We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend...felt like home!”
Review of Breezy Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breezy Hill Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We had a great stay at Breezy Hill Inn! We loved the attention to detail and felt cozy and cacooned! The breakfasts were delicious especially the crepes and the home baked muffins. The views are spectacular! We loved the steam room after a day of mountain activity. We'll be bakc!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relokirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 101 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

Our stay at the Breezy Hill (Feb 20) was quite negative and disappointing, most especially for the price ($189/night). Upon check-in, you are immediately asked by the inn-keepers to remove your shoes and wear public slippers. Fair enough, they have pride in clean floors. Check-in was impersonal, and unlike other B&Bs, did not include normal "getting to know you" conversation with restaurant and things to do recommendations. Fair enough, New Yorkers are to the point. Total payment expected at check-in. This struck us as unusual since we were already there.

Satellite TV with all movie channels a plus, although picture never fit the screen correctly (despite Al, the inn-keeper's pride in the televisions). Bed lacked premium feel the price suggests and had discount bedding. Central heating, so no individual temp control. Bathroom was pleasant.

Woke up periodically at night to the sound of guests above walking around. Shuffling feet sound, constant and increasingly louder throughout the morning. Constant noise emanating through bathroom wall of kids and parents talking. Miserable.

Missed breakfast as it was offered from 8-8:30am. Michelle offered us a bit of fruit and coffee. She was probably busy working on something else after 8:30, because we were not offered a quick waffle or the such. During coffee, we politely engaged Michelle about the noise in the room. Surpsingly, she became very defensive and blamed the noise on guests who brought more people than was quoted in their reservation. We discussed our understanding that walls sometimes lack effective insulation to block noise, and again Michelle strangely argued that the walls were indeed insultated and she never heard of such a comment before. Her defensiveness was oft-putting, we were hungry because we didn’t get the breakfast, and so we thus asked for a small discount, but again faced an even more defensive inn-keeper belittling our request. It was quite shocking actually, but fitting.

We are not sure if it was a coincidence, but as we were exiting the building, my girlfriend felt the door pull swiftly out of her hand as she was trying to close it (an outward swinging door), as though someone from the inside was trying to forcefully close it (i.e. when someone is mad). We continued to be astonished.

Overall, the new look of the B&B is great, but the oft-putting service and missing amenities simply do not match the $189 price tag. We have experienced better B&Bs for less price in the Catskills and recommend travelers try other inns first.

Pluses: Location in quiet neighborhood off highway with views of country-side. New construction, wood floors, clean. Sat TV in room, spacious bathroom.

Minuses: Noisy room/thin walls. Average comfort bed. No shoes in house (share public slippers). No central sitting room in B&B. Early breakfast served for 30 minutes. Argumentive inn-keeper.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NoSleepTillMnhtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This was our 2nd visit to the Inn, and it was even better than the 1st time! The rooms are spaciious and clean, breakfasts were delicious, and you can't beat the location! We ar looking forweard to our next stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

If you're looking for a comfortable, quiet Inn to hang your hat for a night or two.. Breezy Hill Inn will suit you just fine.
Very interesting three year renovation of the building and property. If you're interested it's documented in an album in the front room, opposite the dining room. The Inn represents quality renovation completed by all local tradesmen.
Great location for exploring the region. Basically we just used the place to escape the city for a few days and rest. We did end up at a good restaurant in Woodstock called Oriole9, on Tinker Street.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastend530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Stayed at this B&B for a weekend getaway and ski Belleayre. I highly recommend Belleayre, nice mountain for asy skiing and fun lodge. Also all area B&Bs give you $24 lift tix - very nice.
The Cons: As for Breezy Hill, bring your slippers because the moment you walk in the owners are breathing down your neck and asking you to remove your shoes. They have slippers available, personally we don't like wearing footware that others have worn. There is no fireplace, no common area 'den'. Owners are sort of up close and personal and I felt like I was being watched as we walked around the place. For breakfast we had a muffin and dry french toast. No eggs, No meat, no 'real breakfast' We left there hungry. For $345 incl tax for two nights I felt it was overpriced.
Pros: Very clean, a nicely finished basement w pool table, steam room, and HD TV. Guest rooms were small but neat, clean and warm. Owners are actually very nice. The woman who cooks in the morning and takes care of the place during the week does a nice job and was exceptionally friendly and caring about the guests - she's great.
Summary: It was nice, but a little pricey considering the locals towns have nothing going on/ It's all about Belleayre. I would add that in other posts people rave about the PeekaMoose restaurant. We did not have a good meal at all - Meat was fatty and fish & chips mushy, with 2 drinks each and tip it was $90, it was freezing in there, and very very expensive. We did enjoy Binnekill restuaraunt in Margaretville very much..
Next time we'll try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveled123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We recently stayed for a ski weekend at the Breezy Hill Inn. We have vacationed there a number of weekends over the past three years. Michelle and Alan did an extraordinary job restoring this beautiful Victorian home. The Breezy Hill Inn is conveniently located only five minutes from Belleayre Mountain, and the owners offered discounted lift tickets. The Inn has fantastic views throughout. We have always felt very comfortable. The recreation room has a pool table and large screen TV. There is also a well appointed fitness room and sauna. Although after a full day of skiing, we have not felt the need to use the fitness equipment. :-) Georgette and Michelle always provide a nice breakfast for the entire family. Michelle, Alan, and Georgette are friendly, helpful, and have made us feel like part of their extended Breezy Hill Inn family.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ypvonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

My husband and I received a 2-night weekend stay at the Breezy Hill Inn as a wedding gift, and had a wonderful time redeeming it two weeks ago! The inn is clean and comfortable (the beds were great), and conveniently located for skiing at Belleayre Mountain (about a 5-min drive). Michelle and Alan were very friendly and we enjoyed lively breakfast conversation with them and the other guests. The reservations at Peekamoose and the discounted lift tickets at Belleayre were another plus! Michelle also helped us figure out where to snowshoe in the area, which we really enjoyed. My one gripe is that we had no way of controlling the temperature in our room (the Orange Room) - the thermostat was located in the suite which must have been colder than our room, because we were boiling at night! All in all, we had a great time and would definitely recommend Breezy Hill Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellis_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breezy Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezy Hill Inn

Address: 835 Breezy Hill Rd, Catskills, Fleischmanns, NY 12430-4206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range: $191 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breezy Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Catskills inn, luxuriously decorated with beautiful mountain views from wraparound porch and guest rooms. All rooms have private baths, cable TV, WiFi, and Internet access. Guests may use workout room, steam room and recreation room, including pool and entertainment center. Five minutes to Belleayre Mountain, Breezy Hill Inn is 9/10 of mile from Fleischmanns; easy distance to Woodstock, Margaretville, Andes and Phoenicia, Plattekill ski area, Belleayre Ski Center, home of the Belleayre Music Festival. Vouchers for discounted lift tickets available for Belleayre and Plattekill. Gourmet breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Breezy Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing