We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't skip breakfast, even if you're gluten free! (Check ahead)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't skip breakfast, even if you're gluten free! (Check ahead)”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The River Run is clean, quiet and well-managed. The house was built in the 1880's and feels like staying at Grandma's, (in a good way).

Ben has extensive knowledge of the area and is extraordinarily willing to help. As a totally unexpected bonus, I wrote a few days before our stay to ask if there were gluten free options for breakfast (and I didn't expect anything, just needed to plan ahead). When I awoke there was a surprise: Ben cooked up a lovely gluten free fritatta the first morning, and gluten free french toast the second! I usually don't bother to get up for breakfast at a B & B, but this was sinfully delicious and above and beyond the call of duty.

I don't know if you can necessarily expect this every stay, but it's worth checking with Ben ahead about any food sensitivities. The thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated by this tired girl!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIKI N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks so much for the review. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so with advance notice we can generally cater to special needs (gulten free, dairy free, etc.) so that everyone can enjoy. We never serve meat, so that covers the vegetarians and Kosher style folks, which we host almost every weekend. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

River Run is a homey place, with a comfy front porch and a huge back yard with a hammock. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay and liked both. The breakfast worked ok for us - the hot dishes were well received and the rest of the spread was fine; all in all, it didn't bowl us over but it covered the bases.

Many of the area's B&B's don't accept families with young kids. Ben gets big points for extending a welcome mat.

Ben was helpful with providing maps and information on sights, activities and restaurants. Regarding some others' comments, he can be a little reserved, but some will prefer that and more importantly he's responsive to questions and requests.

The village itself is quiet, with a couple Mexican restaurants, a supermarket, a city pool, a library and not too much else (there's a shuttered restaurant next to the inn), but it makes a convenient base for the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YonHither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks so much for the review! Because I don't have a commercial kitchen, I have to limit breakfast to one hot dish (such as a baked French toast or quiche, fresh baked bread of muffins (I'm all about pumpkin these days), English muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, dried fruit, granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, tea and hot cocoa. I do tend to be reserved because I don't want to be that annoying innkeeper that won't stop talking and let you relax and enjoy your stay. And yes, Fleischmanns is a very sleepy little town, but makes a great base to explore the area, as we are equidistant to Andes, Roxbury and Phoenicia, and everything in between. We look forward to your return! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at River Run! The house is a classic victorian and is mostly furnished as such. We stayed in Esopus which was very comfortable and has a private bathroom. The breakfast in the morning had many options to choose from including quiche, yogurt and granola, breads and muffins, oatmeal, etc.. A great way to start the day. There are many cute towns in the area with great little shops. Ben (the Inn keeper) can make some good suggestions. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in the Catskills.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avs1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thanks so much for the review. So glad you had a great weekend in the Catskills and enjoyed the River Run. We look forward to your return (when you can see the outside of the house fully painted instead of in mid-scrape!). Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

It's a bit intimidating writing a review where the owner comments on everyone's, so maybe that's why I'm one of the only negative ones here. I'm usually very laid back about places but this experience was just bad. The owner guy was not very friendly or welcoming right at the get go. We were very confused at breakfast, when we sat there for a while thinking he was going to ask us what we wanted, while there were cold items like granola, yogurt, muffins, melon around us. But as time went on, we realized, OH this is breakfast. Ok.. Especially because when we arrived, he apologized for not shaking our hands because he had chopped vegetables all over them. I guess I thought he was preparing for the next morning's meal. This bed and breakfast feels like you're in some guy's house who doesn't really want you there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We must apologize and am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We try to make everyone feel welcome, and unfortunately we failed to do so with you. As far as breakfast: our website clearly states that we serve an expanded continental breakfast, which includes one hot dish (like Baked French Toast or Spinach Quiche), fresh baked muffins, bagels, English muffins, fresh fruit, dried fruit, granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, milk, juice, and coffee. Breakfast is a buffet, so it's help youself.

Since I'm not exactly sure which guest you were, if you would like to email the inn or call, we will be happy to refund the entire amount of the stay, which is the least we can do since we failed to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just got back from a two day stay here-and it felt like a 7 day vacation. The B&B is located in the quiet village of Fleischmanns, but has a ton of things to do nearby. We visited the pine hill beach (which was closed due to off season, and therefore afforded peace and quiet for us and our two dogs), Belleayre ski resort-which had excellent views, and the historic town of Woodstock, which is a 30 min drive away. All in all, two days of lots to do-and this isn't even the proper season.
Drive along Rt 28 to experience some more small quiet towns (Margaretville, Arkville)-this place must be BEAUTIFUL in summer, given that the views were so great even now...
The B&B per se was nice and clean. Nothing fancy, but like another home-comfortable beds, clean rooms, and most importantly pet friendly.
Leaving the best for the last-Ben's breakfast was simply awesome. The Salsa fritata was delicious....and the overall spread was good. Also, unlike most B&Bs where I have stayed, Ben was helpful and answering questions without being overbearing, and gave us our time and privacy-which was appreciated.
I highly recommend this place for Ski trips - or hikes to the nearby mountains.

Room Tip: Get the bushkill room-its cheaper and has a bathroom down the hall-the key is that the bathroom is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
So glad you had a restful and relaxing weekend with lots to do as well. It was a pleasure having you and he pooches! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I recently stayed here while visiting family in the Catskills. My daughter and I had a wonderful time. The room was very comfortable and the owner was so helpful. The best part was breakfast!!! Yummmmmmy! I think my family will have to get used to us stayin here instead of there place every time we visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYerDowneast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thanks so much! We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast. The baked French toast is our signature dish, but everyone loves the spinach quiche too. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We recently stayed at RR B & B and will be going back on our next visit to the area. The accommodations were very nice and we were treated to a nice breakfast every morning and a friendly staff.
We stayed in the retro/vintage suite which was actually a basement apartment (ground level, but low) and found it to be charming and spacious. It had full size windows and a walk out door, but it felt bsmt-ish, but not in a bad way. We'd request it again. Having a soaking tub and 2 bathrooms/2 bedrooms for a family of 4 is a luxury.
Ben was able to accommodate all our needs and went out of his way to make our stay comfortable.
It is located conveniently for skiing at Belleayre and the discount lift tickets made it very budget friendly. Our sons felt right at home and really enjoyed themselves even when weather did not allow skiing on one of our days there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Thanks so much! We're glad you liked the Retro Suite. Even being in the basement, it's one of the most popular rooms in the house. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
6.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
83 reviews
4.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
213 reviews
7.0 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spillian: A Place to Revel
Spillian: A Place to Revel
#1 of 3 in Fleischmanns
74 reviews
3.1 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#1 of 2 in Pine Hill
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Property: River Run Bed & Breakfast
Address: 882 Main Street, PO Box 9, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast invites you to enjoy the myriad pleasures of the inn, village and region. Our outdoor setting beckons you to explore its acre of backyard, which slopes gently to the Bushkill Stream. Enjoy the sound of the water while lounging in the hammock. A short walk brings you to tennis courts, village swimming pool, playground, and auctions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing