We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Charming and cozy bed and breakfast. Ben is so nice and accommodating. Great breakfast and house was so nice. Country and grandmas all in one. Near great hiking and other cute towns. Lots to do I the Catskills. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycsandyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for the review! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for River Run Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 128 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Our room was spacious, clean and quite comfy. Our room faced the street, and despite the fact that the town has NOTHING going on, we were surprised by how much street noise there was late in the night. We didn't get up in time for breakfast, but grabbed muffins on our way out, which were delicious. We enjoyed the comfy chairs on the porch, and got a kick out of the kitschy decor downstairs. All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back of the house
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for the review! Yes, Fleischmanns is a tiny town with not a lot, except for a great Mexican restaurant and a few little shops. Luckily we are centrally located in the Catskills and very close to some great hiking trails, kayaking and canoeing, tubing, train rides, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Being a resident of Manhattan, I like to get away to a quiet place on occasion, River Run was our choice this time and I don't regret it one bit. The more than century old house is Charmaine, cozy and it was like taking a walk back to the 1920s owing to the museum quality collection of pictures, games, nicknack's and furniture.

The rooms, and the entire house is extremely clean and the breakfast was healthy choices and fresh. Good coffee, too, thank god. The non-smoking policy works for me.

The surrounding area is some of the most beautiful mountain vistas, dotted with quaint villages and some rather good restaurants. Our parrot, Lucy, enjoyed sitting on the front porch and down by the stream.

Ben was extremely helpful with info about where to go to see sights and those quaint villages I mentioned.

We are planning to try to go back in August for a weekend visit, if all goes as planned.

Room Tip: The Delaware room is the best with its king size bed and little sitting area.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks so much for the review and glad you liked the Delaware room! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed several times at River Run last year, and plan to stay there again this year. The house is charming, and I loved to sit in the living room in the evening and read in front of the large fireplace. Breakfast is always delicious. Each day, there is one hot plate (french toast, quiche, etc.) and every one had me coming back for seconds. If you have picky children like me that only want to eat things that are known commodities for them, there is cereal, muffins, hard boiled eggs, etc. That was really appreciated, because rather than starting the day with whining, my kids managed to eat a full breakfast and hit the ski slopes fueled up. #Winning

If you're skiing, you will love the proximity to Belleayre. It's like 5 minutes up the road. The setting around the B&B is rustic. The Catskill mountains are beautiful.

In terms of noise, my experience was that the common areas are usually quiet on non-holiday weekends. Even if a couple guests are conversing, you can comfortably sit and read in the same room. One weekend (might have been President's Week, can't remember) the B&B was basically full and it was a bit more boisterous in the common area, but there are still plenty of nooks and crannies around the B&B if you're looking to have quiet time, without having to be in your room. For instance, there is a sitting area on the 2nd floor adjacent to the kitchen, and a TV/recreation room on the 3rd floor.

The owners are friendly and easy to work with when booking and upon arrival. During your stay, they will help you with any questions about the area or issues you are having. They don't hover and watch you all day, so I guess if you're looking for someone to dote on you, you might be disappointed (I saw a couple of critical posts earlier). For me, it was exactly what I was looking for.

My only critique has nothing to do with the B&B, but the surroundings. If you're looking to walk around a small quaint mountain town and go from shop to shop, that type of setting doesn't seem to exist in the immediate proximity. At least not in Fleischmanns or Pine Hill. Of course, since we were skiing most of the day, I didn't have a lot of time to drive around and find out about other neighboring towns.

For location, food, hospitality, value, and the charm of the building and its furnishings, this place is IMO a winning combination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

It's always a pleasure having you and the kids here. Thanks so much for the review, as it really reflects the spirit of the inn. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed two nights late October. Felt I was in my own home. Perfect. Though I prefer light breakfasts, lost my cool and couldn't stop. Highly recommended for the B&B crowd. First floor common areas out of a 1920's good novel (only the TV and quiet classical music background move it to late 20th C.)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thanks so much for the review! We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The River Run is clean, quiet and well-managed. The house was built in the 1880's and feels like staying at Grandma's, (in a good way).

Ben has extensive knowledge of the area and is extraordinarily willing to help. As a totally unexpected bonus, I wrote a few days before our stay to ask if there were gluten free options for breakfast (and I didn't expect anything, just needed to plan ahead). When I awoke there was a surprise: Ben cooked up a lovely gluten free fritatta the first morning, and gluten free french toast the second! I usually don't bother to get up for breakfast at a B & B, but this was sinfully delicious and above and beyond the call of duty.

I don't know if you can necessarily expect this every stay, but it's worth checking with Ben ahead about any food sensitivities. The thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated by this tired girl!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIKI N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thanks so much for the review. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so with advance notice we can generally cater to special needs (gulten free, dairy free, etc.) so that everyone can enjoy. We never serve meat, so that covers the vegetarians and Kosher style folks, which we host almost every weekend. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

River Run is a homey place, with a comfy front porch and a huge back yard with a hammock. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay and liked both. The breakfast worked ok for us - the hot dishes were well received and the rest of the spread was fine; all in all, it didn't bowl us over but it covered the bases.

Many of the area's B&B's don't accept families with young kids. Ben gets big points for extending a welcome mat.

Ben was helpful with providing maps and information on sights, activities and restaurants. Regarding some others' comments, he can be a little reserved, but some will prefer that and more importantly he's responsive to questions and requests.

The village itself is quiet, with a couple Mexican restaurants, a supermarket, a city pool, a library and not too much else (there's a shuttered restaurant next to the inn), but it makes a convenient base for the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YonHither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thanks so much for the review! Because I don't have a commercial kitchen, I have to limit breakfast to one hot dish (such as a baked French toast or quiche, fresh baked bread of muffins (I'm all about pumpkin these days), English muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, dried fruit, granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, tea and hot cocoa. I do tend to be reserved because I don't want to be that annoying innkeeper that won't stop talking and let you relax and enjoy your stay. And yes, Fleischmanns is a very sleepy little town, but makes a great base to explore the area, as we are equidistant to Andes, Roxbury and Phoenicia, and everything in between. We look forward to your return! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
18.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
296 reviews
7.0 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
116 reviews
4.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
96 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
209 reviews
18.5 mi away
Catskill Lodge
Catskill Lodge
#1 of 8 in Windham
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Address: 882 Main Street, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range: $96 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills in Upstate New York. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast, located on Main Street in the Village of Fleischmanns, is close to all the Catskills has to offer: hiking, swimming, waterfalls, farmers markets, flea markets, skiing, antiquing, and more. The best hiking trails for every skill level are a short drive away. Second floor rooms have private bathrooms, third floor rooms have shared bathrooms, plus there's a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen on the ground level. Just 2 1/2 hours from NYC, and 15 minutes to the wedding venues in Roxbury, NY. Give us a call or check our website for real time availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing