ben & Melissa
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
6.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
87 reviews
4.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
216 reviews
7.0 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#2 of 3 in Fleischmanns
96 reviews
3.1 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#1 of 2 in Pine Hill
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spillian: A Place to Revel
Spillian: A Place to Revel
#1 of 3 in Fleischmanns
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Property: River Run Bed & Breakfast
Address: 882 Main Street, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills in Upstate New York. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast, located on Main Street in the Village of Fleischmanns, is close to all the Catskills has to offer: hiking, swimming, waterfalls, farmers markets, flea markets, skiing, antiquing, and more. The best hiking trails for every skill level are a short drive away. Second floor rooms have private bathrooms, third floor rooms have shared bathrooms, plus there's a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen on the ground level. Just 2 1/2 hours from NYC, and 15 minutes to the wedding venues in Roxbury, NY. Give us a call or check our website for real time availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing