We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, the sounds of silence.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Being a resident of Manhattan, I like to get away to a quiet place on occasion, River Run was our choice this time and I don't regret it one bit. The more than century old house is Charmaine, cozy and it was like taking a walk back to the 1920s owing to the museum quality collection of pictures, games, nicknack's and furniture.

The rooms, and the entire house is extremely clean and the breakfast was healthy choices and fresh. Good coffee, too, thank god. The non-smoking policy works for me.

The surrounding area is some of the most beautiful mountain vistas, dotted with quaint villages and some rather good restaurants. Our parrot, Lucy, enjoyed sitting on the front porch and down by the stream.

Ben was extremely helpful with info about where to go to see sights and those quaint villages I mentioned.

We are planning to try to go back in August for a weekend visit, if all goes as planned.

Room Tip: The Delaware room is the best with its king size bed and little sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks so much for the review and glad you liked the Delaware room! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed several times at River Run last year, and plan to stay there again this year. The house is charming, and I loved to sit in the living room in the evening and read in front of the large fireplace. Breakfast is always delicious. Each day, there is one hot plate (french toast, quiche, etc.) and every one had me coming back for seconds. If you have picky children like me that only want to eat things that are known commodities for them, there is cereal, muffins, hard boiled eggs, etc. That was really appreciated, because rather than starting the day with whining, my kids managed to eat a full breakfast and hit the ski slopes fueled up. #Winning

If you're skiing, you will love the proximity to Belleayre. It's like 5 minutes up the road. The setting around the B&B is rustic. The Catskill mountains are beautiful.

In terms of noise, my experience was that the common areas are usually quiet on non-holiday weekends. Even if a couple guests are conversing, you can comfortably sit and read in the same room. One weekend (might have been President's Week, can't remember) the B&B was basically full and it was a bit more boisterous in the common area, but there are still plenty of nooks and crannies around the B&B if you're looking to have quiet time, without having to be in your room. For instance, there is a sitting area on the 2nd floor adjacent to the kitchen, and a TV/recreation room on the 3rd floor.

The owners are friendly and easy to work with when booking and upon arrival. During your stay, they will help you with any questions about the area or issues you are having. They don't hover and watch you all day, so I guess if you're looking for someone to dote on you, you might be disappointed (I saw a couple of critical posts earlier). For me, it was exactly what I was looking for.

My only critique has nothing to do with the B&B, but the surroundings. If you're looking to walk around a small quaint mountain town and go from shop to shop, that type of setting doesn't seem to exist in the immediate proximity. At least not in Fleischmanns or Pine Hill. Of course, since we were skiing most of the day, I didn't have a lot of time to drive around and find out about other neighboring towns.

For location, food, hospitality, value, and the charm of the building and its furnishings, this place is IMO a winning combination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

It's always a pleasure having you and the kids here. Thanks so much for the review, as it really reflects the spirit of the inn. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed two nights late October. Felt I was in my own home. Perfect. Though I prefer light breakfasts, lost my cool and couldn't stop. Highly recommended for the B&B crowd. First floor common areas out of a 1920's good novel (only the TV and quiet classical music background move it to late 20th C.)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thanks so much for the review! We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The River Run is clean, quiet and well-managed. The house was built in the 1880's and feels like staying at Grandma's, (in a good way).

Ben has extensive knowledge of the area and is extraordinarily willing to help. As a totally unexpected bonus, I wrote a few days before our stay to ask if there were gluten free options for breakfast (and I didn't expect anything, just needed to plan ahead). When I awoke there was a surprise: Ben cooked up a lovely gluten free fritatta the first morning, and gluten free french toast the second! I usually don't bother to get up for breakfast at a B & B, but this was sinfully delicious and above and beyond the call of duty.

I don't know if you can necessarily expect this every stay, but it's worth checking with Ben ahead about any food sensitivities. The thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated by this tired girl!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIKI N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thanks so much for the review. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so with advance notice we can generally cater to special needs (gulten free, dairy free, etc.) so that everyone can enjoy. We never serve meat, so that covers the vegetarians and Kosher style folks, which we host almost every weekend. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

River Run is a homey place, with a comfy front porch and a huge back yard with a hammock. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay and liked both. The breakfast worked ok for us - the hot dishes were well received and the rest of the spread was fine; all in all, it didn't bowl us over but it covered the bases.

Many of the area's B&B's don't accept families with young kids. Ben gets big points for extending a welcome mat.

Ben was helpful with providing maps and information on sights, activities and restaurants. Regarding some others' comments, he can be a little reserved, but some will prefer that and more importantly he's responsive to questions and requests.

The village itself is quiet, with a couple Mexican restaurants, a supermarket, a city pool, a library and not too much else (there's a shuttered restaurant next to the inn), but it makes a convenient base for the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YonHither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thanks so much for the review! Because I don't have a commercial kitchen, I have to limit breakfast to one hot dish (such as a baked French toast or quiche, fresh baked bread of muffins (I'm all about pumpkin these days), English muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, dried fruit, granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, tea and hot cocoa. I do tend to be reserved because I don't want to be that annoying innkeeper that won't stop talking and let you relax and enjoy your stay. And yes, Fleischmanns is a very sleepy little town, but makes a great base to explore the area, as we are equidistant to Andes, Roxbury and Phoenicia, and everything in between. We look forward to your return! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at River Run! The house is a classic victorian and is mostly furnished as such. We stayed in Esopus which was very comfortable and has a private bathroom. The breakfast in the morning had many options to choose from including quiche, yogurt and granola, breads and muffins, oatmeal, etc.. A great way to start the day. There are many cute towns in the area with great little shops. Ben (the Inn keeper) can make some good suggestions. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in the Catskills.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avs1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thanks so much for the review. So glad you had a great weekend in the Catskills and enjoyed the River Run. We look forward to your return (when you can see the outside of the house fully painted instead of in mid-scrape!). Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

It's a bit intimidating writing a review where the owner comments on everyone's, so maybe that's why I'm one of the only negative ones here. I'm usually very laid back about places but this experience was just bad. The owner guy was not very friendly or welcoming right at the get go. We were very confused at breakfast, when we sat there for a while thinking he was going to ask us what we wanted, while there were cold items like granola, yogurt, muffins, melon around us. But as time went on, we realized, OH this is breakfast. Ok.. Especially because when we arrived, he apologized for not shaking our hands because he had chopped vegetables all over them. I guess I thought he was preparing for the next morning's meal. This bed and breakfast feels like you're in some guy's house who doesn't really want you there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

We must apologize and am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We try to make everyone feel welcome, and unfortunately we failed to do so with you. As far as breakfast: our website clearly states that we serve an expanded continental breakfast, which includes one hot dish (like Baked French Toast or Spinach Quiche), fresh baked muffins, bagels, English muffins, fresh fruit, dried fruit, granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, milk, juice, and coffee. Breakfast is a buffet, so it's help youself.

Since I'm not exactly sure which guest you were, if you would like to email the inn or call, we will be happy to refund the entire amount of the stay, which is the least we can do since we failed to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
3.4 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
18.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
18.5 mi away
Catskill Lodge
Catskill Lodge
#1 of 8 in Windham
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
118 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
6.8 mi away
Catskill Seasons Inn
Catskill Seasons Inn
#2 of 3 in Shandaken
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Address: 882 Main Street, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range: $96 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills in Upstate New York. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast, located on Main Street in the Village of Fleischmanns, is close to all the Catskills has to offer: hiking, swimming, waterfalls, farmers markets, flea markets, skiing, antiquing, and more. The best hiking trails for every skill level are a short drive away. Second floor rooms have private bathrooms, third floor rooms have shared bathrooms, plus there's a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen on the ground level. Just 2 1/2 hours from NYC, and 15 minutes to the wedding venues in Roxbury, NY. Give us a call or check our website for real time availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing